Text Me, Guido
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Text Me, Guido

by
2.85 of 5 stars 2.85  ·  rating details  ·  46 ratings  ·  22 reviews
"Text Me, Guido" is the debut novel from author Adrian Staccato. Told entirely through text-messaging conversations, the book follows five Italian-American college friends as they complete their final semester of school. They are: Enzo, Sofia, Giulia, Claudia, and Phil.

Enzo is your typical bronze-tanned Guido. The son of a wealthy home builder, he spends his days at the gy...more
Kindle Edition, 287 pages
Published July 18th 2012
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 196)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Christina Rodriguez
Enzo is in love with Sophia. Giulia is in love with Enzo. Phil has a crush on Giulia. And Claudia is just looking for someone to be with.

Through a series of text messages, this gang of “friends” live their everyday life. Reality style TV. Like every group of friends on reality TV, there are the following:

Enzo- The Jock
Sophia- The Prom Queen
Giulia- The Easy One
Claudia-The Friendly One
Phil-The Studious one

These friends live everyday partying it up and reveling in the drama of being complete oppos...more
Bookworm
When I received this book a couple of days ago, I was afraid I'd made a horrible mistake. For one thing, I am not Italian. I've always believed that you really only connect with someone after you've experienced what the characters have. And I was sort of confused with the language (the character's occasionaly use what I think is Italian.) And second, I too, attribute the Jersey Shore lifestyle to the decline of civilization. But, still, I dug into this book.
It was an easy read, written with "l...more
Stephanie Dagg
Text Me Guido by XXX Adrian Staccato is contemporary fiction in the form of text messages. It’s an ingenious idea and it works brilliantly in this author’s hands. There are only five characters, Enzo, Phil, Sofia, Giulia and Claudia, and all we have our brief texts but this novella has everything it needs - a twisting plot, differentiated characters, interactions, a variety of settings and entertainment. Enzo is the central figure, interacting with Sofia, his girlfriend, and Phil, his best frien...more
Katy
Oct 20, 2012 Katy rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: fans of Jersey Shore
Recommended to Katy by: Adrian Staccato
Shelves: ebook
Book Info: Genre: Fiction
Reading Level: Adult
Recommended for: Fans of Jersey Shore, Italian-American/Italian lifestyles, something to make you think

Disclosure: I received a free copy of this ebook from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Text Me, Guido is the debut novel from author Adrian Staccato. Told entirely through text-messaging conversations, the book follows five Italian-American college friends as they complete their final semester of school. They are: Enzo, Sofia, Gi...more
Adriane
I must admit that I was really excited to read Text Me, Guido, and the longer it sat on my Kindle, the more I itched to start reading it. Don't think that my interest in Adrian's book was solely based on the fact that we share the same name... Okay, that fact had a little to do with my wanting to read and review his book, but ultimately I wanted it because it sounded fun.

So after sitting here in my lovely little reading area and staring at my Kindle instead of working like I should have been, my...more
Ionia
I think this book is truly a shining example of something that will divide the masses. I don't think there is an in between. You will either get a big kick out of the way this is written and appreciate the wry sense of reality it represents, or you will just flat out hate it. While I would ordinarily think that an author saying if you're over forty this won't be for you to be pretentious and perhaps even a bit prejudiced, in this rare case I think I have to agree. This book will most likely appe...more
Thomas Rose-Masters
Adrian Staccato bravely utilizes an unyielding format in shaping his novel solely through text messages. The difficulties of such an approach are obvious; less apparent are the benefits - what Staccato achieves is almost a dramatic presentation, where the characterization is masterfully sustained only through words texted, yet each of the five characters (Enzo, Sofia, Giulia, Claudia and Phil) are vivid and fully shaped. Their motivation is well prepared and how they act never seems illogical (a...more
James Larranaga
This is a fun story about a group of friends who interact mostly via text messaging -- at least that's the part of their lives we experience. Lots of funny conversation and sexual tension in this "plotless" story (Wasn't Seinfeld a "Show About Nothing"?) but it's a page-turner. I read this on my Android phone with the Kindle App and it felt like I was reading text messages from somebody else's phone.

