Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sword & Blood: The Vampire Musketeers” as Want to Read:
Sword & Blood: The Vampire Musketeers
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Sword & Blood: The Vampire Musketeers (The Vampire Musketeers #1)

3.41 of 5 stars 3.41  ·  rating details  ·  34 ratings  ·  18 reviews
In a world where vampires have taken every humble chapel, defiled every grand cathedral, subdued most nations, and treated every human as cattle, Dumas' hero musketeers rise to a greater challenge than they ever met in their original adventures. Athos has spent a decade fighting vampires in the king's musketeers. He never expected to see his wife again - he'd discovered Ch...more
Paperback, 336 pages
Published April 3rd 2012 by Prime Books (first published April 1st 2012)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sword & Blood, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Sword & Blood

Cold Days by Jim ButcherThe Blinding Knife by Brent WeeksThe Name of the Wind by Patrick RothfussTricked by Kevin HearneA Perfect Blood by Kim Harrison
Adult Fantasy & Sci-Fi 2012
313th out of 409 books — 813 voters
Bound By Blood by Shane K.P. O'NeillBound By Blood by Shane K.P. O'NeillBirth Of The Monster by Shane K.P. O'NeillSword & Blood by Sarah MarquésFevre Dream by George R.R. Martin
Bloody Good Historical Science Fiction
4th out of 10 books — 20 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 311)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Reni
Oh Lord, the books I spend my time with. I'm almost embarrassed to admit I read this, but then I had fun, so who gives a toss?

Sword & Blood is just as much a page-turner as the classic piece of literature it is inspired by, if for very (very, very!) different reasons. Don't get me wrong, both are fluff and a bit silly when you break them down to it. But Sword & Blood caters to a distinctly contemporary audience, what with all the added existential angst and eroticism, and the fantastical...more
Nerine Dorman
What’s not to love about the idea of vampire musketeers? The idea bites me about as much as honest-to-bad-ass vampirates, and I admit it freely, that I love stories of swashbuckling and derring-do. If you’re looking for Anne Rice’s self-absorbed wangst-filled Louis, or Meyer’s glittery fangless offerings, then step away from this book please, and allow those of us who love dark adventure with an undercurrent of eroticism to enjoy the story.

Marques treads familiar turf for fans of Porthos, Athos,...more
Renee Rearden
ARC Approved by NetGalley

I love the classics—and I love genre novels. So when I read the words “vampire musketeers” I was hooked. Seriously, how could I not read a book about sword-wielding, honor-bound men that battle deadly, vicious, blood-sucking monsters in an effort to protect the remaining human men and women of their country?

The familiar phrase of “one for all and all for one” takes on a new twist, but doesn’t change its strong, underlying meaning. Porthos, Athos, Aramis and D’Artagnan pr...more
M.
If you like the classics and you're not a purist and don't mind a little paranormal twist, this is a nice choice. It had several elements that I enjoy in a storyline; interesting characters, and the three musketeers are certainly interesting, a deep camaraderie between the characters, loyalty to friends despite the danger to self, a character who has to rise above his demons, in this case a vampire nature,and hold on to his humanity, sword fights, good vs. evil.... I will be watching for the nex...more
Aoife
As Vampire-book Sword & Blood is entertaining. You might take that with a grain of salt as it comes from somebody whose knowledge of vampire-literature is limited to Dracula (and that only because the audio-book-narrator was Richard E. Grant). I enjoyed the portrayal of vampires in this book. They are proper monsters, and the world which they rule is a grim and dystopian place. Also Athos' suffering after being turned into a vampire gets described in painful detail. For him there is no getti...more
Carolyn (Book Chick City)
Reviewed by Melanie for www.BookChickCity.com

This appears to be the first vampire novel by renowned author Sarah Marques, who perhaps is better known as Sarah Hoyt, Elise Hyatt or Sarah D’Almeida. It is under the latter pseudonym where she has written a whole series of ‘Musketeer’ mysteries. SWORD AND BLOOD is her interpretation of the famous Alexandre Dumas story The Three Musketeers. The plot of SWORD AND BLOOD largely follows the original Dumas story with the exception that humanity is being...more
Melissa
I won this book through the Goodreads giveaways. Pretty good read. I was pleasantly surprised at how well it was written/editing despite being an Advanced Reader Copy. The book moved along at a decent pace and had some good twists to it. I also like the retelling of the musketeers plus vampires. This book might have been 4 stars if the only the Pagan depicted didn't perform sex rituals for power >_< Really? As a Wiccan, I was kind of offended by this. However, I do like that character othe...more
Kara-karina
4.25/5
Egalley thanks to Prime Books
I tell you what, Sword & Blood was exactly what I wanted to get from that book at that moment, - fast, easy, atmospheric, straightforward action flick, and I applaud Miss Marques for that. I had fun, I didn't get bored and I wanted to read more of this when I got to the last page.

