Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Hot Coco (Unbridled Series #2)” as Want to Read:
Hot Coco (Unbridled Series #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Hot Coco (The Unbridled Series #2)

by
3.02 of 5 stars 3.02  ·  rating details  ·  46 ratings  ·  19 reviews
HOT: Coco Beardmore. NOT: Coco's calamities. HOT: Mike's fantasies. NOT: Mike's reality. Let's face it, everyone knows a beautiful woman who can't walk through a room without tripping over the coffee table, or turning every situation into a total debacle. Trainers at Keystone Downs have been dumping Coco Beardmore and she's landed in Mike West's lap. The problem is that Co ...more
Paperback, 202 pages
Published June 1st 2012 by Acorn Book Services (first published May 2012)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Hot Coco, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Hot Coco

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 142)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Sandra
This review can also be found on my blog.

Hot Coco is a hot mess. There is no clear protagonist, instead it's a hodge-podge of main characters from the start.

We meet Coco Beardsmore, described as a hot chick, clutzy as all out, leading with her boobs and causing havoc wherever she goes.

We meet Doug O'Connor and his daughter Margie. He's described as an old grump, while her description leads us to believe that she's unattractive, mousy, and shouldn't be touched with ten foot pole.

We meet Mike Wes
...more
Julianna
Feb 12, 2013 Julianna rated it 3 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Fans of Humorous, Literary Soap Operas or Horse Racing
Reviewed for THC Reviews
"3.5 stars" Hmmm... where to begin? I guess I'll start my review of Hot Coco by saying that I'm not really sure what genre it's supposed to be. Some readers and book websites seem to have it categorized as Contemporary Romance, but it really isn't. While there's lots of lusting and relationship turmoils, the story doesn't focus on one main couple, following them through to their HEA. In fact, none of the characters who are pursuing relationships even get an HEA. By the en
...more
Kimberly Lewis
I must say that "Hot Coco" was a very entertaining read. As stated in the interview, these books were originally designed to be a television series and that's just how I envisioned everything when I read it. I loved the setting of the horse farms and dipping into the life of Thoroughbred racing. The characters were very likable (although some of them I absolutely hated at first but then they grew on me). Coco seriously is the most klutzy person I have ever read about, lol. How that girl managed ...more
Fran
Hot Coco
Cindy McDonald

She’s hot, she’s smooth and she knows what she wants in a man and more ways than one she is a deadly weapon all by herself. She’s fearless when she wants to get things done and knows how to get men to fall at her feet. I mean literally. Coco Beardmore owns five horses and boards them at the O’Conner stables. Four thoroughbreds some how get out of their stables and create havoc on a daily basis causing the workers at the stables to have to clean up what they managed to wreck
...more
RaeBeth
Hot Coco by Cindy McDonald is a pleasant read for those who like to laugh mixed in with a bit of romance. The characters are loveable and easy to fall for. I loved how the Pittsburgh Steelers was mentioned several times within this book as well as some places around my home which pulled me in even more. I loved the horse farm setting with the cowboys. I love Coco and her klutzy character and I felt for Margie. By the end of this novel, each character felt real and this is why I enjoyed this book ...more
Becs
Jun 20, 2012 Becs marked it as wish-list
I have to identify with this girl - I am the clumsiest girl in the known universe after all!
Ruth Albarran
It took me a long time to finish reading this story but i finally got through it.

I would say it was entertaining, the writing was good and different from what i had previously read or what I'm used to reading. I felt like i was reading, picturing or watching one of those soap operas from TV.

This story includes a lot of characters to the mix, and you do have to keep that in mind in order to keep up with the different topics of the story and of each character. This is not you typical romance nov
...more
Marlene
Coco Bearmore, a Barbie-like heiress, is having trouble with her horse trainer and her five thoroughbred horses, who get into lots of mischief. When Coco tearfully asks Mike West for his help, he agrees to take on the training of her horses, and drama ensues, especially because Coco is very clumsy and her horses have very bad habits.

