Tales of the Night
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Tales of the Night

3.91 of 5 stars 3.91  ·  rating details  ·  528 ratings  ·  28 reviews
These stories, which vary in theme but all bear the mark of Peter Høeg's graceful and thoughtful prose, are set in eight separate corners of the world. On this fateful night, a young mathematician encounters Joseph Conrad during a train ride through the war-torn Congo in "Journey into a Dark Heart;" a pair of star-crossed lovers in Lisbon dance through their memories of th...more
Paperback, 272 pages
Published March 16th 1998 by Doubleday (first published January 1st 1990)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Tales of the Night, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Tales of the Night

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 991)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Katie
These short stories are linked by a common bond: each take place, sort of, on the night of March 19, 1929 (sometimes the narrator is in the future looking back at said night), and each is about love. Love in all its permutations: familial, unrequited, homosexual, lust, self-love, love of country, love in theory and in fact. Characters mostly try to define or expand their boundaries of love through science or art, and here a little research may be necessary--it was, at least, for me. As always, H...more
Phillip Edwards
Before he became an author Peter Høeg was a dancer, an actor, a fencer, a sailor, and a mountaineer. His experiences in those fields are apparent in this collection of eight short stories which are "concerned with love. Love and its conditions on the night of 19 March 1929."

When I first read Tales of the Night a few years ago, I had lost patience with short stories. The trend seemed to be to write stories that were all middle. No beginning and no end. But I loved this, and have been looking for...more
Madison
With many of short-story books that I have read, there's a very common theme of making many of the characters similar. There's not a lot of variation, and while the characters themselves are good, the intensity that comes with them is lessened every time a new story is created about them.

Such is not the cast in Tales of the Night, which was a deeply satisfying read. Each story was great in its own way, and very memorable, and having them all in one book was a treat. Peter Hoeg somehow managed t...more
Jenny
I think I'll be re-reading this book every year. I was absolutely blown away by these stories--rather dark, though that should not have been surprising, given the author. Each of his stories takes place on the same night (more or less), March 19, 1929, but in a different setting. Each one is partly about love (and not just the good parts of love), but also about truth and humanity. I'm concerned that this was not the best translation--it is certainly not in the vein of "Smilla..." or "Quiet Girl...more
Kate
I love to read books by learned writers whose books are also arresting. Based on this book and Smilla's Sense of Snow, I place Peter Hoeg in this category. Here in this book are stories, parables, tales of several types, and, always, places perfectly placed. In the first five stories, all of which are quite dense, I tried now and again to skim a bit. Never could, kept having to go back and read the entire paragraph I had attempted to just glance at. Every word matters. I love when I find this. I...more
Frankie
a little strange but a good read
Pick Wick
Buchbesprechung für "Das Venezianische Porträt" von Gustaw Herling

Der Titel lügt nicht. In der 50-seitigen Geschichte „Das venezianische Porträt“ geht es tatsächlich hauptsächlich um Venedig und Porträts.
Die Stadt ist eindeutig die Hauptfigur der Novelle und ist das Objekt der Liebe des Erzählers. Als Pole beschreibt er die Stadt als Tourist, obwohl man schnell versteht, dass er sich dort zu Hause fühlt. Venedig verfolgt ihn sein ganzes Leben und er wird immer zu ihr hingezogen. Die Restauratori...more
Linda Blinova
Хёг пишет на какой-то кромке между вымыслом и реальностью. Так, что становится непонятным, где одно и где другое. И что такое вообще реальность. Я хочу сказать, что есть книги, в которых ты точно знаешь, что автор «придумал», заранее к этому готов и даже при мастерстве последнего и поглощённости повествованием держишь определённую дистанцию, понимая, что всё это «не по-настоящему». А вот с ним непонятно, то ли это происходит, то ли у героя галлюцинации, и из реальности никто, кроме него, не выпа...more
Catherine
I nearly put this down when Conrad turned up in the first story: I'd not long finished Nostromo and decided I didn't like him. Hoeg's version of him in a situation which might have inspired Heart of Darkness did nothing to increase my sympathy. The connection between tales is tenuous - the event that actually occurs on the stated night may be little more than the telling of the tale (see others' reviews for synopses of each). I didn't like most of them much; the narrations felt flat and many of...more
Peter H. Fogtdal
Nov 08, 2008 Peter H. Fogtdal rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Lovers of Karen Blixen and intelectually challenging short stories.
This is probably the least known of Peter Høeg's books. Everybody raves about Smilla's Sense of Snow, but I like Tales of the Night much better, even though I'm not very happy with the translation.

Barbara Haveland who did an excellent job with Ib Michael's Prince doesn't have the same chemistry with Høeg's writing. But these tales that all take place in 1929 are still worth reading. They seem to be inspired by fellow Dane Karen Blixen/Isak Dinesen and they're equally good. Peter Høeg is an exce...more
Steve
This collection of short stories reveal both the creative talent of the writer, but also his frustrating penchant for imbuing his stories with just too many facets which leave the purpose behind the narrative too indeterminate. The two exceptional stories within the collection are 'The Story of a Marriage' and 'The Verdict on the Right Honourable Ignatio Landstad Rasker', which both contain wit and imagination in abundance, as well as a surprise ending. A couple of the other stories have a great...more
Liene
Stories that make you think!
summer61
This was a strange collection of short stories. Surreal, ominous, and most of the stories surprised me as I went along. If there was a theme, it was probably one of confident Danes -- artists, writers, ballet dancers, townspeople -- having their assumptions totally busted. A short book, but it took me forever to read; that's usually a bad sign, but it was definitely intriguing enough to keep going.
Laura
I love this book dearly and re-read it every year. Even though I have read the short stories in this book so many times, I always discover something I had missed before. This is one of the few (the only?) books I have ever read that seems just as magical as it did when I first read it eight years ago. Unfortunately this book is out of print, but used copies are floating around.
Leslie
Much to my surprise, I really enjoyed these short stories. I didn't love Hoeg's big hit Smilla's Sense of Snow so I wasn't expecting these to be as enchanting as they turned out to be.
August
I LOVE this book. Creative, intelligent, surprising twists. Each chapter is its own story, and there were only a couple that were so-so. Every story in this book takes place on the same night under the full moon.
Hanna Juhl
I read it many years ago, but in spite of the short stories being a bit difficult, they are all so different, that there is one for everyone to like, I think.
A great example of magical realism!!
Isla McKetta
Something happens under the plane of Hoeg's writing that allows for an indescribable richness. Each of these stories is individually brilliant, and collectively... I don't have words...
Tyra
Dreamy in a magical realism sort of way, steeped in a Danish sensibility and confidence.

Stories that drift through my brain, puffs of air on summer curtains.
sanita erharde
Fascinējoši, ka tik mazā lappušu skaitā izteikts tik daudz. Noteikti lūkošu atrast vēl tulkotus šī autora darbus.
Kelda
I read this awhile ago, in particular remember liking a story "An Experiment on the Constancy of Love"
Rebekka Steg
Beautiful collection of stories that all deal with the darker sides of love. Thoughtprovoking.
Oskars
Kaut vai tikai viena stāsta dēļ ir vērts. Hēga spalvai piemīt vēriens.
Per
probaly one of the best danish "storytellers" if not the best.
Nona
this book made me completely worship Peter Hoeg. I still do.
Dragana
Whimsical, sophisticated story collection.
Mickie
When only the story matters.
Natalia
Read first story.
Trine
Trine marked it as to-read
Aug 28, 2014
Ana Milosevic
Ana Milosevic is currently reading it
Aug 29, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 33 34 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Eksil (Africa Trilogy #1)
  • Last Tales
  • The Safety Net
  • Volvo Lastvagnar
  • Don't Read This Book If You're Stupid: Stories
  • Doghead
  • Herr Arnes penningar
  • In a German Pension: 13 Stories
  • Sculptor's Daughter
  • Popular Music from Vittula
  • Hærværk
  • The Death of the Moth and Other Essays
  • Ved Vejen
  • Collected Stories
  • The Exception
  • 100 Hair-Raising Little Horror Stories
  • The Cloning of Joanna May
  • Jack Kerouac: King of the Beats
369288
Peter Høeg was born in Copenhagen, Denmark. Before becoming a writer, he worked variously as a sailor, ballet dancer, and actor. He published his first novel, A History of Danish Dreams (1988), to positive reviews. However, it was Smilla’s Sense of Snow (1992), a million-copy best seller, that earned Høeg immediate and international literary celebrity. His books have been published in more than th...more
More about Peter Høeg...
Smilla's Sense of Snow Borderliners The Quiet Girl The Woman and the Ape The Elephant Keepers' Children

Share This Book

“It may be necessary to stand on the outside of one is to see things clearly.” 13 likes
“The great systems that inform the world about the truth and life invariably claim to be absolutely truthful and well-balanced. In reality they are quaking bridges built out of yearning.” 5 likes
More quotes…