Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Knuckle and Potty Destroy Happy World” as Want to Read:
Knuckle and Potty Destroy Happy World
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Knuckle and Potty Destroy Happy World

3.45  ·  Rating Details  ·  74 Ratings  ·  25 Reviews
Knuckle and Potty are tired of being lovable book characters. Together, they hatch a plan to venture to the Outer-world by clicking their heels and leaping off the pages into real life to confront the author and illustrator who created them. When that plan fails, a trip to Happy World is their last option. Simple: they'll just erase Happy World with their de-zonker contrap ...more
Hardcover, 80 pages
Published May 22nd 2012 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Knuckle and Potty Destroy Happy World, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Knuckle and Potty Destroy Happy World

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 113)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Nick
Jul 16, 2012 Nick rated it liked it
Shelves: juvenile-fiction
I wanted to really love this little hybrid blend of chapter book and graphic novel, but I came away only liking it. Part of the problem is the preciousness of some of the humor, clearly aimed at parents reading the book to their children. The parodies of Winnie the Pooh and The Cat in the Hat were funny, but the latter, especially, went on long enough to wear thin.
On the other hand, the basic premise was great, and the war between the two characters and Happy World is priceless...a war featuring
...more
Patrice Sartor
I normally enjoy a weird/quirky tale, especially in the graphic novel format. Yet the writing for this one is poor and the mediocre artwork didn't save it. My graphic novel loving son, aged 11, gave it 3 stars: "Even though it's interesting, it's a tad young for me." True, it does seem to be aimed at a younger audience (7-10, maybe), sometimes there is too much text for younger readers. It wasn't funny to me and I didn't care about the plight of Knuckle and Potty. At the same time, I did finish ...more
Melissa Mcavoy
Knuckle and Potty are adorable cartoon characters: a tiger and a bear. Their last book: Knuckle & Potty are Huggable, written by a celebrity author, was wildly successful, a fact they find humiliating. Tired of being cute they stage a rebellion to try to derail the planned sequel: Knuckle & Potty in Happy World. There is plenty of irreverent off the wall humor, some absurd side-kicks and even some swipes a Dr.Seuss. The amount of text and adult cant of the humor suit it to an older audie ...more
Jj
Nov 12, 2012 Jj rated it it was ok
This book NEEDS EDITING. There are run-on sentences, sentence fragments, and similar problems. I do enjoy the humor, and the premise of the story. Everything could have been better and tighter, though. I think it would be quite appealing and fun for kids to read. However, I have grown weary of the sloppy grammar, punctuation, and overall casual approach to writing in books for children. It is especially problematic in this kind of book, which is more likely to be read by a kid who isn't particul ...more
Peggy Tibbetts
Apr 09, 2012 Peggy Tibbetts rated it really liked it
Knuckle and Potty are cute little cartoon characters. But they are fed up with their author and fed up with Happy World. Knuckle Tiggerelli is a pink tiger and Potty Polarberg is a green bear. They enlist the help of Winkie the Pug. He is – you guessed it – a blue dog. Winkie sends them to the Outer World to have a talk with the author. But the author turns out to be someone else entirely and he won’t budge. He insists on making them cute and cuddly. Next they visit Chicken in the Beret, a red c ...more
Salsabrarian
Feb 04, 2016 Salsabrarian rated it really liked it
Funny, sarcastic humor for all those young, jaded elementary kids! Knuckle and Potty are characters in happy, wholesome books for children, but they want to toughen up their reps. Pleas to the writer/illustrator go unheeded so they take matters in their own hands with giant erasers. For fans of Captain Underpants, Johnny Mutton, and pre-Wimpy Kid.
Chris
Aug 16, 2012 Chris rated it liked it
Shelves: j, graphic, humor, light, guys-read
Knuckle and Potty are the adorable characters who star in the books Tiger and Bear Are Huggable, Tiger and Bear Are Cute, Tiger and Bear Are Sweet, and Tiger and Bear Are Wholesome, and their author is now working on Tiger and Bear Go to Happy World.

Except Knuckle and Potty aren't cute, sweet, or wholesome, and they don't want to got to Happy World. So what are two fictional characters to do? Well, first they try traveling to Outer World to confront their author, but he's more interested in maki
...more
Barbara
Sick of being portrayed as cute, sweet, and wholesome in several books, Knuckle Tiggerelli and Potty Polarberg decide to take matters into their own hands. Determined not to star in a book called Tiger and Bear go to Happy World, they try to persuade the author and the illustrator to depict them as tough guys. When that doesn't work, they follow the advice of their wise but word-spouting friend, The Chicken in the Beret, and Winkie the Pug, who suggest that they simply erase Happy World. Young r ...more
Treasure
Tired of being cute, lovable book characters, Knuckle and Potty leave the book pages to confront their author and illustrator to demand more adventurous story lines and less adorable drawings. When that fails, they head to Happy World to try to solve things themselves, only to discover that Happy World isn't exactly as happy as they expected. This meta book is goofy, fun, and appealing, which is no surprise since the author also writes the popular Johnny Mutton series. The book contains words, p ...more
Tracy Clausen
Feb 26, 2014 Tracy Clausen rated it it was ok
Seems like it would appeal to young readers looking for first chapter books, but the text is too challenging and quirky for new readers....overall, a very choppy read.
Donna
Jun 24, 2014 Donna rated it liked it
#bookadaychallenge Not exactly my cup of tea, but my grandson loved it! Fun "boy humor" book!
Melissa
Sep 19, 2012 Melissa rated it liked it
Shelves: kids
This one appealed to me as being kinda offbeat. I brought it home and after a few days offered to read it aloud to my boys. They both said they'd already read it (one twice!) but wanted to hear it anyway. So, a total hit with the kids. I don't rank it higher because I don't care much for the art but the premise of taking charge and writing your own story is awesome.

Although we didn't catalog it graphic novel, this one borders on it for sure. Some paragraphs/pages of text but lots of comic format
...more
Rosa
Jul 22, 2012 Rosa rated it liked it
Shelves: humor, childrens, 2012
Knuckle and Potty leave their book to ask their author and illustrator not to send them to Happy World. Not only is their author not who they think it is, he refuses to help them! Knuckle and Potty along with their friends take matters into their own hands. Text interspersed w/ comic panels and some stan alone illustrations. Very funny what the boys want so they can be considered tougher. Very funny.
Shelli
Much like Captain Underpants this book walks that fine line of funny/stupid. For me this one walked into stupid town a bit to often. However, kids will love it. Especially students who are interested in reading Captain Underpants (which surprisingly are written at mostly a 5th grade reading level) but not quiet ready, Knuckle and Potty Destroy the World may be just right for them.
Lynn DeFord
Oct 10, 2013 Lynn DeFord rated it it was amazing
I loved this book. It reminded me a little of More Bears, which I also love. It's for grades 2-5. A cute, fun story where the characters in a book have their own opinions. The illustrations are humorous in bight, bold colors. I think students will really enjoy this as well.
Lady Lioness
I have a weakness for meta books so when I saw this featured in an Unshelved book club strip, I had to get it from the library. It's no We Are in a Book, but it's a cute little romp with a very faint moral of accepting yourself for who you are.
Kathy
Jun 16, 2012 Kathy rated it liked it
Cute but snarky characters try to get their author and illustrator to make them tougher and not so saccharin. K-2 grade level
Edward Sullivan
May 30, 2012 Edward Sullivan rated it really liked it
Knuckle & Potty have had it with being cute and do their darndest to longer be lovable. Good, silly fun.
Shonica
Sep 26, 2012 Shonica rated it liked it
Cute book. I'd recommend it to anyone who is young at heart and appreciates silly.
Yoo Kyung Sung
Nov 09, 2012 Yoo Kyung Sung rated it liked it
Inviting children to think about author's point of views is useful.
Polly
Cute idea, but reads a little too much like a first draft.
Gina
Sep 27, 2012 Gina rated it did not like it
I wanted this to be better than it was.
Sarah Souther
Dec 21, 2013 Sarah Souther rated it liked it
Shelves: humor, kids-beginning
Better than the title implies.
Elsa
May 17, 2012 Elsa rated it really liked it
This is hilarious-
Rebecca
Aug 21, 2012 Rebecca rated it liked it
Shelves: children-s
fuuuun!
Elaine
Elaine marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2016
Lindy
Lindy rated it really liked it
Feb 21, 2016
RC
RC rated it really liked it
Aug 30, 2015
Jessica
Jessica marked it as to-read
Aug 28, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Share This Book