Pearl of Pandaria (World of Warcraft)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Pearl of Pandaria (World of Warcraft)

by
3.86 of 5 stars 3.86  ·  rating details  ·  84 ratings  ·  18 reviews
In this enthralling original graphic novel published in a landscape format, you will meet the PANDAREN, one of the most beloved (and mysterious) races in World of Warcraft! Written by Blizzard’s own Micky Neilson (the World of Warcraft MMORPG, World of Warcraft: Ashbringer and World of Warcraft: Curse of the Worgen), with art by fan favorite Sean “Cheeks” Galloway (TV’s Te...more
Hardcover, 128 pages
Published September 12th 2012 by DC Comics (first published September 1st 2012)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-29 of 286)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Angelya (Tea in the Treetops)
Review originally posted on The Oaken Bookcase on September 24, 2012.

I’ve been a World of Warcraft player for quite a few years now, so I was thrilled to be given the chance to review this graphic novel. It’s a tie-in with the upcoming expansion release of Mists of Pandaria on September 25th, and introduces us to the Pandaren and their wanderlust.

Long ago, a group of Pandaren followed the explorer Liu Liang onto the back of his giant turtle, known as the Wandering Isle, to set off to see the wor...more
El-jorro
Pearl of Pandaria is a graphic novel set in the World of Warcraft Universe. Taking place before the Cataclysm, it follows the adventures of two Pandaren, Li Li Stormstout, niece of the legendary brewmaster Chen Stormstout and her teacher Strongbo who is trying to bring her back to her to home on the Wandering Isle.


The Good:

According to developer’s, the character of Li Li Stormstout was created in order to bring a fresh perspective to the warcraft universe, and in the book, this definitely works...more
Rebecca
I won this book in a Goodreads give-away. Pearl of Pandaria introduces World of Warcraft fans to the Pandarem race, panda-like beings who live atop a floating island, the Wandering Isle, which is actually a giant turtle named Shen-zih Su. WoW is the world’s most popular multi-player online role-playing game (MMORPG) so there is sure to be demand for this title and other spin off books. This book coincides with the release of the new game, Mists of Pandaria. Li Li is a young female student, niece...more
Creative Mind
Micky Neilson's writing and Sean Galloway's colors are giving fans of WoW the opportunity to see the world of Azeroth through the eyes of a child.

The main character is Chan Stormstout's niece, Li Li, who begins a journey to find her uncle armed with optimism, her love for the unexplored and .. with a great deal of sarcasm! Through this journey, Li Li matures- while in the beginning she has a blind faith in her powers, in the end she realizes that things don't always work out as expected and that...more
Rod
The whole Pandaria thing is actively raising my interest in World of Warcraft. This book only continues that trend. An introduction to the world of the pandas in the realm of Azeroth. The protagonist, Li Li, is an almost daring character: Though she's a young child she's witty, plucky in a fight, she can win an argument with adults, and she knows a thing or two about beer!

I did have a few minor problems with the book. Sean Galloway's art is wonderful (oh, Goddess, his character designs!), but th...more
Diayll
Sep 29, 2012 Diayll rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: WoW Fans, Fans of Fantasy Adventures, Gamers, Fans of Female Leads
Originally Reviewed At: Mother/Gamer/Writer
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Controllers
Review Source: Edelweiss
Reviewer: Me


World of Warcraft: Pearl of Pandaria is an enchanting tale of one young girl’s quest to find adventure in the midst of a land that has truly forgotten what it means to dream. For fans of World of Warcraft, Pearl of Pandaria is a direct tie-in to the newly released World of Warcraft: Mists of Pandaria expansion. And for those graphic novel lovers who have never played a single game of Wo...more
Taylor
I may be a nerd but I do have a semblance of a life so I can't really play world of war craft. I played the second war craft when I was young and recently saw a game trail for Pandaria that was pretty cool. When I saw this in the giveaway list I was like sure, let's go for it.
Honestly didn't think I'd win but surprise surprise! I did.
I flipped through it a few times and it's pretty good. I'm not sure if this will have anything to do with the story line of the game but I liked it none-the-less....more
Adrian Nieto
La novela grafica de World of Warcraft, que cuenta la historia de Li-li, y sus aventuras por Azeroth.

