Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Lawmen” as Want to Read:
The Lawmen
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview
Read Book

The Lawmen

by
4.11 of 5 stars 4.11  ·  rating details  ·  18 ratings  ·  3 reviews
Mass Market Paperback, 172 pages
Published November 1st 1993 by Fawcett
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Lawmen, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Lawmen

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-27 of 27)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Mr. Matt
In a dusty Arizona silver boom-town, there is no law. The last Marshall only lasted a few weeks, and the one before him even less. Men are gun downed in drunken shootouts in saloons. Whores are cut up for holding out on their pimps. When a former Confederate soldier down on his luck applies for the job of Marshall, it seems too good to be true to the town fathers. If he succeeds, then they have cleaned up their town. And if he gets killed, well, then they'll just be one more body on boot hill.

Cl
...more
Cphe
This was a very entertaining read. Clay Chandler is a down on his luck Reb when he applies for the job of Marshall in Topaz.
The town is owned and run by the vicious Hopkins gang who have many of the town's citizens in their corrupt pockets.
When the inevitable showdown comes Clay has to rely on the services of a freed slave Essex to stand beside him as he struggles to uphold the law.

This book reminded me of the older style westerns, with the themes of good versus evil and comradehip. Clay and Ess
...more
Mark Taylor
A great western that pits two wisecracking lawmen (in the vein of Cole & Hitch, although this story predates Mr. Parker's masterpieces by more than a decade) against an evil gang that has taken over a town. It's a very exciting read, and the plot flows smoothly. The tension between the protagonists, with its undercurrent of grudging respect, puts a new twist on an archetypal plot and makes me wonder if ever a sequel was written. I'll have to investigate.
Kristy
Kristy marked it as to-read
Jun 16, 2014
Bob
Bob added it
Oct 07, 2013
D.L. Greenlee
D.L. Greenlee marked it as to-read
May 27, 2013
Matt
Matt added it
Oct 09, 2012
Maggie
Maggie marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2012
Shayne
Shayne marked it as to-read
Jun 17, 2012
Cmorr
Cmorr added it
Jun 13, 2012
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
The Bank Robber K Company Dead Man's Town Texas Kingdoms Deadman's Crossing

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »