Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Rocks That Float” as Want to Read:
Rocks That Float
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Rocks That Float

3.25  ·  Rating Details ·  16 Ratings  ·  4 Reviews
In the tradition of Sherwood Anderson's Winesburg, Ohio, Steele's debut novel populates an entire community within the page of a book, telling the story of a recently divorced man--and the choices his new neighbors force him to make.
Hardcover, 282 pages
Published September 1st 2005 by John F. Blair, Publisher (first published August 19th 2005)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Rocks That Float, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Rocks That Float

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-38)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Heart
Apr 02, 2009 Heart rated it really liked it
Shelves: favorites
I like how each chapter is dedicated to one character. Based in lovely South Carolina, how can a local not like it?
Terri
Aug 12, 2007 Terri rated it liked it
i was drawn to the book because the story takes place near Augusta, GA...where I lived for a LONG time. it was a good story til the end...it just didn't seem to stop rather than conclude.....
Heather
Aug 15, 2014 Heather rated it it was ok
Shelves: book-club
This was one of the most depressing books I ever read. I read lots of dark books, but this one just felt so pointless and sad.
Laura
Laura rated it really liked it
Dec 27, 2015
Janet
Janet rated it liked it
Sep 06, 2013
Lynn
Lynn rated it really liked it
Apr 23, 2009
Jen
Jen rated it really liked it
Jan 22, 2008
Elizabeth Rager
Elizabeth Rager rated it really liked it
Mar 02, 2013
Angela Smith
Angela Smith rated it did not like it
Oct 16, 2015
Ruth
Ruth rated it it was ok
Jul 25, 2011
Catie
Catie rated it liked it
Jan 09, 2016
Joyce Sweeney
Joyce Sweeney rated it liked it
Jul 05, 2015
Elizabeth Fye
Elizabeth Fye rated it it was amazing
May 15, 2015
Stephanie Stamm
Stephanie Stamm rated it really liked it
May 01, 2015
Stephanie Hull
Stephanie Hull rated it did not like it
Feb 08, 2012
Brenda
Brenda rated it it was amazing
Aug 23, 2016
Adria
Adria marked it as to-read
Sep 28, 2008
Andy
Andy marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2008
Sara
Sara marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2008
smetchie
smetchie marked it as to-read
Feb 24, 2008
Kathleen
Kathleen marked it as to-read
Sep 30, 2008
Rose
Rose marked it as to-read
May 13, 2009
Debra
Debra marked it as to-read
Jun 14, 2009
Dana
Dana marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2009
Katie
Katie marked it as to-read
Dec 23, 2009
Eleanor
Eleanor marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2010
Lori
Lori marked it as to-read
Feb 28, 2010
Carol
Carol added it
Jun 28, 2010
Brandi
Brandi marked it as to-read
May 16, 2011
Samantha
Samantha marked it as to-read
Jun 15, 2011
Cindy
Cindy added it
Feb 16, 2013
Samantha
Samantha marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2013
Sue
Sue marked it as to-read
Jun 30, 2013
André Santos
André Santos marked it as to-read
Aug 06, 2014
Craig Cottingham
Craig Cottingham marked it as to-read
Sep 30, 2015
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Share This Book



“I went into geology because I like being outdoors, and because everybody in geology seemed, well, they all seemed like free spirits or renegades or something. You know, climbing mountains and hiking deserts and stuff.” 4 likes
“People who buy lottery tickets are not people who are going to send their kids to college.” 3 likes
More quotes…