Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Tut: The Story of My Immortal Life” as Want to Read:
Tut: The Story of My Immortal Life
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Tut: The Story of My Immortal Life

by
4.1 of 5 stars 4.10  ·  rating details  ·  39 ratings  ·  13 reviews
Tut: The Story of My Immortal Life is a funny, fast-paced novel for young readers by P.J. Hoover which chronicles the mischievous adventures of King Tut, now an immortal eighth-grader living in Washington, D.C..

You’d think it would be great being an Egyptian demigod, but if King Tut has to sit through eighth grade one more time, he’ll mummify himself.

Granted the gift of im...more
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published September 16th 2014 by Starscape/Tor/Macmillan
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Tut, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Tut

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 787)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Katie M
I have been waiting for AGES for this book to come out. There are doodles in the margins of my notebooks in sixth grade three years ago that say "Tut" on them, and mentions of shabtis in my notes. This book has been my favorite since I read it as a beta reader, and I even had to dig it out and reread it once.

Tut is a character you'll want to meet in real life. Gil is the older guardian/mentor/brother/best friend you'll wish you had and will pretend you do. There are mad Egyptian generals, evil...more
Dawn Teresa
Move over Harry Potter. Stand back Percy Jackson. There’s a new kid hero in town. Only he’s not the “boy who lived” or a half-god/half-boy — he’s immortal! Tut’s the name, as in Tutankhamon. You think you know the story of King Tut, but you have no idea. You see, the storied Egyptian Boy King wasn’t actually killed and buried in the tomb. Who was? Well, as P.J. Hoover says in her afterword, that’s another story! Tut will hate me for that “boy king” remark, so I’ll make it up to him by letting yo...more
Madeline Smoot
After three thousand years stuck as a fourteen year old, Tut has a pretty good life. He's rich, lives with his protector Gil and the god Horus and has his devoted clay shabiti from his tomb to wait on him hand and foot. The worst thing in his life is the fact that Gil has convinced him to endure eighth grade. Again. Then, Tut goes to the museum exhibit with the items from his tomb, and things start going downhill fast.

A fun run through DC and Egyptian mythology, this book is another great advent...more
Ms. Yingling
We first meet Tut in Ancient Egypt, where he is trying to get away from his evil uncle Horemheb, but as we all know, Tut does not escape. However, he is immortal, and doomed to spend eternity at 14, being constantly in the 8th grade! He and his guardian, Gil, have an apartment in Washington, D.C., where they live with Horus (who stays in the form of a one-eyed cat, but talks) and Tut's shabtis, who keep things clean and take care of Tut. After a trip to see a Tut exhibit, Tut has a project that...more
Matt
The story of Tut's life? Hardly. A more appropriate title might have been, one inch in Tut's immortal life. Because while we see places where Tut's life offered adventure (the Crusades are one of the places), we don't get those. What we get, is a modern Tut; this caters to the YA audience. I think Hoover has such an amazing context that she could pick up from any of these places if she ever wanted to continue Tut's story, or rather give him an adventurous alternative history novel.

Overall, I'd...more
David
I know what you are thinking, this is another Rick Riordan modern day demigod type story well guess what. This book has nothing to do with demigods at all, I will say this not only do the gods of Egypt exist but so do other gods from other pantheons walk among us as well. Tut: The Story of my immortal from beginning to end, is a great read if you love mythology especially egyptian mythology you will definitely enjoy this book. Take it from me I read this book in 2 days and I absolutely love book...more
Megan
I really enjoyed this. A mix of Lightening Thief and Dan Brown for Middle grade readers the book had fun Egyptian mythology and fast paced adventure. Tut as you can guess is King Tutankhamen who is immortal but that means remaining 14 for the several thousand years. He hasn't learned much during that time and is still irritatingly foolish and obsessed with revenge. Luckily he learns a few things along the way with the help of a few mortal friends.

I wasn't happy with the ending. It is clear ther...more
Kim Baccellia
Fun take on an immortal Tut! Humorous dialogue and fast action scenes that take place in the underground of Washington DC!
Zachary Riley
A fast fun adventure perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter. Egyptian mythology, the boy king, adventure...it's perfect for any kid out there.
Cassandra
This was an amazing book. I really loved it and I would recommend it to all my friends.
Mrs.Melaugh Melaugh
So, it turns out that King Tut didn’t die back in ancient Egypt. Rather, the god Osiris kept Tut from dying and gave him immortal life. Tut has been stuck as a fourteen-year-old ever since. Unfortunately, the god Set gave Tut’s advisor, Horemheb, eternal life also. For over 2000 years, Tut has wanted revenge on Horemheb for murdering his family. Now his chance may have come if he can only track down a particular knife with special powers. Like any fourteen-year-old, Tut has an unfortunate habit...more
Carolinedkc
TUT was an interesting book regarding all the mythological aspects. I like that the author chose Young Pharaoh Tut to talk about and created him a life we actually don't know about.
His Tut is an interesting and funny character (as is everything that is happening to him).
I'm pretty sure Young people will love to read about Egyptian mythology and Tut wanting, certainly, to know more about it all.

Though, I have to say that the story/action was really too repetitve (always the same dialogs, the same...more
Chelsea
Hoover's adventure/fantasy series has plenty of action and links to history and mythology to keep young fans of Percy Jackson happy. Historical facts are understandably set aside in favor of an alternate reality in which Tut is an immortal teenager living in contemporary America. Tut himself doesn't come across as a particularly distinct character, but most readers will be content with the adventure, humorous sidekicks, and swift-moving plot. A good option for those looking for a new series.
JPR™
JPR™ marked it as to-read
Oct 20, 2014
Beizal
Beizal marked it as to-read
Oct 19, 2014
Jarvis Weng
Jarvis Weng marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2014
M.j.
M.j. marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2014
Alison
Alison marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2014
Anastasiia Sevriukova
Anastasiia Sevriukova marked it as to-read
Oct 13, 2014
Mesdi
Mesdi marked it as to-read
Oct 13, 2014
Camille
Camille marked it as to-read
Oct 12, 2014
Belmiro
Belmiro marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2014
Jennifer Rummel
Jennifer Rummel marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2014
Iftekhar
Iftekhar marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2014
Paige
Paige marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2014
Sairam
Sairam marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2014
Justine
Justine marked it as to-read
Oct 06, 2014
Pamela
Pamela marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 26 27 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Map to Everywhere (The Map to Everywhere, #1)
  • Into the Fire
  • Hook's Revenge (Hook's Revenge, #1)
  • A Murder of Magpies
  • Creed
  • The Fires of Calderon (The Balance Keepers, #1)
  • The Executioner's Daughter
  • The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
  • The Glass Arrow
  • Begin Again
  • Pretending to Be Erica
  • Blood and Salt
  • Untitled (The Goldscryer Saga, #1)
  • Monstrous
  • Atlantia
  • Winter Falls (Twin Willows, #1)
  • Salt & Storm
  • Adrenaline Crush
965908
P. J. Hoover first fell in love with Greek mythology in sixth grade thanks to the book Mythology by Edith Hamilton. After a fifteen year bout as an electrical engineer designing computer chips for a living, P. J. decided to take her own stab at mythology and started writing books for kids and teens. P. J. is a member of THE TEXAS SWEETHEARTS & SCOUNDRELS. When not writing, P. J. spends time wi...more
More about P.J. Hoover...
Solstice The Emerald Tablet (The Forgotten Worlds, #1) The Navel of the World (The Forgotten Worlds, # 2) The Necropolis (The Forgotten Worlds, #3) Dear Teen Me: Authors Write Letters to Their Teen Selves

Share This Book