Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier (Cinderella Smith)

by
4.0 of 5 stars 4.00  ·  rating details  ·  64 ratings  ·  23 reviews
In Stephanie Barden’s The More the Merrier, middle-grade readers will root for Cinderella Smith the same way they do for Junie B. Jones, Judy Moody, and Clementine.

Cinderella takes on mean girls in the second book in the Cinderella Smith series. A clique has formed in her third-grade class, and they don’t want Cinderella in the group. Cinderella and her best friend, Erin,...more
Hardcover, 144 pages
Published April 24th 2012 by HarperCollins
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Cinderella Smith, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Cinderella Smith

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 130)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Kitty Bullard
Book Title: "Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier”
Author: Stephanie Barden
Published By: Harper Collins
Age Recommended: 8 - 12
Reviewed By: Kitty Bullard
Raven Rating: 5

Review: Based on one of the cutest, quirkiest little girls ever, Cinderella Smith, the More the Merrier, is a wonderful read for children from 8 to 12 years of age. This cute book sends a great message about bullying and how it’s not nice to say bad things about or be mean and thoughtless to others.
Teaching a valuable lesson such...more
Brenda
Cinderella Smith is one of a kind. She’s “vexylent.” It may not be a real word, but it could be. Combine very with excellent and you know Cinderella’s meaning. Cinderella likes words and she likes to play around with them. In third grade, Cinderella is determined to win her school spelling bee. It is important to her because, of course she would like to win, and because the winner plans a class party. She wants to plan a party everyone can enjoy. She doesn’t want her once good friend, Rosemary T...more
Kayla Eklund
Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier was a wonderful sequel to Cinderella Smith. Things continue to get worse in regard to Cinderella and Rosemary T's friendship. Cinderella's aunt Flora gets introduced in this sequel. I liked her aunt a lot. Quite a few of the things she said and did made me chuckle. In this book, it finally feels like Cinderella is starting to have more friends on her side. She still gets bullied quite a bit by the Rosemarys, but she has a lot of people that stick up for her...more
Joella www.cinjoella.com
I have such a soft-spot for all things Cinderella. And although her name is Cinderella, she only has a few shoe mishaps in this particular book. Mostly it is all about the characters and interactions this go-round.

Cinderella and her class-mates are going to participate in a spelling bee. The third, fourth and fifth graders are all able to participate. Each class has their own spelling bee and the 3 class winners will all go on to compete in the school bee. The winner of the school bee will be ab...more
Dorine White
I have a delightful middle grade novel to review today, Cinderella Smith, the More the Merrier by Stephanie Baden. Published by Harper Collins, it will be on shelves April 24, 2012. As an added bonus I also have details about the book launch, happening in Seattle this weekend! Tune in at the end for all the info.


The Story- Cinderella Smith is in third grade and is determined to win her school spelling bee. Why? Because the winner gets to plan a class party and she doesn’t want her once good frie...more
Aeicha
I jumped right into Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier after reading the first book, excited to join in Cinderella’s merry dance once again.

Cinderella Smith, the quirky and charming third grader is back with even more friendship troubles, missing shoes and fun adventures. Cinderella’s lifelong friend Rosemary T. continues her mean teasing, but Cinderella’s cool Aunt Flora is around to help her deal with anything. And Cinderella’s new hobby of making up new words comes in handy when the big s...more
Mary
I read this with my eight-year-old daughter for our mother daughter book club. My daughter loved this book enough that she wanted me to immediately put the other books in the series on hold for her. It was a cute story with a spunky, good-natured heroine and a good message easily applicable to elementary-aged girls.
Megan
This book was exciting. Our local children's book store had a book release party for it (the author is local), and i took Madeleine. She was quite excited, and i was pleased that she had the opportunity. Like the first book, the adults in the family enjoyed the positive role-modeling in this book. I also appreciated that we get a) some insight into why the bully in the story may act that way, and b) some discussion of clique-iness and some discussion of other ways to behave. It gives us some thi...more
StorySnoops
Fans of Ramona and Junie B. will enjoy this series, featuring third-grader Cinderella, and her positive attitude about problem solving. In The More the Merrier, Cinderella is busy getting ready for the spelling bee when Rosemary decides to start picking on her, mostly calling her weird for being babyish and young. Cinderella decides to try ignoring her, and refuses to speak to Rosemary. However, her aunt advises communicating about how Rosemary's actions make her feel to see if that might be a b...more
Codymarie Greene`
If you love Ramona or Junie B. Jones, Cinderella Smith is going to become a fast favorite too. Both my 3rd grader and I enjoyed Cinderella's story. She is creative, spunky and has heart.

"The More The Merrier" is a wonderful, subtle way to encourage children to be themselves, to stand up for themselves and how to have a "what's what" with someone that is being mean or bullying them.

We can't wait for more Cinderella books in this house!
'jean
Spunky girl takes on spelling bee and mean girl, and does it well.
Ingrid
I enjoyed the original Cinderella Smith book very much and was happy to see that this book now seems to be a series. Cinderella still has trouble keeping track of her shoes, but in this story the main focus is on the school spelling bee and the trouble that Cinderella and some of her classmates are having with a few mean girls in the class.
Laura
Cinderella Smith is an awesome character. She has a wonderfully positive attitude. She treats everyone with kindness. And she looks for help and support from her friends and family. It's a shame that "girl drama" has to start as early as 3rd grade. But Cinderella shows girls that there are positive, proactive ways to deal with it.
Jschofi4
A great story for upper elementary girls dealing with being unique and trying to fit in with catty girl classmates.
Topics: spelling bee. Catty cliques. Being unique.
Jaymie
Another great story with this great character. Lots for kids (and parents/teachers) to dig into here about friendships and how to deal with one that goes south.
Tyra
This is a cute series, Alex really loves them. I hope she writes more in this series. We are sad there aren't anymore to read.
Mari
Loved it, maybe even more than the first one. Great characters, interesting situations, and a very real growing issue with a friend being mean.
Kristin Lee Williams
Read this to Helen while she was on spring vacation. She loved it!
Horace Mann Family Reading Challenge
Second book in the Cinderella Smith series. P.K.
Colby Sharp
Cinderella's aunt is such a cool character.
The Styling Librarian
Quite a cute character to enjoy.
PWRL
Jul 23, 2013 PWRL marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2013-new
E
Amanda
Amanda marked it as to-read
Aug 15, 2014
Kelly
Kelly marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2014
Vesra (When She Reads)
Vesra (When She Reads) marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2014
Heidi
Heidi marked it as to-read
Jul 05, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
In between tripping over abandoned shoes, chasing after escaped pets and searching for lost belongings, Stephanie Barden wrote Cinderella Smith, her first book. HarperCollins will publish Cinderella Smith and the More the Merrier in spring of 2012. A third Cinderella Smith book, as yet untitled, will come out in 2013. When she's not writing, Stephanie teaches classes at Woodland Park Zoo in Seattl...more
More about Stephanie Barden...
Cinderella Smith Cinderella Smith: The Super Secret Mystery Cinderella Smith

Share This Book