Synthetic Dreams
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Synthetic Dreams

by
3.89 of 5 stars 3.89  ·  rating details  ·  47 ratings  ·  20 reviews

Vynessa Somerton was just a girl when she learned about true evil. An encounter with the tyrannical Corporation scarred her body and exiled her to the crime-ridden S-District. Now an adult, Vyn creates glamours, worn by those who visit a virtual playground to live synthetic dreams. She's tried to stay unnoticed by the Corporation, but her latest invention has brought their

...more
ebook, 110 pages
Published (first published February 1st 2012)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Synthetic Dreams, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Synthetic Dreams

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 145)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Marlene
See all my reviews at http://www.readingreality.net/
If there are no such things as demons, which is something that the main character states unequivocally in Kim Knox' new cyberpunk science fiction romance thriller, Synthetic Dreams, then why are the hackers named after the Celtic demons of yore, the Fomorians?

But the real demon is Ouroboros. The worm of legend that eats his own tail. Confused? So was I--for a bit.

Synthetic Dreams paints a fascinating picture of a future world where the rich and...more
Jess the Romanceaholic
This is a Quickie Review. For the full review, please visit The Romanceaholic.

Expected Release Date: February 27, 2012 (Available Now!)
Publisher: Harlequin
Imprint: Carina Press
Author’s Website: http://darknessandromance.com/
My Source for This Book: Netgalley
Part of a Series: No
Series Best Read In Order: N/A
Steam Level: Steamy

This one was a hard one for me to rate. On one hand, I absolutely adored the world that Ms. Knox has created, with both its strong emphasis on virtual reality and its gritt...more
Book Utopia
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Calisto
Mar 09, 2012 Calisto rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Fans of scifi romance
Really good scifi/futuristic romance.

Vynessa is a scarred programmer who creates glamors for a virtual playground. She has just created the ultimate glamor that brings the tyrannical Corporation in charge of her world crashing to her door. Enter Paul, the Corporation man who is more than he appears to be.

I have to say that I've had really good luck with Carina Press and their scifi romances and this is a perfect example. Scifi romances need a little more than then the average romance because the...more
Jen (Red Hot Books)
Kim Knox has created an interesting and unique world in this sci-fi novella. In a futuristic/ alternative Britain, people spend much of their time in a virtual world. Many use glamours to enhance their looks, but the good glamours are often illegal. Vyn is badly scarred in the real world. She used her own skills to create better glamours for herself in "the Mind," but she was busted and sent to live her life in the slums.

It's been seven years since then, and now Vyn has almost perfected a new de...more
Ally
Synthetic dreams book review March 24th 2012

When hiding your imperfections with glamour’s and dream space is the place to be …or not be is the premise of your book you know you’re struck gold. Kim Knox’s synthetic dreams is set in a futuristic world where glamour is not the stuff of Faery-tales but virtual reality and Vyn is the girl to get this awesome tech from.

The corporation and its corrupt first families set the rules and play the game, a game which Vyn used to play and still plays as this...more
Tammy
4 1/2 Stars!! If you looked up the definition of Science-Fiction Romance, it should simply say "Kim Knox." She really delivers a creative story with extraordinary world building. This is my second story by Knox, the first being Gambit. Gambit was a completely different world from Synthetic Dreams, which totally adds to my adoration of her strong world building.

We meet Vyn in the opening scene as she is testing out a new product (a glamour) at a club making her appear as a sexy blonde. In walks o...more
Sobia
4.5 stars....okay, seriously awesome stuff here..It was just so so good!
Synthetic dreams took me completely be surprise, it's so,so far beyond what I was expecting, I'm still reeling! it's a well told engrossing read...with strong, interesting characters...


I'd have given it 5 stars but for a few things:

it's so so good, it really should have been longer, these characters, and this amazing SFR tale could have easily been at least a hundred pages longer. Add to that, the story is only told through...more
E_bookpushers
Review originally posted at: http://thebookpushers.com/2012/02/28/...

Publisher: Carina Press
Publish Date: Out now
How I got this book: From the Publisher via Netgalley

Vynessa Somerton was just a girl when she learned about true evil. An encounter with the tyrannical Corporation scarred her body and exiled her to the crime-ridden S-District. Now an adult, Vyn creates glamours, worn by those who visit a virtual playground to live synthetic dreams. She’s tried to stay unnoticed by the Corporation, b...more
Jessica Strider
Pros: good pacing, tense moments, intricate plot, hot romance

Cons: limited worldbuilding, stereotypical characters

Vynessa Somerton grew up in N-District, a privileged member of society, who fell from grace for selling illegal glamor. Now she lives in S-District and struggles to survive. When the government starts vanishing other highly skilled programmers, she discovers she has a protector, an incredibly handsome man, who wants her to save his brother, who vanished and was replaced 7 years earli...more
Diayll
Mar 02, 2012 Diayll rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Fans of Science Fiction, Futuristic, Romance Novels
Originally Reviewed at: Mother/Gamer/Writer
Rating: 5 out of 5 Controllers
Review Source: NetGalley
Reviewer: Heather


Synthetic Dreams was really a whole new genre for me. I’ve never really read science fiction type stories. In this book the author takes us to a futuristic England where residents basically lead a life in the cold world, and one within The Mind. Both worlds are ruled by the Corporation which instills rules, laws as well as unfair boundaries on its citizens.

The cold world would be muc...more
Cecelia
Kim Knox’s Synthetic Dreams is set in a futuristic society where a virtual reality has supplanted the real ‘cold world.’ Glamours disguise imperfections in the dream space, if clients can afford them, and the rules of play are directed The Corporation and its corrupt First Family. Vyn is a technology-bender, dealing on the wrong side of legal work, when she becomes enmeshed in intrigue far beyond her ken – and possibly, love?

This short sci-fi tale is sophisticated and well-written. The complexit...more
Amanda Ryan
This is a pretty intense sci-fi novella. Vyn (short for Vynessa), is a genius at illegally manipulating high-tech glamour, techie “suits” that allow you to plug in and become anyone you want. If you have the skill, that is. When Vyn gets swept up in a quest with Paul Cross, a Corporation agent, to find and free his brother from Corporate domination, she finds herself struggling to keep it together. Things get even trickier when they both realize she holds the key to bringing down the most corrup...more
C.L. Bevill
Sci-fi fantasy cyber punk extravaganza. Vyn is a girl who likes to hack things but this is a brave new world and there are worlds within worlds. Think of Inception except with quirks. She runs into bad boy cop, Paul, who's been watching her and has a specific need for her. It's a novella but full of interesting concepts. I probably would have given it a 3 1/2 if I could have, but I knocked it up because the author was creative with her world building. Interesting story but published by Carina so...more
Caro
May 01, 2012 Caro rated it 4 of 5 stars
Shelves: sci-fi
I really liked this book. I was great. Twisting and turning, edge of your seat, keep you on your toes, fast-paced, emotional, suspenseful, a couple of steamy scenes, great characters, and the 'it can't be real' feeling. I would most definitely read this book again. I liked the sci-fi/magic feel of it and the creativity. Everything was written well and pulled me in so I could see the scenes clearly. I couldn't put it down. This is my first time reading this author and I am looking forward to read...more
AnnaM
Jun 06, 2013 AnnaM rated it 5 of 5 stars
Shelves: sfr
I'm beginning to see that I like Kim Knox's style. I've enjoyed every story she's written. This one kept me guessing, had great pacing, characters, and twists. I liked the ending and the romantic plot, as well as the action plot and the SF worldbuilding.

There is a bit of sex but it's not graphic or gratuitous. I thought this was an excellent story.
C.A. Szarek
Haven't read something like this in a long time. I loved it. Had a great feel. Very sweet love & great sexual tension! Onto the next one...Kim Knox Rocks!
Andrea
This could have been an awesome sci-fi or a pretty good romance. As it ended up, it was a crappy bewildering romance and a decent sci-fi story.
Soo
3.5 Stars - Review coming soon.
Marianne
Marianne marked it as to-read
Jul 31, 2014
Kayla
Kayla marked it as to-read
Jun 23, 2014
Teazia Cockburn
Teazia Cockburn marked it as to-read
Jun 23, 2014
Desi Alonso
Desi Alonso marked it as to-read
Jun 14, 2014
Jennifer
Jennifer marked it as to-read
Jun 09, 2014
Fable
Fable added it
Jun 06, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
2921354
Kim lives on an ancient boundary line, once marked by a Neolithic burial tomb. The tomb’s now a standing stone circle–thank the Georgians for that one–and stirs her mind with thoughts of history and ancient myths. She mixes the essence of the past into fantasy, along with the essential mix of magic and sex. She also writes science fiction romance, pushing out into the far future with effortlessly...more
More about Kim Knox...
Hunting Evander Agamemnon Frost and the House of Death (Agamemnon Frost, #1) Bitter Harvest Dark Dealings Breaking Chance

Share This Book