The idea of crafting a story around dialogue from text messages is something I wish I had though...more
Tabitha Ormiston-Smith
Absolutely brilliant, with a real shock ending - I bought this thinking it was just going to be a cute gimmick but this writer is really talented. A marvellous piece of work.
Liza
Aug 22, 2013 Liza rated it 1 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: no one who wants to retrain their brain cells
Shelves: e-book, fiction
Oh, dear god.

Phil was the only redeemable/likeable character in this book.

I'm not in the "over-40 crowd," but I don't do reality shows, I've never watched American Idol, and my only amusement from Jersey Shore was the episode of Bones where Brennan tried to talk like them and Booth was basically like, "What the f@ck is wrong with you, stop that immediately."

So, yeah. Just, no.

(For what it's worth, I didn't mind the premise of an entire book of text messages. I've read other books with similar fo...more
Kelly
While the characters in this book are exactly the type of people I would never hang out with, I still found it interesting to get a glimpse of their sad, little lives. I should have hated the book due to the fact that these kids are pretty horrible human beings. However, it was such an easy read and it was over so quickly that I didn't have much of a chance to stop liking it. Plus, the ending was nice to a good girl like me.
Adrian Staccato
Aug 27, 2012 Adrian Staccato rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  (Review from the author)
I knew my book would divide people, so I’m not surprised by the mixed reviews. Written entirely in text-messages, the book follows a group of rude, crude, and generally unlikeable people as they complete their final semester of school. It is, in my opinion, an accurate depiction of what life is like for some members of the “Guido” subculture. In other words, if you’re looking for explosions and car chases, look elsewhere.

The book was written with the text-messaging generation in mind. If you ar...more
Crystal
Unfortunately, this book fell short for me. It had an interesting premise: set up like a series of chat messages based around a group of teens. However, it didn't feel special to me. Lots of it was just ridiculous (some of it funny, some of it annoying) and it reminded me of those lonely nights when I would obsessively re-read my MSN chat logs to figure out who was to blame in the most current girl drama in my life.
This just wasn't the book for me, sorry!
Maria Lawson
If you are a Jersey Shore fan you will like this. For me it was just ok. The whole story is a series of text messages which was fun and different. The ending really hit me out of the blue and I was not a fan. The story seemed to be heading in one direction and had some more life left in it but it's like the author didn't feel like writing anymore so just found a way to end it quickly.
Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
I tried to like this, I really did but I think it just wasn't for me.

I didn't care about the characters at all and the storyline dragged a little.

I did think the way it was done, through messages, was a fun unique idea and for that I will give this 2 Stars.
Randy Briggs
I received this book as a First Read through Goodreads.
I'm pretty sure that I am at least twenty years past the targeted demographic of this book. I read a lot of YA, though, so I dug in. Once the characters started sexting, though, I bailed.k
Michelle
When I got into this book, I started reading it, and it was very good!! I would recommend it to people who like humor, and are familiar with teenager ways... All in all, 4.5 stars!!
Anuradha
Interesting concept.. An entire book written in text messages. An easy and quick read..

The story however is not my cup of tea at all. Infidel young youths don't cut it for me.
Anne
Quick read. I felt like I was stuck in an episode of Jersey Shore. Not my type of book but since it was short I went ahead and finished it.
Latia
quick read. interesting format would probably read the sequel since it was a cliff hanger at the end.
dara
İt's an easy book. İt have 4 main character.friends but backstabbing kinda of friend.
Monica
Read on Kindle, very fast read. I'm just to old. Wanted to slap them kids around.
Andy
Andy marked it as to-read
Jul 20, 2014
Christine Calvin
Christine Calvin marked it as to-read
Jun 29, 2014
Rebecca Timberlake
Rebecca Timberlake marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2014
PJ Beemer
PJ Beemer marked it as to-read
Jun 23, 2014
Diane
Diane marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2014
Lori
Lori marked it as to-read
May 21, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Making Connection...: ARR # 68 - TEXT ME, GUIDO by Adrian Staccato 11 66 Nov 10, 2012 07:22PM  
6445141
ADRIAN STACCATO is the author of the text-messaging novel “Text Me, Guido”. On his spare time, he blogs about his experiences publishing.

You can contact him by email: adrianstaccato[at]gmail.com or visit his blog: http://adrianstaccato.blogspot.ca/
More about Adrian Staccato...
Fifty Shades of Azzurri

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »