Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Spellspam (Worldweavers, #2)” as Want to Read:
Spellspam (Worldweavers, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Spellspam (Worldweavers #2)

3.88 of 5 stars 3.88  ·  rating details  ·  236 ratings  ·  17 reviews
What do you get when ordinary e-mail spam becomes infused with magic?


At first, they seemed like harmless practical jokes, but now, for the students at the Wandless Academy, the spellspams are getting worse. Thea thought she was the only one who could reach through the computer using magic, but someone else is out there, someone bent on more than just stirring up
Published March 1st 2008 by Eos
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Spellspam, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Spellspam

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 451)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Dixie A.
Second in the series, the series is about the ordinary world, except with magic, and the adventures of a girl who has no magic going to a school for the non-magical. In this book, someone has figured out how to transmit magic through computers in the form of spam that actually has results. For instance, a spam that promises clearer skin turns someone's skin transparent. While many of the spams are mere pranks, some are dangerous, such as the teleportation spam that sends a dryad away from her tr ...more
Shari  Mulluane
If anything, this book is better then the first and that is saying alot. The only reason why I even say it now is because Thea is growing up and it shows. Gone is the insecure girl of book one and instead we get to experience a teenager developing her own sense of self worth. She is also developing definite leadership abilities.

I have to give Alma Alexander some well-deserved credit here. She does a wonderful job with personalities, how they mesh, and how they conflict. I love a book where each
Jun 13, 2008 Thomas rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Young adult and up
Shelves: fantasy, young-adult
This is a continuation of a story that starts with Alma's first Worldweavers book as 15-year-old Thea continues to discover the unique nature of the magic within her soul. Unlike the first book, which seemed to have a trite threat in the Nothing (something that reminded me far too much of the film, The NeverEnding Story), this story has a larger threat, not so much to humanity, but to Thea herself. While the first book drew me in, I remained an observer of this story, no longer touched by the my ...more
Melissa Hayden
It's the next year with everyone back at the Wandless Academy. A girl, LaTasha, runs screaming from the Library. To Thea she looked like she had no skin on her face just the muscles. Thea finds the spam email LaTasha read still on the computer screen; guaranteeing clearer skin than you can image. Could there be a spell involved? Here at the Wandless Academy where no one can do magic. And from through the computers where magic can't affect any one... Is Thea going to be the one blamed for all the ...more
Alma Alexander fuses together magic and technology in this great sequel to gift of the unmage. I love the facets of the alternate universe she creates, set in a world much like our own, yet one in which magic conexists along with modern technology with out touching. Well, except in the case of the protagonist, Thea. The concept of using magic through technology, like sending curses through the email for instance, was so different from the way magic works in the other books I've read that after r ...more
April Helms
We are all familiar with e-mail spam, that annoying componant of e-mail, where at best you are bombarded with ads for the latest pills, Rolex watches and...other things. Some of the nastier ones can carry viruses that wreck havoc with your computer. But what if there was a way to send magic spells via e-mail?
This isn't supposed to be possible, especially at the Wandless Academy, but as Thea watches, her classmates start feeling the effects of various and malicious spellspam. Thea and her friends
This book was a lot better than the first one--the pacing was much more even, and the story fit together much better. Thea's magic still doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me, but maybe it's not supposed to. The book wasn't spectacular, but it was entertaining; if I could, I would give it a 3.5. I liked the de los Reyes family and their Elemental house. I'm also still wondering who Thea is going to fall for, if anybody--it's kind of refreshing to read a book for teen girls that is not obsessiv ...more
Thea is supposed to be the only one who can use computers to do magic---which is why it's so disturbing when people start getting emails that look like ordinary spam but have a spell payload attached. The spellspam ranges from amusing to dangerous, but far worse are its implications. Somehow, someone else has found a way to use computers to do magic. And the spellspam has to be stopped before it turns deadly.

If the first book was a launching ground for Thea into a world of ancient myths and mode
Once again, a thoroughly enjoyable read. It took a while to get going, but once momentum was established it was terrific, and carried a surprising emotional weight at the end. Definitely for fans of Madeline L'Engle and Diane Duane's Wizard series.
Amanda Knauss
I liked it even more than the first. I'm really learning a lot from Alexander's style and my opinion of her as an author has gone up even more. Great book and series! I have to admit I'm even starting to ship some characters!
Wow. I'm surprised at how much I like this book. When I first got it, I thought, "Aw, it won't be good, but I might as well read it." But wow, it was actually pretty awesome.
A Spellspam!! incredible, who would have thought. The words were well played with in the spellspam - hidden and twisted meanings. But overall this book made me keep on reading it.
A cool idea - magical spam email that gives the term virus a whole new meaning - but it didn't quite live up to the first in the series. Still, I have already started book 3.
Jenna Thomas-mckie
One of those rare sequels that is even better than the first novel in the series. If you enjoy magic, mysteries, and clever word play, this is definitely a book you need to check out.
This book was so good. It was such a fast paced book, I harldy was able to set it down for more than a few hours at a time.
Samantha Hastings
Sequel to "Gift of the Unmage." Read my review in School Library Journal.
Very creative premise--magic attached to spam e-mail.
Jørgen Gangfløt
Jørgen Gangfløt marked it as to-read
Sep 15, 2015
Mimi marked it as to-read
Sep 14, 2015
Carl marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2015
Beiza added it
Aug 29, 2015
Emma marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2015
Jennifer Brown
Jennifer Brown marked it as to-read
Aug 13, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 15 16 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
What was your favorite spam in this book? 1 7 Jun 12, 2009 09:25PM  
  • Tiger's Blood (Tiger's Apprentice, #2)
  • A Wizard of Mars (Young Wizards, #9)
  • Warriors of Alavna (Warriors, #1)
  • Avielle Of Rhia
  • Tiger Moon
  • Pandemonium
  • The Remarkable & Very True Story of Lucy & Snowcap
  • RuneWarriors (RuneWarriors, #1)
  • Doomraga's Revenge (Merlin's Dragon trilogy, #2)
  • Stealing Death
  • Rogue's Home (Knight and Rogue, #2)
  • Flinx of the Commonwealth (Pip & Flinx, #1,3,5)
  • World's End (Phoenix Rising, #3)
  • Guinevere's Gamble (Chrysalis Queen Quartet, #2)
  • The Other Book
  • Miss Bianca in the Salt Mines (The Rescuers, #4)
  • Piper at the Gate
  • The Frost Child (The Navigator Trilogy, #3)
ALMA ALEXANDER is a novelist who writes for both adults ("The Secrets of Jin Shei", "Embers of Heaven", "Midnight at Spanish Gardens", "The Hidden Queen", "Changer of Days") and YA audiences (the Worldweavers trilogy, "Gift of the Unmage", "Spellspam", "Cybermage","Dawn of Magic" - as well as the new series, The Were Chronicles, "Random", "Wolf" and "Shifter")

Her work has been translated into 14
More about Alma Alexander...

Other Books in the Series

Worldweavers (4 books)
  • Gift of the Unmage (Worldweavers, #1)
  • Cybermage (Worldweavers, #3)
  • Dawn of Magic (Worldweavers, #4)

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »

“You have never felt the weight of disappointing love or of failing to live up to expectations. The only thing you've ever been is lonely by yourself-you have no idea how desperate it is to be lonely in the midst of people who love you, and whom you would have done anything to make happy..” 2 likes
More quotes…