Cuando hallamos a Li-li en el juego, esta aventura ya ha sucedido, y vemos Azeroth a traves de los ojos curiosos y energeticos de la pequeña panda, que busca a su tio Chen (Stormstout), que ha dejado la Isla Errante para buscar aventuras.

La historia es rapida y entretenida, no perdemos mucho tiempo en Li-li, y casi toda la historia se dedica a contar las aventuras que su tio ha tenido, al tiemp...more
Michael Alexander Henke
Some time ago DC comics announced that instead of doing the World of Warcraft comics as individual issues, they were going to change to a graphic novel format. Pearl of Pandaria is the first one to be released, and is just in time to coincide with Mists of Pandaria, the latest WoW expansion.
I very much enjoyed this story and found it added quite a bit to the game world. The characters were very fun, especially Li Li Stormstout. She's a very spunky youngster, an archetype that I usually find very...more
Shawn Fairweather
This was free thanks to Goodreads First Reads! I was hopping this was going to be more of a YA -Adult graphic novel for the Warcraft Lore fan that I am, however what we have here is a graphic kids novel that gives some more flavor to a couple new characters that can be found in the new World of Warcraft expansion Mists of Pandaria. Id gauge this for the 8-12 crowd but what I really like about this book is that it comes across in a way that makes me wonder if this is a test for a possible new ani...more
Itzkoopa
You can definitely tell that this was meant to expand upon Pandarian culture before we were given an entire expansion on it. Still a fun read for nostalgia, as part of it is like a travel agent's pitch for various locations of Azeroth.

http://lorehound.com/news/the-novel-p...
David(LA,CA)
A quick catch up on where one specific character has been since last appearing in this universe. On the plus side, it doesn't spend large chunks retelling events that have already been covered. On the other hand, by skipping those events, the faction most associated with the character feels missing in action.

Also, have to say that I loved the art style. So many of the things like this I've been reading lately have looked like someone left their watercolor illustrations out in the rain. While ver...more
Allen Christianson
Great interpretation of the Warcraft universe. Would love to see more like this.
Barbora
Komiks a hlavní hrdinové jsou roztomilé pandy! To jsem si nemohla nechat ujít. :3
WOW nehraju, ale kdybych hrála, zcela jistě bych měla postavu Pandarena. :)
Člověk si při čtení vzpomene na Pung-fu pandu (asijská kultura, bojové umění a pandy), ale příběh je samo sebou jiný.
Lissibith
A very cute story with a lovely art style and rich colors, carried by the personality of its central character Li Li. The plot may be simplistic and it may feel a little more like an introduction to the basics of WoW than a story in its own right, but its a cute tale.
Lulu
Sep 25, 2012 Lulu marked it as to-read
I won this book from the first reads giveaways and I am so excited to read it. Thanks.
Ciji Bambrick
A must-read for any WoW lore fan. I loved it and can't wait to see what's next.
stephanie
cute! pandas are silly!
Peter
Peter added it
Jul 09, 2014
Lord Dragmire
Lord Dragmire marked it as to-read
Jul 09, 2014
Kira
Kira added it
Jul 02, 2014
Caitlan Hudgins
Caitlan Hudgins marked it as to-read
Jun 16, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
2739719
MICKY NEILSON is a Lead Story Developer at Blizzard Entertainment, where he has worked since 1993. Micky's game writing credits include World of Warcraft, StarCraft, Warcraft III and Lost Vikings II. Micky is a television and movie fanatic, and with his writing partner Sam Didier, writes screenplays in his spare time (What spare time? Luckily he was able to create a fold in the time/space continuu...more
More about Micky Neilson...
World of Warcraft: Ashbringer Curse of the Worgen (World of Warcraft) Uprising (Starcraft, #0.5) Diablo III: Heroes Rise, Darkness Falls Diablo III: Morbed

Share This Book