Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “King's Test” as Want to Read:
King's Test
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

King's Test (Star of the Guardians #2)

by
3.9  ·  Rating Details ·  1,255 Ratings  ·  19 Reviews
By calling a temporary truce, Derek Sagan and the rebels thwarted the alien Corasian invasion. Enemies once again, the rebels have resumed their defiance and Sagan has retumed to his campaign to topple the corrupt galactic government.  He plans to set up Dion as king of the Starfire dynasty--and to place himself as the ruling power behind the throne.  On a remote planetary ...more
ebook, 480 pages
Published August 24th 2011 by Spectra (first published March 1st 1991)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about King's Test, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about King's Test

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Xitron
Feb 16, 2017 Xitron rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I've read the first 3 of this "Star of the Guardians" series by Margaret Weis, and I've loved them! I've read them twice.

I just learned today that there is a fourth book, and I promptly bought it for my Kindle. I'll start reading it today!
Jennifer
I read this series back in high school or college and I remember enjoying it but most of the details are long gone.
Graham
Nov 17, 2008 Graham rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: sci-fi
I read the Star of the Guardians trilogy for the first time when I was 17 years old - I had NO idea how much it subtly introduced new ideas into my life.

The book list that one of the main characters, Maigrey, works through in part of the book, is one of the reasons I went on to become a book reader myself - Weiss used Sci Fi to open my mind to the world of books out there!

To this day, Charles Dickens is one of my favourite authors... not because he was one of Maigrey's favourites, I've grown to
...more
Amanda Hamilton
I just remembered something about the first book that I completely forgot about until I read part two.

There's a character named Vangelis (and the author's note mentions the band Vangelis) and one with the last name Sagan (after Carl Sagan) and a character with the nickname Tusk.
The beginning chapter quotes are sometimes too on-the-nose and specific giving what is going to happen in the chapter you're about to read. They quoted a lyric from "Tusk" by Fleetwood Mac. That's a bit too...obvious. I
...more
Shana
Nov 16, 2011 Shana rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: science-fiction
In this second book in the series, all of the main characters reappear (with the exception of John Dixter) and new characters are introduced. They include Abdiel (who controlls zombies), Snaga Ohme (a wealthy and corrupt weapons dealer), Raoul (a charming man who is an expert on poisons), and the Little One (a small alien empath). Raoul and the Little One appear in the spin-off series, The Mag Force 7, as main characters.

The plot of this story deals with an incredibly powerful bomb. There is a s
...more
Jim
Jan 23, 2014 Jim rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I normally associate these authors with fantasy, but this is a really fun space opera trilogy. A bit depressing, though. Still, lots of action with blood swords & blood space ships - only those of a specific breeding or something can operate these super weapons. If you liked Simon R. Green's Deathstalker series, you'd probably like this which predates it, although only by a decade or so, as I recall. I liked both, but have no urge to re-read them.
Alexander Draganov
Serious improvement on book one here. The main villain Abdiel is finally introduced, Dion (the cool main character) gets more "screen time" and the relationship between Derek and Maigrey develops nicely. Add to this a super weapon which can destroy the universe and you have a captivating space opera. Another bonus is that the book finishes it story ark, and, although it is obvious that we'll have a third book, Weis does not use annoying cliffhangers. Recommended for fans of Timothy Zahn and Geor ...more
Christine Jones
Oct 31, 2016 Christine Jones rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A deeper glimpse into the universe that Margaret Weis created with the Star of the Guardian series, Dion's character is growing and becoming more rounded as we are brought closer to understanding the motivations of Derek Sagan. The background that is introduced in this novel is captivating and keeps the reader turning the pages to find out more. Abdiel is a shockingly gruesome character, whom we also get to understand more. A wonderfully written science fiction creation. I would recommend this o ...more
AliceAnn
I've discovered that I just don't care much for Dion as a character. I also didn't feel the same excitement when reading from Saran's or Maigrey's POV's either. Sigh. I still really like Tusk and Rana, and XJ will always be my favorite. It was good to finally meet the villain, Abdiel, along with some other slimier characters. I almost have a new favorite though: Bear Olefsky. There was enough action to carry the story along, but I think I'm going to wait to read the rest of the series at a later ...more
RogueHireling
More like a two and half.
I dont know what happened, but in this book everyone turned unlikable. Which always makes it harder for me to make it through. Everyone was whiny and making bad decision after bad decision. Ugh!
Plus I completely lost track of who I was supposed to be rooting for. I couldn't figure out who the "good" guys were anymore.
But I did make it through the book and liked the ending and am looking forward to the next. Just dont think I will be reading this one again.
Chris
Mar 05, 2013 Chris rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Here's what I said about "The Lost King" (Star of the Guardians,#1)

True space opera with bits of religion, the force, Roman Legions, and Blood Swords that are like light sabres, mixed with a very dark Camelot feel. This is a miss-mash that you wouldn't think works but some how does, entirely do to the character development done by the author.

The same applies to "King's Test" (Star of the Guardians, #2) but with ZOMBIES!!!!!!!
Cathy
Jan 18, 2013 Cathy rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The first book was a great introduction to the main characters. This book however, is where the real entertainment begins, never quite knowing who the real enemies are and how the story is going to play out. And almost, but not quite ending on a cliff hanger.

A HUGE thank you to my Husband, Chris for introducing me to this series...really is a great series for Sci-Fi fans :D
Ale
Ale rated it it was amazing
Feb 01, 2017
Iago Rodriguez couso
Iago Rodriguez couso rated it really liked it
Sep 12, 2014
Chris
Chris rated it it was amazing
Apr 22, 2009
Kpmagic
Kpmagic rated it liked it
Nov 25, 2016
Eric Whitchurch
Eric Whitchurch rated it it was amazing
Jan 20, 2013
Anthony Salgado
Anthony Salgado rated it liked it
Feb 02, 2017
Roy
Roy rated it liked it
Oct 01, 2014
Benjamin Bridges
Benjamin Bridges rated it it was amazing
Aug 26, 2013
Kelly
Kelly rated it really liked it
Jun 06, 2008
Joe
Joe rated it really liked it
Feb 24, 2013
Patrick
Patrick rated it really liked it
May 17, 2013
M.L. Brennan
M.L. Brennan rated it it was amazing
Dec 06, 2013
Tony Tassiker
Tony Tassiker rated it really liked it
Dec 29, 2015
Nick Burns
Nick Burns rated it really liked it
Jan 30, 2011
Bkworm68
Bkworm68 rated it it was ok
Dec 24, 2013
Abras0311
Abras0311 rated it liked it
Jan 10, 2013
David
David rated it really liked it
Jul 08, 2014
Melissa Jane
Melissa Jane rated it liked it
Aug 29, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • There Is No Darkness
  • Robotech: The Macross Saga: Doomsday (Robotech #4-6)
  • Pirates of the Thunder (Rings of the Master, #2)
  • Relic of Empire (Forbidden Borders, #2)
  • Berserker's Planet (Berserker, #3)
  • Fisherman's Hope (Seafort Saga, #4)
  • Endurance (Stardoc, #3)
  • Ties of Power (Trade Pact Universe, #2)
  • Worlds of Honor (Worlds of Honor, #2)
  • Freedom Flight (Wing Commander, #1)
  • Wild Magic (The Godwars, #3)
  • The Zenda Vendetta (Time Wars, #4)
  • Homegoing
  • Battlestations! (Star Trek: Fortunes Of War, #2)
  • The Chosen (The General, #6)
869
Fantasy novelist who, along with Tracy Hickman, was one of the original creators of the Dragonlance game world. I've written numerous novels and short stories set in the world of Krynn, as well as series in other, original worlds. These include: Darksword, Rose of the Prophet, Star of the Guardians, DeathGate, Dragonvarld, Sovereign Stone, Dragonships, and the Dragon Brigade. I also wrote two para ...more
More about Margaret Weis...

Other Books in the Series

Star of the Guardians (4 books)
  • The Lost King (Star of the Guardians, #1)
  • King's Sacrifice (Star of the Guardians, #3)
  • Ghost Legion (Star of the Guardians, #4)

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »