Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “If You Like Metallica...: Here Are Over 200 Bands, CDs, Movies, and Other Oddities That You Will Love” as Want to Read:
If You Like Metallica...: Here Are Over 200 Bands, CDs, Movies, and Other Oddities That You Will Love
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

If You Like Metallica...: Here Are Over 200 Bands, CDs, Movies, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

3.89  ·  Rating Details ·  18 Ratings  ·  6 Reviews
(If You Like). In hard rock history, there is the time before Metallica and there is everything that has come since: metal, punk, industrial, grunge, alternative all of it absorbed, transformed, and reinvented by the band that, for decades, has ruled as both the Beatles and the Stones of heavy music. From garage rock to the avant-garde, indie pop to hardcore punk and, of c ...more
Paperback, 209 pages
Published May 1st 2012 by Backbeat Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about If You Like Metallica..., please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about If You Like Metallica...

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-29 of 29)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Ed Wagemann
Oct 01, 2012 Ed Wagemann rated it liked it
I had this heavy metal friend when I was a freshman in college who was always barging into my dorm room saying "Dude, you gotta check this shlt out! I mean you have GOT to check this shlt out!" And then he would put some tape or CD on the stereo and 9 times out of 10 it was total crap.

Mike McPadden sorta reminds me of that friend - at least in this book he does (I havn't read anything else by him). It's not that 9 out of every 10 things in this book is crap, its just that McPadden really hasn't
...more
fleegan
May 13, 2012 fleegan rated it really liked it
Shelves: non-fiction
If You Like Metallica… was such a fun read.

I am a casual Metallica fan. What I mean by that is I own several of their albums (4) and I’ve never been to one of their concerts. So a real metalhead would probably think I’m not a fan at all, but I think I’m a fan because:

A. Metallica rocks; I know this.

B. The first guitar bit I ever learned to play was the damn intro to Unforgiven, so all you metalhead snobs just need to back off, okay? And don’t you, “But The Black Album doesn’t count” me. I will f
...more
Jason
Jun 07, 2012 Jason rated it liked it
Not bad - an idea possibly outdated by the internet as you can find endless 'If you like...you'll love' reviews on Amazon, rock & metal websites. But good potted histories of bands influencing and influenced by Metallica. Even gives ten reasons why working with Lou Redd was a good idea...
GONZA
Jul 16, 2012 GONZA rated it really liked it
Such a good book if you are interested in Metal Music and specially in all the bands that made the history of Metal since the beginning. A long list of more or less famous groups and their influence on Metallica, or the way Metallica influenced them. For the lovers of this type of Musik.

Libro fantastico per gli amanti del genere metal e specialmente per coloro che sono interessati nella storia delle band che hanno fatto il metal dal punk in poi. Una lunga lista di gruppi più o meno famosi e la l
...more
Chris
Jan 28, 2013 Chris rated it really liked it
Shelves: i-own
Metal maniac McPadden structures his volume in the "If You Like..." series like a enthusiastic elder of the temple of heavy passing down holy writ to neophytes, but without the pompous associations that might suggest. Maybe more like a living room chat after dinner. "Oh, you haven't heard Death Angel? You'd love 'em, they had this one album..." and so forth. Even as someone who has done time in the metal militia, I still found a good half-dozen acts, books, and films to check out. Loads of laffs ...more
Bryan
Mar 05, 2014 Bryan rated it really liked it
Shelves: music
Read my review over at shuizmz.com for a lengthier and more in-depth critique, but to sum it up in a nutshell, the book was face-meltingly epic! Fans of metal and hard-rock alike will enjoy a list-filled book citing all things related to the band Metallica. One probably will be taking notes of bands mentioned and albums referenced (like I did). So much passion is in this book, laced with chuckle-out-loud humor and sarcasm that it makes for a fun and light read.
Matt
Matt marked it as to-read
Sep 23, 2016
Gary Muldoon
Gary Muldoon rated it liked it
Aug 17, 2016
Lauren
Lauren marked it as to-read
Jun 30, 2016
Marian
Marian rated it it was ok
Apr 18, 2016
Eric French
Eric French marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2016
Kenny
Kenny rated it really liked it
Aug 01, 2015
Craig
Craig rated it really liked it
Feb 10, 2015
James Curtin
James Curtin rated it it was ok
Aug 21, 2014
Meirav
Meirav rated it really liked it
Jul 04, 2014
Rob
Rob marked it as to-read
May 04, 2014
Steph Rathbun
Steph Rathbun marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2013
Triston
Triston rated it it was amazing
Aug 16, 2013
Lani
Lani marked it as to-read
Jul 20, 2013
Mike McPadden
Mike McPadden rated it it was amazing
Apr 16, 2013
Kevin Cashman
Kevin Cashman marked it as to-read
Jun 09, 2015
Michelle
Michelle marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2013
Warren Sikes
Warren Sikes rated it really liked it
Oct 03, 2012
Cindy
Cindy rated it it was amazing
Oct 11, 2012
Steve
Steve rated it it was amazing
Sep 10, 2012
Eddie
Eddie is currently reading it
Aug 28, 2012
Daniel
Daniel rated it it was amazing
Jun 22, 2012
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
5325421
Brooklyn-born Mike McPadden is the Head Writer of the skinternational online phenomenon Mr. Skin (well-known to fans of Howard Stern and the movie Knocked Up). In addition to years of freelance journalism (Esquire, Black Book, New York Press) and more than a decade as a Hustler editor and correspondent, Mr. McPadden has also been a B-movie screenwriter (Animal Insincts 3) and shock-rock musician ( ...more
More about Mike McPadden...

Share This Book