HOT COCO has romance, intrigue, and great characters, but it isn't like most mainstream romances. HOT COCO tells the story of the West family and some of the people
...more
Lauren Carr
Does your life have strictly romance, but no adventure? Is it a mystery without comedy? Is there paranormal that is devoid of romance?
Life is not a genre. People, circumstances, and, yes, even stories, cannot be put into a box and labeled: Comedy, Romance, Adventure, or Mystery. What some readers today fail to realize is that these boxes and labels were created by publishers in order to organize their business. Does this book go to the romance staff on the fifth floor or the mystery staff on flo
...more
Cindy McDonald
Jun 05, 2012 Cindy McDonald rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  (Review from the author)
I wanted to make sure that HOT COCO was a story that my readers would not be able to put down. HOT COCO would make them smile and laugh and as the plot unfolds, it will employ the reader to contemplate the metamorphosis that the characters are experiencing before their eyes.
This isn’t just a story about a beautiful klutzy blonde, goodness no! It goes much deeper than that. Read closely. This is an expedition where the characters find out who they want to be, where they want to go, and how muc
...more
Louisa
Great book, great characters, all the conflict was delicious to read!
Rhonda
Hot Coco by Cindy McDonald
4 STARS
I was thinking that the story would go one away and it went in a total different direction that I thought it would. I was drawn into the lives of the characters. I like how most of them grew and changed. I wanted to see what would happen next in thier lives.
Coco Beardmore is a beautiful rich klutzy woman. Things are always happening around her. She needs a different horse trainer the one she has wants her horses out of his barn.
Mike West is a trainer with his fa
...more
Richard Hayes
This book, which is, I believe, the first in a series is about the people who run, work at and train horses at the stables at race tracks. It shows the owner, both of the horses and the stables. The workers who do the day to day jobs.

You have Coco Beardmore, a woman who has everything, good looks, brains and money, who is also a total klutz and walking disaster area. You have the West family, Eric the father, Mike and Shane the sons and Kate the daughter, who run one of the higher end training s
...more
A Book Vacation
To see my full review:

http://bookvacations.wordpress.com/20...

I have some mixed feelings about this second novel in the Unbridled series. First of all, the writing was good and the mystery aspect of the novel, once it began, was also quite interesting. However, the overuse of adjectives and words like “naked” didn’t do much for me as a reader, especially as the focus always seemed to be on the buxom blonde, Coco. The characters all seemed obsessed with sex, as well, and as that’s not something I
...more
Vivian
Horses, racetracks, sexy and sultry characters and massive misunderstandings are the major components in the contemporary read Hot Coco by Cindy McDonald. I thought that the story was going to center on Colette "Coco" Beardmore given the title, and it does . . . for a while. Coco is attracted to Mike West, Mike is attracted to Coco but he's also still attracted (sexual attraction) to his ex-wife Ava. Ava is in a relationship with Carl, who is attracted to Ava's ex-sister-in-law Kate. Mike and Ka ...more
Witchmag's Boekenplank
Other than the hilarious events with Coco and her horses, there was nothing for me to like. The rest of the book didn't have a real story. Just a lot of characters, who each get a turn to say something or do something. There were just too many different story lines in too few pages. There wasn't even the tiniest bit of real romance and the characters didn't have much depth.

I was very disappointed after finishing.
GONZA
Too many people in this book and Coco was really to much of a klutz for me and so I didn't connect with her enough to get lost in the story, oh sorry the stories, there were so may plots and subplots, specially at the beginning that I start to write down names to remember who's who.

THANKS TO NETGALLEY AND ACORN BOOK SERVICES FOR THE PREVIEW
Charleen Marx sowards
Cute story but it jumps around a bit. It's also part of a series and apparently it would make more sense if you had read the others.
Michelle [Helen Geek]
ARC on 08/25/2012.
Eileen
Eileen marked it as to-read
Oct 24, 2014
C.R. Gress
C.R. Gress marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2014
Jennifer
Jennifer marked it as to-read
Sep 29, 2014
Tracey
Tracey marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2014
Whitney
Whitney marked it as to-read
Aug 30, 2014
Michelle Ella
Michelle Ella marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2014
Christy Carroll
Christy Carroll marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
5264796
After enjoying a career as a professional dancer/choreographer for twenty-six years, I have retired to write my book series and spend more time with family and friends.
More about Cindy McDonald...
Dangerous Deception (Unbridled Series #3) Deadly.com: The Unbridled Series Into the Crossfire (First Force Book #1) To the Breaking Pointe (First Force #2) Shady Deals (The Unbridled Series)

Share This Book