Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Twisted Vines (Shakespeare in the Vineyard, #1)” as Want to Read:
Twisted Vines (Shakespeare in the Vineyard, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Twisted Vines (Shakespeare in the Vineyard #1)

by
3.4  ·  Rating Details ·  52 Ratings  ·  21 Reviews
Crime Analyst Caitlyn Tilson Pepper inherits a vineyard and two Shakespearean theaters in a northern California town from a mysterious aunt and becomes a target for murder.

Cait's investigation into the life and death of her Aunt Tasha forces her down a road paved with familial lies, devastating secrets, and multiple murders. She is faced with a hard decision: accept her i
...more
Hardcover, First, 330 pages
Published August 15th 2012 by Five Star Publishing
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Twisted Vines, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Twisted Vines

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Kay
Jul 15, 2015 Kay rated it really liked it
Caitlyn Tilson Pepper is introduced to us in this story, the first novel in the Shakespeare in the Vineyard Mystery series. I had been fortunate to win the second story Sour Grapes in a Goodreads giveway, so I read these backward, but after reading Sour Grapes, I HAD to find out how Cait had inherited the theater/vineyard in California.

The story begins when Cait receives a call from a lawyer in California, informing her that her aunt Tasha has died and left Cait her home, which is an estate tha
...more
Robyn
Oct 13, 2012 Robyn rated it did not like it
Ostensibly set in Livermore ca, but other than a few local store or restaurant names, there's no sense of location or setting, and it's like the author couldn't decide if she wanted to write about wine country or local Shakespeare theater so tossed in a little of both and not enough of either...and the plot is so short on logic it becomes irritating, ie a fire has burned down one of the theaters, and it turns out alarms were installed but never activated, and still aren't so of course there's an ...more
Erika
Sep 14, 2012 Erika rated it really liked it
Sometimes one forgets the comfort of a cozy mystery, especially when one is in the sure hands of a true storyteller. Carole Price has spun a tale in the Livermore Valley full of vibrant characters, classic red herrings and an array of juicy suspects that Agatha Christie would smile and nod upon.

Living in Pleasanton, I have a soft spot in my heart for Ms. Price's setting, which springs to life in her pages. She mentions the cafe at Garre Winery and Cafe Oresco, even Mines Road. I feel right at ho
...more
Richard
Feb 19, 2013 Richard rated it really liked it
This is the first in a projected series of mysteries featuring Ohio crime analyst Caitlyn Tilson Pepper. If the others are as good as this one, I will certainly be waiting for each one as it is published. Caitlyn receives a telephone call from a lawyer in California with the news that she is the sole heir of the estate of an aunt that she never knew that she had. She needs to fly to California to settle the considerable estate, which will make her a very wealthy woman, but is not sure that she w ...more
Snail in Danger (Sid) Nicolaides
Jun 29, 2012 Snail in Danger (Sid) Nicolaides marked it as decided-not-to-read
Recommended to Snail in Danger (Sid) by: Goodreads giveaway listing
I enjoyed the California-set Elaine Flinn mysteries. That series, unfortunately, ended with the death of its author. I thought this might be an interesting thing to read in light of that. I liked the idea of combining California wine country and Shakespeare. Unfortunately, it was a little bit too much of a first novel, complete with rushing to introduce the main character's full name and profession in the first sentence. I hate when books do that. ("Crime analyst Cait Pepper finally finished cle ...more
Rogue Reader
Aug 04, 2013 Rogue Reader rated it really liked it
Twisted Vines is a good read all around, with solid characters and lots of red herrings.

Author Carole Price transplants the Oregon Shakespeare Theatre to a vineyard in Northern California and by killing off the founder, introduces Caitlyn Tilson Pepper who carries the arc of the narrative. Don't mistake Twisted Vines as a cozy, because it's not - Cait has to contend with several deaths, and her background as a crime analyst makes her the perfect protag - systematic, courageous and methodologica
...more
Susan
Oct 14, 2012 Susan rated it liked it
Caitlyn is more shocked to learn that she had an aunt than she is to hear of her inheritance. The crime analyst and former police officer is sure that it's a scam--until she leaves Ohio for California and sees the estate she's inherited. There's the vineyard, of course, but there are also the theaters, where a Shakespeare festival will be starting in a few months. The handsome SEAL her aunt persuaded to stay on the grounds is suspicious about Tasha's death, and Cait soon realizes that she's susp ...more
Jacqueline Seewald
Aug 05, 2013 Jacqueline Seewald rated it it was amazing
Twisted Vines by Carole Price is a unique mystery novel. Ohio crime analyst, Cait Pepper, inherits a California vineyard and two Shakespearean theaters from an aunt she’s never heard of before. She soon learns that both her aunt and uncle died under mysterious circumstances and ends up investigating their murders which makes her a target of the killer as well. There are a number of unusual suspects. Royal Tanner (R.T.), a Navy SEAL, helps her uncover the truth while bringing romance into the you ...more
Karen
Jun 03, 2015 Karen rated it really liked it
I enjoyed this first in a series. I was looking for a local author that my mystery reading group could read and interact with.

I am familiar with the Livermore, CA area and enjoyed thede details, along with the Shakespeare Theater aspects. I was an English lit major as an undergraduate.

The mysteries were well plotted, and her background as a police officer made the investigation logical.

It had more romance than I like, but I will read on in the series.

I borrowed the Large Print edition from the p
...more
Amy
Jul 06, 2012 Amy rated it really liked it
A great start to a new "cozy" mystery series that starts off (briefly) in Columbus, Ohio, but takes place in the greater San Francisco area.

The only thing that prevented me from giving it 5 stars was the number of editorial / misspelled or misused words in the text. I got tripped up on more than a few sentences in the book and it takes a lot to trip me up when I'm reading a great story!

To the editors of the world, I realize you have a lot of authors and their works to cover, but spell check is
...more
Sue
Aug 15, 2012 Sue rated it really liked it
Shelves: cozy-mysteries
Crime Analyst Caitlyn Pepper is shocked to learn that she has inherited a vineyard from an aunt she never knew existed. She is even more shocked to find out that her aunt may have been murdered. Not trusting the police to find the killer, Caitlyn risks her own life to see justice done. This first book in a new series features a pleasant mystery and a nice romance. Recommended for fans of Joanne Fluke and Carolyn Hart.
Penny Warner
Jun 04, 2012 Penny Warner rated it it was amazing
I loved this book! It's the perfect combination--Shakespeare theater and wine country! The protagonist, Cate, is a smart ex-cop who investigates a murder at her newly acquired winery in the Livermore Valley. The author knows her police procedurals - very impressive. And there's a great love interest! Can't wait for the next one.
Tracy
Feb 23, 2013 Tracy rated it did not like it
Shelves: abandoned
Really wanted to like this book! Shakespeare, Livermore, murder/mystery sounded like a winning combination for me! I think the author had some good ideas but the dialogue and storytelling were flawed. I did not make it beyond page 40. :-(
Staci McLaughlin
Jul 03, 2012 Staci McLaughlin rated it it was amazing
I had the opportunity to preview this book. It's a fantastic debut novel with a strong female lead and a gorgeous wine-country setting.
Jessica
Mar 26, 2013 Jessica rated it liked it
This book was a simple and entertaining read. Kept my interest all the way through. No huge surprises, no big twisting plot lines, just an entertaining read. I look forward to the next one.
Sara James
I am glad I found this book on my library new book shelf. Great read, and cannot wait for her next book Sour Grapes
Becky
Sep 15, 2012 Becky rated it liked it
An admirable effort for a first novel. Loved the setting--Livermore wine country. The author is local and I met her at our indie bookstore. I am looking forward to the next book in this series.
Mikaela
Mikaela rated it it was amazing
Sep 21, 2012
Ruelle2062
Ruelle2062 rated it liked it
Jan 12, 2013
Pat
Pat rated it really liked it
Dec 26, 2012
PWRL
Jun 05, 2013 PWRL marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2013-new
O
Katie
Katie rated it really liked it
Oct 03, 2012
Caroline
Caroline rated it it was amazing
May 28, 2013
Kim Andrew
Kim Andrew rated it did not like it
Jun 16, 2016
Mamta
Mamta rated it liked it
Nov 26, 2013
Lydia
Oct 05, 2012 Lydia rated it it was ok
OK - only realised it was sent in my local area when I started reading it - duh!
Tiffany
Tiffany rated it it was amazing
Oct 10, 2012
Janet Finsilver
Janet Finsilver rated it it was amazing
Apr 05, 2016
Kristin M
Apr 03, 2015 Kristin M rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Really fun to read. Local so that made it more interesting.
Janet Beasley
Janet Beasley rated it it was ok
Jun 29, 2012
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
6154404
Carole is a Buckeye! Born and raised in Columbus, Ohio. She attended The Ohio State University and worked for a national laboratory in northern California before turning to writing mysteries. She graduated from Livermore's Citizens Police Academy and is a police volunteer. Her writing companion is Shilo, an adorable 10-pound mixed terrier.

Carole is a member of Mystery Writers of America and Sister
...more
More about Carole Price...

Other Books in the Series

Shakespeare in the Vineyard (2 books)
  • Sour Grapes

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »