Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “I Funny: A Middle School Story (I Funny, #1)” as Want to Read:
I Funny: A Middle School Story (I Funny, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

I Funny: A Middle School Story (I Funny #1)

4.1 of 5 stars 4.10  ·  rating details  ·  5,538 ratings  ·  796 reviews
Jamie Grimm is a middle schooler on a mission: he wants to become the world's greatest standup comedian--even if he doesn't have a lot to laugh about these days. He's new in town and stuck living with his aunt, uncle, and their evil son Stevie, a bully who doesn't let Jamie's wheelchair stop him from messing with Jamie as much as possible. But Jamie doesn't let his situati ...more
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published December 10th 2012 by Little, Brown and Company (first published January 1st 2012)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about I Funny, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Zac Cain
This answer contains spoilers… (view spoiler)
Elijah Roma Yes, it's a good book.
Really, it depends on your taste of books, but yeah.

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 3,000)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
I laughed and I cried. It doesn't get much better than that for me.
Once Upon
I picked this book up purely to help out my son, who is behind on reading for pleasure. Which happens when you are a junior in high school. Being a middle school teacher for 10 years, I thought that I could breeze through this quickly, check it off the list and move to the next. See, I'm someone, who really doesn't watch comedies, sitcoms, read comedies, get jokes the first time they are told etc. etc. So when I saw I Funny and James Patterson, I thought, I'll give it a try. Now, this is the fir ...more
This is absolutely the least funny humor book I have ever read. I like to think I have a good sense of humor, even when it's humor aimed at tween-age boys. I have LOLed plenty at Jeff Kinney, Dave Lubars, John Scieszka and Andy Griffths. But I didn't laugh at this book. I think, maybe once, I cracked half a smile. "I Funny" not funny.

Jamie Grimm is a boy in a wheelchair. He lives on Long Island where he has been recently adopted by a humorless aunt and her humorless husband. He has become the p
I seriously hated this book. I don’t think any kid, especially a person in middle school could relate to this book. The chapters aren’t interesting or exciting. The jokes in the book aren’t funny. The genre of this book is realistic fiction/humor, but is neither funny nor relatable (being in middle school myself). James Patterson carries the story line on for over 200 pages to the point when the book just gets boring and is not exciting and doesn’t keep you in suspense. The story line was easy t ...more
Ms. Yingling
Jamie Grimm wants to be a stand up comedian... well, a sitting down one, since he is in a wheelchair. He has some stage fright that he's working to get over, sometimes by being the class clown. He lives with an aunt and uncle, and his cousin Stevie bullies him mercilessly-- even pushing him out of his wheelchair and abandoning him at one point. Luckily, he has his Uncle Frankie, who lets him tell jokes to the customers in his diner, and several supportive friends who encourage him to enter the T ...more
El Marcapaginas
Cuando cayó este libro a mis manos lo primero que pensé fue “me voy a reír mucho” y no iba desencaminado. La primera idea que tenía sobre este libro es que era una novela de humor, con muchos chistes y poco más, pero por el camino descubrí una enternecedora y dura historia.

Para empezar no es una novela corriente de corte juvenil. Su protagonista es inválido y trata temas peliagudos sin dejar títere con cabeza no sin dejar atrás el humor. El sueño de Jamie es ser humorista y a pesar del poco apoy
Humor, heart, and hope with tons of reader appeal. Can't wait to hand this to my students.
Patterson (the brand) has done a nice job of segueing into including some really fun and interesting books for younger readers. They are written in a format the blends illustration and text in a way that is somewhere between a graphic novel and a traditional novel. This is the newest book of three that do just that. This one introduces the readers to Jamie Grimm, a middle schooler hoping to make it big as the world's first sit-down comic. That's right ... SIT-DOWN comic. What makes Jamie differe ...more
I picked this book up to have something to do during my lunch break. Patterson is always an easy read so I knew I could sit back and enjoy.

I liked Jamie as a character. I especially liked the emphasis on him being treated like a normal kid despite the wheelchair. And how he can poke fun at himself and assure others it's okay to laugh with him. There is a line between comedy and cruel, and I like that Jamie worried about crossing that line at one point during the book. He was just an average kid
This is my sister's book and I just picked it up for fun since I miraculously reduced my own TBR pile to nada. It's a light read and had lots of jokes-- some of which I really didn't get and some I did get, but only very few made me chuckle. (I say chuckle because I didn't really laugh).

"He owns the oldest diner in the whole New York metropolitan area. It's so old, I think when it opened, Burger King was still a prince."

