Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Snobs” as Want to Read:
Snobs
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Snobs

3.38 of 5 stars 3.38  ·  rating details  ·  4,124 ratings  ·  598 reviews
EINE BRITISCHE GESELLSCHAFTSSATIRE VOM FEINSTEN.

Wie angelt man sich einen echten Adeligen? Eine junge bürgerliche Frau mit großen Ambitionen schafft das Unmögliche, obwohl die zukünftige Schwiegermutter ihr das Leben zur Hölle macht. Der ultimative Roman über die feinen Leute im Mutterland der Snobs.

Edith Lavery ist eine hübsche junge Frau mit Porzellanhaut, großen Augen u
...more
Published (first published 2004)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Snobs, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Snobs

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 3,000)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Laura
As delicious as fizzy lemonade and only slightly more substantive, this novel by the screenwriter of “Gosford Park” takes you through the courtship and marriage of a middle-class beauty (“I knew she was a social climber; I didn’t realize she was a mountaineer!”) and an aristocratic dullard. No one escapes the dry acerbity of author Julian Fellowes, who was born into the bosom of the upper-class and obviously knows the species intimately. A very light, very fun, very delectably waspish portrait o ...more
LeeAnne
This was such an entertaining, fun book.

The author, Julian Fellowes, has had an illustrious career in film and television. He wrote the screenplays for the Oscar-winning Gosford Park, The Young Victoria, and Vanity Fair. He also created and writes the spectacular Downton Abbey.

In the same way that Dominick Dunn’s books offer an insider peek into the elite lives of Manhattan’s 5th Avenue, Snobs is a funny, sharp-eyed study on contemporary British aristocracy. The gossipy story is told through a
...more
Blair
Snobs was initially a pleasurably satirical and snippy read, but after numerous chapters of the seemingly endless and very tedious ins-and-outs of aristocratic society, it started to become - to employ a word used frequently in the book - dreary, and by the end I didn't care what happened. It was well-written, but suffered from the same problem as Fellowes' (superior) second novel Past Imperfect; too many digressions into intricate details of the upper echelons of the class system. Reading this, ...more
Margitte
This book had the same effect on me as the screeching sound of chalk on a blackboard. After the first eighty pages I considered dropping it. The all too familiar traits of snobbery just didn't tickle my fancy at all. A snob is a snob is a snob, right?

It felt like detention homework. Please write out the following sentence two thousand times: " Snobs believe they are God's gift to mankind in every which way but death." ( I mean, they truly believe the sun sets over our planet when one of them si
...more
Rachel
Jul 29, 2012 Rachel marked it as abandoned  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction
The fourth of four (so far) books in a row that I've abandoned. Maybe it's just me.

I just started watching Downton Abbey a couple of months ago (two years after it began airing) and my reaction was, "why didn't anyone tell me how great this show is?" Then I remembered that, oh right, everyone did. This caused me to also seek out Gosford Park, which I didn't like nearly as much as Downton Abbey, although it did make me feel that Maggie Smith should be in all movies (along with Don Cheadle, about
...more
Anastasia
Lo spirito di Jane Austen vaga per libroni e libercoli..

E dev'essere che fra un soggiorno e l'altro ha pensato bene di lasciare pure la sua impronta su Snob. In realtà questo paragone con le strutture e modi della Austen è ciò di più spontaneo e (parzialmente) in errore che qualunque lettore potrebbe fare una volta intrapresa la lettura di Snob: diciamo che se fosse davvero così, allora avremmo davanti una Jane slavata dai turbini delle lavatrici del nuovo secolo, un'Austen meno leggendaria, più
...more
CS
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Elizabeth
Wow. this guy really nailed it. This book reminded me of someone paring a fish with the ease of a surgeon. Fellows examines social protocol in a certain circle by flaking it from the chaos of conversation, holding it up to the light, and explaining exactly why everything about it is preposterous.

Ever wonder why some people call each other Sausage or Toffee? Turn to page 44. Want to know Fellow's theory about the patented British "stiff upper lip"? Try page 35. Or find out who fits this brillian
...more
CLM
Absolutely loved this book about the English aristocracy and the ambitious young woman who tries to marry into it, all told from the ironic perspective of a nameless actor who is everyone's confidante.

I went back to look, and this is only the third book I've awarded 5 stars to this year (out of 180 or so). Not a great year.
Carla
http://wwwdiaryofabooknerd.blogspot.c...

Snobs is a particularly juicy look at the lives and loves of aristocratic British society. Except that instead of petticoats and horse-drawn carriages, these fancy-shmancy Brits are living today. Middle-class Edith, who has been brought up by an ambitious mother to want nothing more than to land an upper-class husband, does just that then she meets Charles Uckfield, the Earl Broughton and heir to the Marquess of Uckfield. But instead of a fairy tale happy
...more
Laura
Edith, a beautiful and kind English young woman, is introduced to the Earl of Broughton after touring Broughton Hall. Although not a social-climber herself, she is drawn to his lifestyle and the ways of his class. She agrees to marry him, but suddenly finds life dull. One day, when actors and a camera crew arrive on her doorstep, she is swept off her feet and begins to question her decisions.

While I found the social commentary amusing, intellectual, and informative, I had no invested interest in
...more
Laura
From BBC radio 4 - 15 Minute Drama:
Satire on English snobbery, adapted from his own novel by Julian Fellowes.
K
I was curious about this book because Joseph Epstein kept referring to it in his book on friendship. The story was diverting, and the insights into Phenomenals' behavior (as seen through the example of British aristocrats' social norms) were very interesting. It only got three stars from me, though, because the author kept slipping into these 1-2 paragraph asides that distracted from the narrative flow. The habit was kind of annoying.
Kate
I couldn't stop reading it because JUICY is the very word for its plot. The antiheroine Edith is vivid after the "Vanity Fair" model: Fellows develops her carefully so that you can sympathize with her as a human being-- but mostly she's so brash and selfinterested that you can hardly wait to see whether she'll Pull It Off or Get What She Deserves.
The language is smooth and witty, but--
and this is a big problem, I think-- in every chapter, on nearly every PAGE, Fellows tells you over and over AND
...more
rachael gibson
A typically upbeat romp through Fellowe's beloved English upper class.

It's certainly not the most engrossing book I've ever come across, but it's a fast-paced and fizzy read and made for a good holiday choice.

Unlike my friend and fellow reviewer Blair, I quite enjoyed the constant asides explaining aspects of upper-class society. Admittedly I'm pretty into all things posho, but I also found it interesting that all these rules were still in place in the relatively recent days of the 90s.

As for t
...more
Susan (the other Susan)
Downton Abby writer- producer shows us how they'd live in the here-and-now. Deliciously snide!
Susan
Snobs is one of the most straightforward stories of marriage and contentment that I have read. And considering that I've read an embarrassing number of romance novels, this is saying a lot.

In fact, in many ways Snobs reads like a romance novel told by the narrator of The Good Soldier, and succeeds in almost every aspect of a romance without the central Cinderella character ever falling in love with the rich aristocrat. Edith Lavery marries into the nobility, dreaming of prestige and lofty compan
...more
Jane
I had no idea that my whole family was embracing Downton Abbey while I was reading this book, nor did I know that this author is the creator of that phenomenon - I just got this at a yard sale! The writing is awesome. This view of British society could only be written by a society insider, which Julian Fellowes is, and a cynical one at that.

Some favorite excerpts:
And then there was her skin. The English, skin is, as a rule, the compliment of last resort, to be employed when there is nothing else
...more
Doug
I like Julian Fellowes' TV series Downton Abbey quite a bit, but unfortunately I bought this book before I realized that relatively little of what I like about the show is about the writing, particularly the plotting. It's almost uniformly excellently acted, and the production design is gorgeous. Certainly some of my emotional investment in Matthew and Mary's rocky relationship is thanks to the verbal sparring Fellowes laid out for them, but it's partly due to how Michele Dockery and Dan Stevens ...more
Glimmerfee
Edith Lavery hatte schon früh von ihrer Mutter Flausen in den Kopf gesetzt bekommen und so hat sie sich in ihr hübsches Köpfchen gesetzt, einen reichen und möglichst adligen Mann zu ehelichen. Das Schicksal lässt sie die Bekanntschaft mit dem Earl of Broughton machen und es dauert nicht lange, da baumelt der gutmütige Charles an ihrer Angel.

Der Autor Julian Fellowes überlässt es seinem Erzähler einen amüsierten Blick in die Welt des britischen Adels zu werfen, in der sich die nicht Eingeweihten
...more
Hannah
Excellent. I really liked this one. Julian Fellowes reminds me a great deal of a less cynical Evelyn Waugh with bits of Trollope thrown in for fun. I found several things rather striking for a modern book of this nature. One, there is no swearing. Second, he has a remarkable grasp of the worlds which he occupies but I found his commentary to apply broadly. He is very insightful. I found this book rather thought provoking.

For instance, the following comment addresses both the struggle between Eng
...more
Donna
Jan 10, 2009 Donna rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: readers who like the setting of Anne Perry novels; fans of Diana
Shelves: fiction
Well written (though not unique) story of middle class girl who marries into the British aristocracy and finds herself with a rather dull husband and veddy, veddy snooty inlaws. While not spectacular, I read this book in 24 hours, staying up quite late to finish it...if it held my attention that well, it couldn't be just fluff.

This might be considered a read-alike to Anne Perry, especially for someone (like me) who enjoys seeing how the aristocracy "works" especially in their relation to the "lo
...more
Snort
Equal part social satire, equal part comedy of manners – Julian Fellowes gives the classic Girl-Marries-Up story a run for the money. This debut novel is as predictable as it is delicious - neither the plot nor characters matter, but rather who they know and rub titled shoulders with.

"Snobs" chronicles the celebration, downfall then redemption of Edith Lavery, who snares the dim but wealthy Charles Broughton, much to the horror of the formidable Lady Uckfield, and scandalous delight of society a
...more
Jude
Julian Fellowes wrote the screenplay for Gosford Park- that was enough to make me pick this up. (I discovered his series Downton Abbey afterwards.)

The reader turned out to be absolutely perfect. Tho i eventually bought the book and of course it reads beautifully, this recording is an illustration of the unique and powerful experience a gifted narrator can offer.

And then there's the writing! Tho humorous and ironic (a friend astutely felt a bit of Jane Austen), and ostensibly a portrait of the b
...more
Shaunna
After being dazzled by two Julian Fellowes screenplays (Gosford Park, Downton Abbey), I had expected to find sparkling little gems of conversaton and observations reformed into this present-day setting. Instead, it was the average girl-meets-rich-boy-then-regrets-choosing-money-over-love kind of a story. The cliche roles of the looming mother-in-law matriarch, the overstuffed, rose-covered couch of a mother, the slightly slimy, ladder-climbing lover... all of it just exasperated me. After seeing ...more
Ross
I am just getting started, but already I am finding this a very funny book. Here is an example: This was a discussion around the practice of the English when asked if they knew some peer or other to repond "I have met them, but they wouldn't remember me", when they actually had not met them. here is the text from the book. "There is really no dishonesty in this. To an Englishman or woman the statement 'I have met them, but they wouldn't remember me' means 'I have never met them'."
The narator say
...more
Kittaroo
Un piacevole divertissement estivo. Leggero, pettegolo e spietato quanto basta per divertire.
Sicuramente adatto ai fan del popolo d'Albione, per tutti gli altri non so quanto interessante.
Unico commento negativo da fare è che l'autre, pur usando abbondantemente l'ironia, dipinge le classi sociali inglesi per stereotipi, come specie ben definite, assolutamente omogenee e coordinate al loro interno. Come se l'individualità fosse appannaggio esclusivo delle classi socialmente più umili.
O forse sa e
...more
Christine
This is charming story about the British upper class in today's world, and how some in the middle class manage to make the leap into the upper classes. Wonderfully read audio book. I give it a 4.5.
Christina
Most of us love Julian Fellowes from Gosford Park and of course Downton Abby. I had actually tried to read this book a few years ago but couldn't get past the first few chapters due to the narrative style of the main character. I found it recently in a used book store and, fresh on Downton Abby love, tried again. It's a story about the class system in England (big surprise!) and being someone not familiar with the difference between a Viscount, Earl, or Marchioness, I found it fascinating and di ...more
Hayley
A friend and fellow Downton Abbey viewer lent me this book for a vacation read, that did, for the most part, keep me amused. I knew what to expect: upper-middle classed London beauty "catches" a dull but sincere aristocrat and marries him to the consternation of his mother. A year into the marriage she's bored of her husband, bored of country village life, and barely able to tolerate her lot or her husband with grace.

Enter a film production crew using their grand home as a setting for a televis
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 99 100 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Downton Abbey Sum...: Bonus book! 2 17 Aug 03, 2014 04:12PM  
  • Up and Down Stairs: The History of the Country House Servant
  • 1939: The Last Season
  • Confusion
  • Love from Nancy
  • The Last Summer
  • Summertime
  • The Provincial Lady in London
  • Rose: My Life in Service to Lady Astor
  • High Wages
  • The World of Mr. Mulliner
  • Inheritance: The Story of Knole and the Sackvilles
  • Mad World: Evelyn Waugh and the Secrets of Brideshead
  • The Chronicles of Downton Abbey: A New Era
  • The Shooting Party
  • Cheerful Weather for the Wedding
  • The Family Tree
  • The Perfect Summer: England 1911, Just Before the Storm
  • The Anglo Files: A Field Guide to the British
8759
Julian Alexander Kitchener-Fellowes (Baron Fellowes of West Stafford), DL. English actor, novelist, screenwriter, and director.

Fellowes is the youngest son of Peregrine Fellowes (a diplomat and Arabist who campaigned to have Haile Selassie restored to his throne during World War II). Julian inherited the title of Lord of the Manor of Tattershall from his father, making him the fourth Fellowes to h
...more
More about Julian Fellowes...
Past Imperfect Downton Abbey: The Complete Scripts, Season One Gosford Park: The Shooting Script Downton Abbey: The Complete Scripts, Season Two The Curious Adventures of the Abandoned Toys

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »

“Leave three Englishmen in a room and they will invent a rule that prevents a fourth joining them.” 19 likes
“-prietenii, chiar animați de cele mai bune intenții, pot ucide multe iubiri inca din fașă-” 4 likes
More quotes…