This is basically one of popular interpretations of classics we see so often this days, in this case, Three Musketeers by Alexander Dumas. I love Dumas! I pretty much read all his...more
Beth
The Musketeers, Athos, Porthos and Aramis accompanied by a young (17 yr old) Gascon named D'Artagnan must face a world where the vampires have pretty much taken over. While secretly fighting to rid the vampire inhabitants of France, Athos is captured and turned by a wife he thought 10 years deceased. Athos must fight the blood lust and temptations of vampirism to keep from turning “evil”… he finds out quickly that he can only do this by leaning on his Musketeer friends for help. Together Athos,...more
Jennifer
I wasn't quite sure what to think about Sword & Blood. I've always loved stories about the Musketeers, but it took a lot to twist my mind around one of them being a vampire. (Also? Seeing the abbreviation "vamp" in the context of 1700s France just threw me out of the story every time.) There are some slow bits and some good action, though I put this book down several times because it got on the wrong side of "show, don't tell." The sensual bits sometimes appeared out of nowhere, but they're...more
Talk Supe
Sword and Blood was a slow read. It was too narrative and it didn't have enough dialogue which really made it a challenge to finish the book. Although the plot took a turn for the dark, I was at least hoping that The Three Musketeers retained their candor, balance all the loss and killings and not just dwell on the drama. Pages would go by without anybody talking, Marques would just narrate what's going on or what the character is thinking. But I want reactions! I want expletives! I want to feel...more
Debbie
ok - you can't just take any old story and add vampires to it and expect to get something good - and this is a first rate example of it not working. First of all - how can you improve on Dumas' Three Musketeers? You can't do it by adding vampires - at least in this case it can't be done. The story is silly and at times tedious - I mean how many times can D'Artagnan escape?

There wasn't anything new here and I think it's just a case of an author mashing the popularity of vampires to something alre...more
Samantha
There doesn't seem to be a clear storyline or objective throughout, other than hunt vampires, & the same things fet told & explained over & over again (doubly annoying bacause the writing is so wordy, it just goes on & on long after the point's been made). It's an interesting premise but simply chucking these beloved characters into a fantasy story is not enough, especially when taking it so stockily from the original story with the introduction of D'Artagnan which in this altera...more
Robin
Fun world-building and interesting twists on Dumas's characters (especially Constance and Aramis), plus a plot that keeps moving briskly. Occasional awkwardness in the writing can possibly be chalked up to the fact that the author's first language is not English. A very quick, entertaining read. I'm looking forward to seeing where the series is going to go.
Chris
An interesting take on the classic story of the Three Musketeers. In a world where vampires have been reborn, Athos, Porthos, Aramis and d'Artangan must fight for king and country while monsters rule the night. Marques does an excellent job paying homage to the classic Dumas style while adding her own touches. This is a great summer read.
Abhinav
This is more a 3.5 to be honest, or a 7/10 as I do my ratings. An interesting premise, and some really fun characters. Loved the vampiric take on this old classic story. Definitely want to read more. The plot is a bit jumpy and confusing in places, but overall I liked it. Full review soon.
Ruth
This book was very different. I love vampires and I love the Three Musketeers. So I had to read this book. It was very enjoyable.
Lori Mckergow
This was okay. An interesting take on the vampire legends. Different form all of the others.
Sam
Sam marked it as to-read
Sep 21, 2014
Fiona (apollymipanthos)
Fiona (apollymipanthos) marked it as to-read
Sep 03, 2014
Tanya
Tanya marked it as to-read
Aug 20, 2014
Desinka
Desinka marked it as to-read
Aug 20, 2014
Gavin
Gavin marked it as to-read
Aug 20, 2014
Molly  O'Suileabhain
Molly O'Suileabhain marked it as to-read
Sep 13, 2014
Jahanpanah
Jahanpanah marked it as to-read
Aug 13, 2014
thetenthscholar
thetenthscholar marked it as to-read
Jul 29, 2014
Gavin
Gavin marked it as to-read
Aug 02, 2014
Brittney
Brittney marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2014
Anay
Anay marked it as to-read
Jun 10, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
A pseudonym used by Sarah A. Hoyt

Note: There are two authors with that name in the database
More about Sarah Marqués...
First Blood (The Vampire Musketeers) Royal Blood

Share This Book