Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Man by a tree” as Want to Read:
Man by a tree
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read eBook

Man by a tree

by
it was ok 2.0  ·  Rating Details ·  1 Rating  ·  0 Reviews
Put a tree on your shelf :-)

"I have to say; what a superbly originally fantastic piece of writing. It's as though someone put a rocket up Terry Pratchett's derriere and then fired him into a drunken Adams. Captivating, humorous, easy-to-read and thought provoking... And there's clearly some very deep latent messages here about us mere mortals." J. Owen

Take a devilish romp
...more
Paperback, 220 pages
Published January 10th 2012 by CreateSpace
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Man by a tree, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Man by a tree

Community Reviews

(showing 1-46)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Henrik
Apr 11, 2012 Henrik rated it it was amazing
Man by a tree is a book that revolves around the character Graham Reader, a.k.a the Grim Reaper. Graham is collecting souls, transporting them to the afterlife, in order to get his wings. What he doesn't know yet, is that there is a plan to change the status quo between the 'up above' and the 'down below', which will put him in the right middle of things. There is also the story about a struggling musician, who is thinking if he will ever be able to make it (i.e becoming successful). These ...more
Tom Adams
Feb 01, 2012 Tom Adams rated it it was amazing
For a book not in the shops, this is a bloody good read. I had to buy it online, but I'm glad I did. Thoroughly engrossing. Particularly liked the way the plotlines built up to a crescendo by the end. I felt I was watching a movie.
Loved it. Reading it over again.
This should be in the shops, some big distributor should get their hands on this. But I'm happy. I've got a copy now.
Rated 5/5
Juliaj
Feb 01, 2012 Juliaj rated it it was amazing
It took a few pages to get the hang of the multiple 'heads' but after that, I couldn't put it down until the end! Excellent, original, wacky, some great observations, some just plain dumb.
I recommend anyone to go and read this.
Dani Caile
Jun 28, 2012 Dani Caile rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
On the surface, this book is a good read, making a statement about how we live in the 21st century. Under the surface, it's saying a whole lot more. It's more than just a book about hobgoblins and angels and devils and God, it's commenting on the whole scheme of things, civilisation, people, life (and death).
And I can only repeat what others have said about this book...
“a crazy, mixed up, hysterically weird concept… wow well done” AuroraNemesis
“very imaginative, creative and funny” Fr. Ambrose
”c
...more
Christoph Fischer
Oct 09, 2013 Christoph Fischer rated it it was amazing
"Man by a Tree" by Dani J. Caile is an entertaining and clever short novel in the tradition of Douglas Adams, Monthy Python and Terry Pratchett.
It playfully concerns God, Death, Satan and some angels in their daily routine of doing their job. Trying to see those mythical creatures as human or employees with job descriptions and a sense of humour worked remarkably well for me. Unlike other works in the religious parody/ fantasy spectrum Caile never turns disrespectful or offensive, his story is m
...more
Brandt
Brandt rated it it was amazing
Aug 26, 2013
Alan Hardy
Alan Hardy rated it it was amazing
Aug 26, 2013
Tim Meekins
Tim Meekins rated it it was ok
Sep 18, 2016
Ursula
Ursula rated it really liked it
Apr 07, 2014
Tony Rand
Tony Rand rated it it was amazing
Aug 26, 2013
Casey Harvell
Casey Harvell rated it it was amazing
Aug 26, 2013
Sheryl Seal
Sheryl Seal rated it it was amazing
Aug 26, 2013
Heather
Heather rated it it was amazing
Apr 30, 2014
William O'Brien
William O'Brien rated it it was amazing
Aug 26, 2013
Dirk Morel
Dirk Morel rated it it was ok
Dec 26, 2014
Sonya Dodd
Sonya Dodd rated it it was amazing
Aug 26, 2013
Jams Roses
Jams Roses rated it it was amazing
Aug 26, 2013
Anita
Anita rated it it was amazing
Mar 10, 2012
Ila
Ila marked it as to-read
Feb 05, 2012
Paula
Paula marked it as to-read
Feb 06, 2012
Santana
Santana marked it as to-read
Feb 12, 2012
Dani Caile
Apr 16, 2012 Dani Caile added it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Rachel
Rachel marked it as to-read
Apr 16, 2012
Teressa
Teressa marked it as to-read
May 06, 2013
Catherine
Catherine marked it as to-read
May 23, 2012
Jessica
Jessica marked it as to-read
Jan 22, 2013
Hester
Hester marked it as to-read
Mar 25, 2013
Iroulito91
Iroulito91 marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2013
Niaka
Niaka marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2013
Peter John
Peter John marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2013
Julia
Julia marked it as to-read
Aug 27, 2013
Danielle Evans
Danielle Evans marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2013
Dawn
Dawn marked it as to-read
Oct 14, 2013
Amelia
Amelia marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2014
Jessica Litton
Jessica Litton marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2014
Melissa
Melissa marked it as to-read
Feb 07, 2014
Ellie Red
Ellie Red marked it as to-read
Feb 21, 2014
Fenia
Fenia marked it as to-read
Feb 21, 2014
Perspehone
Perspehone marked it as to-read
Feb 28, 2014
Beppe DM
Beppe DM marked it as to-read
May 24, 2014
Sarah
Sarah marked it as to-read
Sep 10, 2014
Paolo Caracciolo
Paolo Caracciolo marked it as to-read
Nov 20, 2014
Sweetpea
Sweetpea marked it as to-read
Mar 16, 2015
Barbara Bailey
Barbara Bailey marked it as to-read
Jul 17, 2015
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
5621386
English teacher and proofreader turned amateur fantasy fiction writer. Worked on a 4 and a 1/2 book humourous fantasy series based on a sardonic Neoplantonic world through the ages, dealing with problems in the 21st century. All books have been written to great acclaim (though not many people have read them yet)...
More about Dani J. Caile...

Share This Book