Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Collected Jorkens Volume 2” as Want to Read:
The Collected Jorkens Volume 2
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Collected Jorkens Volume 2 (The Collected Jorkens)

4.08  ·  Rating Details ·  37 Ratings  ·  3 Reviews
The second in a three-volume set collecting all of Lord Dunsany's club stories, as told by Jorkens. Long unavailable, and essential reading for all fans of classic fantasy. Introduction by T.E.D. Klein.

Skyhorse Publishing, under our Night Shade and Talos imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of titles for readers interested in science fiction (space opera, time trave
...more
Hardcover, 401 pages
Published August 1st 2005 by Night Shade Books (first published July 19th 2005)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Collected Jorkens Volume 2, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Collected Jorkens Volume 2

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Earl Solper
Jun 23, 2011 Earl Solper rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of Lord Dunsany and People Who like Frame Stories
Lord Dunsany's Jorkens short stories (and they are very short) differ greatly from his fantasy tales. The eponymous protagonist is a London clubman who tells tall tales with an earnestness that so impresses the narrator (a new and gullible member of the club) that he furnishes the impecunious Jorkens with whiskey (sometimes involuntarily). Interspersed between the nonsense stories, though, are a few notable stories dealing with the nature of time (Lost), and the interplay between freewill and de ...more
Bruce Nordstrom
Jun 19, 2015 Bruce Nordstrom rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: everyone
This is the second of the Jorkens trilogy that I have read, and it was a total labor of love. I think Lord Dunsany is one of the most unappreciated authors in the English language. He excels at the short story, and these are some of his finest works. Many of these a just 4 or 5 pages long, and range from funny, to grim irony. I want to acknowledge three selections as my favorites, "The Expulsion," "Jarton's Disease," and "Secret of the Sphinx."

No one writes with the humor, insight, and total con
...more
Chris
Feb 19, 2016 Chris rated it really liked it
It's impossible for me to rate these critically. I just love them too much. The World of Commander McBragg was my favorite bit on Rocky & Bullwinkle, so finding this as an adult was joyous. Jorken's stories run the gamut from pub scams to ghost stories to wild adventures with improbable conclusions. You don't have to believe Jorkens, just buy him a drink and enjoy the story.
Mtbear Tolbert
Mtbear Tolbert rated it really liked it
Jun 18, 2008
Meliae Sybella
Meliae Sybella rated it really liked it
Feb 23, 2012
Stefan
Stefan rated it really liked it
Oct 09, 2007
s.j.
s.j. rated it it was amazing
Nov 25, 2008
Turner
Turner rated it really liked it
Sep 24, 2007
L.Vaughn
L.Vaughn rated it liked it
Apr 11, 2015
Noel
Noel rated it really liked it
Jun 08, 2012
Andreas Gunberg
Andreas Gunberg rated it really liked it
Sep 05, 2014
T
T rated it it was amazing
Jan 13, 2015
Michael Kucharski
Michael Kucharski rated it it was amazing
May 17, 2008
Adam
Adam rated it really liked it
May 01, 2008
Jorkens
Jorkens rated it really liked it
Feb 18, 2012
Stig
Stig rated it it was amazing
Mar 03, 2011
Patrick
Patrick rated it it was amazing
Nov 05, 2008
Andrew
Andrew rated it liked it
Aug 28, 2008
David
David rated it really liked it
Jan 31, 2012
Eric Kysela
Eric Kysela rated it it was amazing
Jun 02, 2014
Thjodbjorn
Thjodbjorn rated it it was amazing
Jun 17, 2008
Gary
Gary rated it really liked it
Mar 31, 2013
Rienk
Rienk rated it liked it
Feb 21, 2013
Dave Morris
Dave Morris rated it it was amazing
Apr 07, 2012
Phil Williamson
Phil Williamson rated it it was amazing
Nov 28, 2016
Chas
Chas rated it really liked it
Sep 07, 2010
Moudry
Moudry rated it liked it
May 26, 2009
Alex
Alex rated it really liked it
Dec 29, 2010
Bjarne Amilon
Bjarne Amilon rated it really liked it
Feb 18, 2014
Josephine
Josephine rated it liked it
Jul 23, 2011
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
9172
Edward John Moreton Drax Plunkett, 18th Baron of Dunsany was an Anglo-Irish writer and dramatist, notable for his work in fantasy published under the name Lord Dunsany. More than eighty books of his work were published, and his oeuvre includes hundreds of short stories, as well as successful plays, novels and essays. Born to one of the oldest titles in the Irish peerage, he lived much of his life ...more
More about Lord Dunsany...

Other Books in the Series

The Collected Jorkens (3 books)
  • The Collected Jorkens Volume 1
  • The Collected Jorkens, Vol. 3

Share This Book