Ba-dumtssss. Anyway, that was my favorite joke from the book. I couldn't sa
Laughter truly is the best medicine. As we follow Jamie's journey to become Long Island's best kid comedian, we can truly see how laughter can heal. What is on the outside a very funny book also has some poignant and deeply touching moments. Recommended for 4th grade and up.

ARC provided by publisher.
Tori I
I just finished "I FUNNY" by: James Patterson and Chris Grabenstein. This is probably the best book I have ever read. I think it is a fabulous book because Jamie Grimm is really funny. His goal was to become the PLANET'S FUNNIEST KID COMIC, but I am not going to tell you what happens at the end. When he was little he got in a car wreck and his mom, dad, and little sister, Jenny, died, but he lived. The sad thing is he almost didn't and now he's in a wheel chair. I can sort of relate to Jamie whe ...more
Edward Ledesma
I recommend this book to read things that are funny and can understand what going on.I love this book because it has humor and has a lot of detail in it like your in the book.I think chances to have more books in the series.The book is about a kid named Jamie who loves to make people laugh so he enters a competition in New York to become the funnies kid in New York.
The Half-Blood
I loved this book. It's wonderful. I like it a lot more than I liked James Patterson's other books, even though I enjoyed those too. This book was hilarious. Seriously. It was also depressingly sad. But, in a good addicting way. Okay, so now I'm not making any sense, am I? Oh, well.
The Plot: I thought the plot was a creative idea and excecuted perfectly. Like, I'm not sure if they wrote it together, but if they did, then you couldn't tell it was told by two different people at all. The story ha
Zaki Rob
I Funny
By: Zaki Rob

I Funny: A Middle School Story is a book by James Patterson and Chris Grabenstein and it is about a young boy named Jamie Grimm getting through middle school. His method is like no other. To get through this twisted and difficult hurdle in life he is acting like and wanting to be a comedian and not just any ordinary comedian. He is handicapped meaning he can’t use a part or parts of his body which are his legs. See, Jamie was in some sort of accident which left him not able to
Calvin Watford
The book is about a teenager named Jamie who wants to grow up to be a comedian. He's read all the biographies, books, everything. Watched all the comedians, you name it. The book starts when he sees an ad in the newspaper for the "World's funniest kid" contest. His uncle wants him to go but he doesn't think he's funny enough. He usually spends his days at his uncle's diner at the cash register, telling jokes to customers who come to pay. He pretty much always gets a laugh out of them. There's on ...more
I Funny is about a boy named Jamie Grimm. Jamie always likes to see the funny side of things, he wants to be a comedian. He has recently moved to Long Beach in New York where he lives with his cousins, and hangs out with his Uncle at his dinner. All Jamie wants is to become a comedian and be treated normally. People sometimes do not treat Jamie normally because he uses a wheelchair. At school Jamie has some great friends, but he is also bullied. THe bully also happens to be his cousin. Jamie hea ...more
When you have nothing else to read in your house.
Madeleine Gamboa
I liked this book. This book is about a boy that goes to middle school and he wants to be a comedian. He has an enemy that is a bully and in the middle of the book he is the adopt brother.When he goes to the house they put them in the garage .In middle school he likes somebody he calls her the cool girl.Almost at the end of the book they kiss.
Ms. Kamerow
I was surprised by how funny this book actually is! I like how James Patterson writes - bold, clear sentences describing issues that other people might find awkward. You will find yourself rooting for the main character and laughing along with him. I recommend this book to any student who enjoys cartoons, jokes, or realistic stories.
Emily Brent
If you want a cool, touching, and funny book to read, then the book I Funny is for you. I was cracking up while I was reading, so if you like to laugh while reading a hilarious book at the same time, I highly recommend the book I Funny to you. Jamie is a kid in middle school, and the only thing that makes him different from an ordinary kid in middle school is that he is in a wheel chair, and he is hysterically funny. At first, when his uncle mentioned a competition for him to show off his comedy ...more
Caitlin Darr
i funny is a pretty funny book to other people, but not me... its about a middle school kid who wants to become a comedian and he wants to win the comedian contest. but im not gonna tell you if he wins or not... you'll have to find out by reading it yourself...
My daughter gave this book to me to read after she read it telling me that she thought it was really funny and since I like James Patterson's adult books that I might like his kid book. Well she was right! This book was hilarious! It dealt with the diffucult subject matters of the deaths of his parents and sister in a car accident and his own resulting disability, needing a wheelchair, and moving in with his aunt, uncle, and bully of a cousin, Steve. There was a great deal of humor that was funn ...more
Giovanni Zuniga
This was very funny. It started out not funny but them it got funnier. This book attracks alot of people because of its title.
Anastasia L.
I funny is about a boy named Jamie that has a wheel chair and dreams to be a famous comedian. He lives with his un emotial aunt and uncle, and there son, Stevie is always there bullying Jamie. That dosen't stop Jamie as he keeps dreaming to be a famous comedian. He then competes in a contest and that changes his whole life forever.

I really liked this book but I gave it 4 stars because it was a little too easy but I loved the plot and the caraters , Jamie the most because he is very happy and alw

Usually, no one uses that adjective to describe a book. Especially if he's not a fan of the genre.

I'm not a YA/middle grade reader. Some of the popular books in the genre have made me run fast and run far, even when skimming for fond memories. Because most of this stuff assume that young readers are retards as well.

Not this one. Patterson offers his readers their due respect. He doesn't chomp on the flow of the story to appeal to action and the sensational. There is no break in logic. No
I have pretty much vowed never to read a James Patterson book, because I think working in a library makes you pretty much hate him, but I ended up having this selected for my tween book club so I had to.

That said...... It appears to have actually been written by Chris Grabenstein, who I don't hate, so I'll justify it with that.

It uses the signature Patterson Short Chapters. I assume this is so that people who aren't really literary, or big readers can feel SUPER accomplished by saying they are o
Ryk Stanton
I saw this book on the shelf at Wal-Mart and thought Wow, what a cool looking book. But I don't buy many books from stores these days, choosing instead to get them a bit cheaper on Amazon or for my Kindle. This one I decided to request from the library: Ultimately this is a book intended for teenagers, after all, so I might have been disappointed.

I was not disappointed at all! In fact, I was rather excited when I found out the book was about a middle schooler who fancies himself a stand-up comed
I really rather liked this funny little book, and I really didn't think I would. It's a great read-alike for Wimpy Kid fans, with the added bonus of its' main character being in a wheelchair. The only beef I had with the book is that

**SPOILER** when Jamie realizes he was a HUGE JERK to his friends and family in his jokes, and thinks they all hate him, they aren't actually mad, but he doesn't apologize for being mean at their expense anyway! It seemed like a great set-up for a lesson about being
Please click.

I first saw a book on a commercial for James Patterson's new release- "I Even Funnier". I supposed there was a book before this one because, well, think about it, I 'Even' Funnier.

Anyway, I found the book "I Funny" and it looked like a pretty decent book, so I bought it and read a little the first day. It took me 3 days to finish the book because the book has you glued at one point.

I love the humor that the main character, Jamie Grimm, has, and I love the storyline. A lot of his jok
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 99 100 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Story 1 1 Nov 24, 2015 11:07AM  
Character 1 3 Nov 23, 2015 11:05AM  
Dialogue 3 3 Nov 20, 2015 11:06AM  
Dialogue 1 5 Nov 18, 2015 10:37AM  
Symbolism 1 2 Nov 12, 2015 11:11AM  
Symbolism 1 2 Nov 12, 2015 11:05AM  
Foil Character 1 4 Nov 10, 2015 11:08AM  
  • My Life as a Cartoonist
  • Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Not Reading (Charlie Joe Jackson, #1)
  • The Surprise Attack of Jabba the Puppett (Origami Yoda, #4)
  • Stick Dog
  • Planet Tad
  • The Terrible Two
  • Laugh with the Moon
  • Little Dog, Lost
  • The Loser List
  • Fourmile
  • Larger-Than-Life Lara
  • SPHDZ (Spaceheadz, #1)
  • The Island of Dr. Libris
  • The Dogs of Winter
  • Star Wars: Jedi Academy (Jedi Academy, #1)
  • Bully Bait
  • The Five Lives of Our Cat Zook
  • Middle School Is Worse Than Meatloaf: A Year Told Through Stuff
Offical US Site
Offical UK Site
Offical James Patterson Young Adult Site
Offical Site for James Patterson's Middle School Series

The subject of a Time magazine feature called, "The Man Who Can't Miss," James Patterson is the bestselling author of the past year, bar none, with more than 16 million books sold in North America alone. In 2007, one of every fifteen hardcover fiction books sold was a Patter
More about James Patterson...

Other Books in the Series

I Funny (4 books)
  • I Even Funnier (I Funny, #2)
  • I Totally Funniest: A Middle School Story
  • I Funny TV: A Middle School Story

Share This Book

“Okay, so how, exactly, did I get into this mess—up onstage at a comedy club, baking like a bag of French fries under a hot spotlight that shows off my sweat stains( including one that sort of looks like Jabba the Hutt), with about a thousand beady eyeballs drilling into me?” 1 likes
“second one-liner” 0 likes
More quotes…