Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Henderson's Spear” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
Henderson's Spear
Ronald Wright
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Henderson's Spear

3.47 of 5 stars 3.47  ·  rating details  ·  60 ratings  ·  10 reviews
In the tradition of Melville and Stevenson, a superb storyteller -- winner of the David Higham Prize for Fiction -- brings literary art of great range and beauty to a South Seas epic. Two tales of passion and intrigue, from the 1890s and the 1990s, reach around the world from Canada, England and West Africa to converge in the Polynesian islands.

The story opens as a letter
Published May 21st 2010 by Vintage Canada (first published August 28th 2001)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Henderson's Spear, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Henderson's Spear

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 126)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Shannon (Giraffe Days)
Brilliantly bringing together two stories of travel, adventure and family secrets that bring our heroine and her ancestor to the South Pacific Islands, Ronald Wright delivers a truly believable tale told in two distinct voices that will hold your interest right to the end.

Olivia's world has narrowed to the inside of the Arue Women's Prison on the South Pacific island of Tahiti. It is 1990, and her search for her father, a pilot who went missing in action during the Korean War, has brought her he
Sarah Beth
Liv, a Canadian filmmaker, is writing to the daughter she gave up for adoption years before from her jail cell in Tahiti. Liv tells her daughter her life story, growing up in England, surrounded by the historical artifacts of her father's ancestor, Frank Henderson, brought back from his travels in Africa. Liv's father disappeared in the Korean War and is presumed dead. But after Liv's mother's death, she discovers evidence that leads her suspect that her father (or is he?) didn't actually die du ...more
Robert Beveridge
Ronald Wright, Henderson's Spear (Henry Holt, 2002)

Liv Wyvern has a problem (well, aside from that of having been beaten up every day after school for having a name like Liv Wyvern). She's in jail in Tahiti on suspicion of murder, having gone down to track down her father, who's been MIA since the Korean War. She's recently been tracked down by her twenty-two-year-old daughter, whom she gave up for adoption shortly after her birth, and is now attempting to write a letter to that daughter explain
Lisa Rathbun
Still reading, but wanted to jot down these quotes:

"Words bring one nearer to the past than pictures ever can. Images emphasize the farness of that other country, make it seem more outlandish than it really was, a silent film where troops march jerkily to battle and die like puppets. But words show it to you through the eyes of its inhabitants, make you wait in a sodden dawn for the shout to go over the top."

"Memories do not decay at a uniform atomic rate. Happiness has the shortest half-life,
Largely overwritten...some glorious prose does not make up for a plot that drags,has improbable events and sinks under the weight of the author's ambitions.
Terrific epistolatory novel that conjures all sorts of ghosts: Conrad, Maugham, Edgar Wallace (African novels) and Robert Louis Stevenson to name a few. Set in the 1880s and 1980s, the novel takes us back and forward on a rewarding tour through British and French colonial history, as the main protagonist attempts to trace the line between the father she hardly knew and the child she gave up for adoption at birth. Wonderful story-telling, remarkable settings from Africa to the Pacific, and some v ...more
Would have rather given this a 3 1/2 stars, but couldn't bring myself to say I "really liked it" by giving it 4 stars, so just put 3 stars. I really liked PARTS of the book, but there were areas I struggled with, particularly with Henderson's story. I also had to keep going back in the chapters to remind myself what was going on, since the story flip-flopped from past to present. It was still very interesting though, and loved learning a ton about the South Pacific islands.
Another historical fiction with a parallel structure. Olivia writes her daughter from jail and Henderson wrote his wife in the past. Their stories connect in Tahiti. I enjoy the complex structure, but it is becoming a common way of organizing fiction, I think.
Melissa Long
Melissa Long marked it as to-read
Oct 06, 2015
Yasmin Foster
Yasmin Foster marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2015
Sylvia marked it as to-read
May 27, 2015
Andre Mitchell
Andre Mitchell marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Elisa marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2015
Cheryl marked it as to-read
Oct 10, 2014
Diane marked it as to-read
Sep 13, 2014
Doreen Cooke
Doreen Cooke is currently reading it
Sep 11, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Ronald Wright is a Canadian author who has written books of travel, history and fiction. His nonfiction includes the bestseller Stolen Continents, winner of the Gordon Montador Award and chosen as a book of the year by the Independent and the Sunday Times. His first novel, A Scientific Romance, won the 1997 David Higham Prize for Fiction and was chosen a book of the year by the Globe and Mail, the ...more
More about Ronald Wright...
A Short History of Progress Stolen Continents: 500 Years of Conquest and Resistance in the Americas A Scientific Romance What is America?: A Short History of the New World Order Time Among the Maya: Travels in Belize, Guatemala, and Mexico

Share This Book