Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sung In Blood” as Want to Read:
Sung In Blood
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Sung In Blood

3.32 of 5 stars 3.32  ·  rating details  ·  141 ratings  ·  17 reviews
Protector Jerhke has kept Shasessrre peaceful for hundreds of years. After his brutal murder, his son Rider tries to discover his father's murderer. Rider is helped in his search by his companions, as they battle against the agents of the mysterious Kralj Odehnal. But the murderous dwarf turns out to be an introduction to greater terror, as they match wits with Shai Khe, t ...more
Hardcover, 200 pages
Published November 1st 2006 by Night Shade Books (first published 1992)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sung In Blood, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Sung In Blood

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 277)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Originally reviewed at Bookwraiths Reviews

Sung in Blood is a little known work penned by Glen Cook, the author of such amazing series as The Black Company and The Dread Empire, and it was written by Mr. Cook for dissemination at a convention he appeared at in the 1990s, then later published in novel form. Truthfully, the book can be characterized as either a long novella or a very short novel, and while it has all the hallmark features of one of Cook’s traditional fantasy books, it lacks the us
A very, very minor effort from Cook. It reads like something dashed off in a weekend for some contractual purpose. There's no character development (not that that's ever been one of Cook's strengths); and the plot is a rehash of earlier and better work from his Black Company and Dread Empire novels (among others).

I can't really recommend this even for Cook fans. Unless you can find it in a library or really, really cheap and you like Cook don't waste your time or money on this one.

"Real" ratin
A fast-paced and playful standalone novella.
"That's what I've been waiting for all my life. A chance to go one on one with a guy so bad he scares himself when he walks past a mirror."

I discovered this novellete through Black Gate magazine. It was first published in the '90s by NESFA Press in recognition of the author's status as Guest of Honor at Boskone 27.
It is a mixture of pulp conventions, from the Phantom (the mantle), to Fu Manchu (the Oriental villainous mastermind) to Doc Savage (the Hero and his crew) in a low fantasy setting (no
This book was a fun read by a master of Fantasy, Glen Cook. It is somewhat different than his usual fantasy works. The main character, Rider, is reminiscence of Doc Savage and his follower remind me of Doc's men. If Doc had been in a world of swords and sorcery he and Rider would have been two of a kind. I recommend this book to Fans of Glen Cook and Doc Savage.
William Gerke
Glen Cook takes on the pulp hero genre with this homage to Doc Savage set in the fantastical city of Sasshere. Rider and his cohort investigate the assassination of Rider's father, the publicly-acclaimed Protector of the City. They uncover a conspiracy of evil that tests them to the limits. Mixing classically Cook-style magic, airships, and an urban landscape that's new to his works, Cook creates a short, lightweight, yet readable rendition of the classic pulp tropes (down the the hero's compani ...more
Paul McNamee
Short burst of Cook. A Doc Savage like team protects an Empire from an unsavory Fu Manchu like character - all in a fantasy setting as only Cook can create with imps and sorcery and airships powered by demons.
Some repetition and abrupt ending make it feel like an abandoned long novel, rather than a short novel. Some argue it would be better as a longer piece, I think it would be tighter with some trimming.
felt like the beginning of a series, but have found nothing to follow it, so far.
Probably the worst thing I've ever read by Glen Cook. That is to say only 4 or 4-1/2 stars instead of "Why am I limited to five" stars. The thing I liked less than usual was that the main protagonist is so good at everything. (And to a lesser extent, so are his friends) It's a murder mystery that turns into a kingdom security matter and there are unknown forces at work that seem like their discovery could have been the basis for another book or two, but since this was published eight years ago, ...more
Joshua Bizeau
This novella will undoubtedly never procure a sequel, something which this short action-packed fantasy adventure cries out for when the final paragraph has been digested. The ideas here in the book feel half-baked at best and practically scream to be explored in further context. Cook's prose is snappy and thrilling and while his usual care for detailed, fleshed-out characters is put by the wayside, the team of quirky protagonists on display here are fun none-the-less and a couple can certainly b ...more
Quite a strange book really - even for a Glen Cook book this lacked character development or world building (but that doesn’t seem to matter in his books) and the ending is almost as if he just decided to stop writing and wrapped it up as best he could. But it does work though. Definite potential for another series of books but I assume this won’t happen now (and it could well have been a practice run for the Black Company). It’s also not that long so you have to decide how much it’s worth payin ...more
Bard Bloom
I generally like Glen Cook's serious fantasy, like this. When I read it, I kept checking the date: it seemed like it must be his first book, from when he was learning to write. Actually, it's a somewhat later book, a quick thing he wrote for some specific occasion.

It's one of Cook's worst books. It's not bad, and if you're a Cook fan you might as well read it when you're out of other Cook books. But it's very shallow: all of Cook's usual flaws, and only faint versions of his usual virtues.
Justin J.
It started off so promisingly but quickly fell off. The world Cooks concocts is interesting enough with magically propelled airships and it's protectorate web, but Cook doesn't invest much time in character development that could have been overlooked by a rollicking good fast paced adventure, which never quite materializes. The story, villians and heroes are all second rate. By the middle of the book I found myself finishing it just finishing's sake.
Kyle Matsumura
The only problem with this book is that Glen Cook hasn't writen a sequel. It is quite simply one of my favorite books from with wit the usual intriguing characters, but alas, he hasn't done anything more with it. Come on Glen! Expand the world of Rider and his friends already!
Not too bad of a book, almost written like a short story, though longer and with a non-ending of sorts. His Black Company is still my favorite, but this feels more like an earlier work, that he was playing around with and just never finished up.
Ok fantasy. Doc Savage with magic. Not a bad read. (I'm a huge Doc Savage fan).
Mike Vermillion
Hard to believe that the great Glen Cook wrote this amateurish clutter of cliches.
Cj marked it as to-read
Nov 22, 2015
Tom Owen
Tom Owen marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2015
Matt marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2015
Katherine marked it as to-read
Oct 13, 2015
Geno Martinez
Geno Martinez marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2015
[Name Redacted]
[Name Redacted] marked it as to-read
Sep 03, 2015
Derek Bailey
Derek Bailey marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Art Of War (Chung Kuo Recast, #5)
  • Venice (Tom Swan and the Head of St George, #2)
  • Dragons on the Sea of Night (The Sunset Warrior Cycle, #5)
  • Land of the Dead
  • Harvest the Fire (Harvest of Stars, #3)
  • Once Around the Sun
  • Man Against the Future: 17 Topflight Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Yarns.
  • Dawn (Tales of Noreela, #2)
  • Farmer One
  • Pacazo
  • Circle of the Moon (Sisters of the Raven, #2)
  • A Rose-Red City
  • Death Sentences
  • Lost Classics: Writers on Books Loved and Lost, Overlooked, Under-read, Unavailable, Stolen, Extinct, or Otherwise Out of Commission
  • Silverheart
  • Best European Fiction 2012
  • The Castle of the Winds (Winter of the World, #4)
  • Paladins
Glen Cook was born in New York City, lived in southern Indiana as a small child, then grew up in Northern California. After high school he served in the U.S. Navy and attended the University of Missouri. He worked for General Motors for 33 years, retiring some years ago. He started writing short stories in 7th grade, had several published in a high school literary magazine. He began writing with m ...more
More about Glen Cook...

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »