Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Hidden Fires” as Want to Read:
Hidden Fires
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Hidden Fires (The Chronicles of Nuala #2)

by
4.07 of 5 stars 4.07  ·  rating details  ·  41 ratings  ·  10 reviews
Paperback, 277 pages
Published February 1st 1991 by Warner Books (NY)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Hidden Fires, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Hidden Fires

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 75)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Deborah Ross
This is the third in the "Nuala" series, and I'm glad I read them one right after the other, which allowed me to not only make connections between characters and events, but to appreciate the growth of the author's skill. If Fire Sanctuary was an initial exploration, abounding in the many layers of world and culture building, history and genealogies, characters and interstellar plots, Hidden Fires reflects both balance and focus. Like Fires of Nuala, this tale focuses on Darame and Sheel, and th ...more
Laura (Kyahgirl)
4/5; 4 stars; A-

I really enjoyed this sequel to The Fires of Nuala. Darame is such an awesome heroine.
At first I found myself getting quite annoyed with this guy who thought he had a grievance with her. But, as I read the book I began to feel sympathetic for the plight he had. Kimbriel did a really good job of making the reader see and believe in the complexity of a life where people could travel great distances and spend a lot of time in cold sleep. Of course, these people would then have to d
...more
Joy
This one, while highly rated, didn't work for me. I won this through LTER (Library Thing Early Reviewers) and cut short my other queue to accommodate this and read and review it as soon as I could. So I gave it a try and I really wanted to appreciate it as a whole, but it didn't work for me.

First up, I'm not really a sci-fi fan, but I liked the Nualan concepts, how the author created a convincing world of different clans, planets, powers, and other technologically advanced stuff. She even made m
...more
Estara
Dec 06, 2010 Estara rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Estara by: I loved the first book, so I expect to love this as well
Shelves: ebook, read-in-2010
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Sherwood Smith
Dec 28, 2010 Sherwood Smith added it
Shelves: sf
I first noticed this series in the late eighties and early nineties because while it had strong romantic elements driving the space opera story setting, the main character did not have a gorgeous psi-feline sidekick. Not that I mind gorgeous psi feline sidekicks, it's just that there seemed to be a lot of them, and the storylines tended to blend as they followed a lot of familiar story signposts. It also had a complex world, highly mannered, which is always a plus for me.

This novel has its dark
...more
Katharine Kimbriel
Jul 05, 2012 Katharine Kimbriel added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Did you like Pern or Darkover? Then you should try Nuala!

********

"There are books you read at one fast gulp, books you savor at a slower pace. For me, Kimbriel’s third action-packed science fiction novel is both: It isn’t necessary to read either of the other books to understand and enjoy Hidden Fires . . . but I’d highly recommend you do."

---Science Fiction Review
Chuck Rezac
As well written as it is, Hidden Fires suffers for being the second in the series. It seems at times that rather than build on the previous novel it just ignores anything inconvenient to the new story. The main character's most precious possession makes its first appearance halfway through the second novel in which she appears, and one is left with the impression that it only appears then because she needs something to use as a bookmark. Likewise the antagonist wasn't in the first book and also ...more
Mmmjay
A thoroughly rollicking read. The characters jump from the page and the story moves along at warp speed. You will be fascinated with the inhabitants on Nuala and the in-fighting among the ruling familes. (Think Rome during the Caesars). Highly recommend this book. In the tradition of Asimov and Heinlein.
Jennifer Stevenson
good, a sequel to fires of nuala. more intrigue, more romance, waiting for book three, yes!
Clare Rea
Didn't enjoy this as much as the first in the series but it was still an enjoyable read
Ashley Franks
Ashley Franks marked it as to-read
Nov 23, 2014
Sharon Karpierz
Sharon Karpierz marked it as to-read
Nov 10, 2014
Mary Ellen
Mary Ellen marked it as to-read
Aug 14, 2014
Allison
Allison marked it as to-read
May 25, 2014
Joey V.
Joey V. marked it as to-read
May 24, 2014
Coyora Dokusho
Coyora Dokusho marked it as to-read
Feb 02, 2014
Shayla
Shayla is currently reading it
Jul 08, 2013
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
259969
In the beginning Katharine Eliska Kimbriel was nominated for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New SF/Fantasy Writer. Katharine’s work has long straddled the line: “too literary to be commercial, too commercial to be literary” – she has a list of itinerant occupations to prove it.

Published novels include the historical dark fantasies NIGHT CALLS, KINDRED RITES, and SPIRAL PATH. On the science fi
...more
More about Katharine Eliska Kimbriel...
Night Calls (Night Calls #1) Kindred Rites (Night Calls #2) Fires of Nuala Fire Sanctuary Spiral Path (Night Calls #3)

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »