The ScandalMonger
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

The ScandalMonger

3.0 of 5 stars 3.00  ·  rating details  ·  3 ratings  ·  1 review
From his further explorations of the Age of Scandal, T. H. White has returned with some remarkable specimens. The eccentrics among them are hardly more conspicuous than the men and women who, at this distance, seem representative of the eighteenth century. They had no, or few, inhibitions. At work or play, in debt or in love, they expended a vitality which we should find i...more
Hardcover, 223 pages
Published 1952 by Jonathan Cape
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The ScandalMonger, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The ScandalMonger

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-6 of 6)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Courtney Johnston
The first book I've added to Goodreads - I'm so obscure ...

The Scandalmonger is the sequel to The Age of Scandal, White's first piecebook bringing together amusing, outrageous and poignant extracts from letters, diaries and other publications from England of the late 18th and early 19th century - after the Age of Reason, and before the Victorian era.

Love the Once and Future King I do, but I feel that White himself may have been harder for me to feel a fondness for. The earlier book is described...more
John marked it as to-read
May 12, 2014
Rachel Williamson
Rachel Williamson marked it as to-read
Jan 08, 2014
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Born in Bombay to English parents, Terence Hanbury White was educated at Cambridge and taught for some time at Stowe before deciding to write full-time. White moved to Ireland in 1939 as a conscientious objector to WWII, and lived out his years there. White is best known for his sequence of Arthurian novels, "The Once and Future King", first published together in 1958.
More about T.H. White...
The Once and Future King (The Once and Future King #1-4) The Sword in the Stone (The Once and Future King, #1) The Book of Merlyn (The Once and Future King, #5) The Once and Future King (The Once and Future King, #1-5) Mistress Masham's Repose

Share This Book