Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “From the Shadow of Dracula: A Life of Bram Stoker” as Want to Read:
From the Shadow of Dracula: A Life of Bram Stoker
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

From the Shadow of Dracula: A Life of Bram Stoker

3.64  ·  Rating Details  ·  14 Ratings  ·  5 Reviews
Bram Stoker was a larger-than-life individual with more than a hint of the Transylvanian Count in his personality. This groundbreaking new biography illuminates a multi-faceted man of enormous creativity, and presents Dracula in the context of Stoker’s life and entire fictional output.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published December 27th 2005 by Pimlico (first published 2004)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about From the Shadow of Dracula, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about From the Shadow of Dracula

Dracula by Bram StokerThe Historian by Elizabeth KostovaBound By Blood by Shane K.P. O'NeillBirth Of The Monster by Shane K.P. O'NeillBound By Blood by Shane K.P. O'Neill
Best Books Featuring Dracula
38th out of 83 books — 128 voters
The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz ZafónThe Way of Shadows by Brent WeeksThe Shadow Rising by Robert JordanHeir to the Shadows by Anne BishopLuck in the Shadows by Lynn Flewelling
The Shadow knows!
106th out of 212 books — 71 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 52)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Bookworm Sean
Nov 12, 2015 Bookworm Sean rated it liked it
Shelves: non-fiction
It’s weird how we make assumptions of authors based upon their work. Jane Austen is clearly the brilliantly sarcastic entity that narrates her novels. Robert Louis Stevenson, in part, reflected the melancholy he portrayed in The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde. He wrote most of it in one lonely incensed sitting, and was inspired by a haunting dream he had. Part of the author is almost always in the book, it’s unavoidable. So, when I used to think of Bram Stoker I imagined a solitary figure ...more
Larry
Nov 11, 2015 Larry rated it really liked it
First class biography of this multifaceted individual. I grew up within a short distance of his home and consequently have always been intrigued by this mild mannered civil servant turned author who found time to be the right hand of Sir Henry Irving for over 30 years. This bio zeros in on the myriad of periphery writings (outside of Dracula) of Stoker which have been greatly ignored by other biographers and Murray successfully uses a excellent examples in those works to provide insight into his ...more
Meagan G
Sep 05, 2008 Meagan G rated it really liked it
Shelves: my-favs, historical
A very informative book on Bram, his life and works, family and friends. I would have liked more info on his family and relationships, but I understand there is very little info available for some areas of his life. Bram was a very interesting man and had so many famous friends. And did amazing things. The only thing I think that is very disappointing is that he wasn't around much for his only son and that is very sad.
Franco Noonan
Dec 29, 2007 Franco Noonan rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Fans of Dracula & Bram Stoker
An inspiring look into the life of the man behind the famous Count, whose life was clouded in mystery until recently.

A full & busy life at the centre of London highlife of the 1800's, this excellently researched book makes fine reading for any fan of Dracula & how he came to be.


Velvetink
currently on p 156 of 320...although I have misplaced it under a toppling tower of books...moving it to the shelved indefinitely shelf.
Kim
Kim marked it as to-read
Nov 11, 2015
Kathia Iblis
Kathia Iblis marked it as to-read
Nov 02, 2015
José Luís
José Luís rated it liked it
Aug 22, 2015
Travis
Travis added it
Jul 19, 2015
Moira Mcglynn
Moira Mcglynn marked it as to-read
Jun 26, 2015
Yvonne
Yvonne rated it it was ok
Dec 30, 2015
Lauren
Lauren rated it it was amazing
Jun 11, 2015
Beāte Daņilova
Beāte Daņilova marked it as to-read
Mar 04, 2015
Cindy Bannister
Cindy Bannister marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2014
María  Sanz
María Sanz marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2014
Juan Luis
Juan Luis marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2014
Miquel Codony
Miquel Codony marked it as to-read
Sep 17, 2014
Joshua
Joshua added it
Aug 18, 2014
Stacey
Stacey marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2015
Jethro
Jethro marked it as to-read
Jun 27, 2014
Sharon Miller
Sharon Miller marked it as to-read
Apr 08, 2014
Jennifer
Jennifer marked it as to-read
Apr 07, 2014
Leah
Leah rated it it was amazing
May 07, 2014
Mira
Mira marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2014
Justice
Justice marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2014
Colleen
Colleen marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2014
Diana
Diana marked it as to-read
Dec 09, 2013
Matt
Matt marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2013
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Paul Murray is a writer and Irish diplomat.

Mr. Murray was born in Carlow, Ireland in 1949. He completed his studies at Trinity College, Dublin, where he received a Masters in history and political science.

Mr. Murray is author of biographies on Lafcadio Hearn and Bran Stoker. In 1995 he won the Koizumi Yakumo Literary Prize.

He entered the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1972 and has since served in
...more
More about Paul Murray...

Share This Book