Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Collected Jorkens Volume 2” as Want to Read:
The Collected Jorkens Volume 2
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

The Collected Jorkens Volume 2

4.0 of 5 stars 4.00  ·  rating details  ·  31 ratings  ·  1 review
The second in a three-volume set collecting all of Lord Dunsany's club stories, as told by Jorkens. Long unavailable, and essential reading for all fans of classic fantasy. Introduction by T.E.D. Klein.
Hardcover, 401 pages
Published August 1st 2005 by Night Shade Books (first published July 19th 2005)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Collected Jorkens Volume 2, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Collected Jorkens Volume 2

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 58)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Earl Solper
Jun 23, 2011 Earl Solper rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Fans of Lord Dunsany and People Who like Frame Stories
Lord Dunsany's Jorkens short stories (and they are very short) differ greatly from his fantasy tales. The eponymous protagonist is a London clubman who tells tall tales with an earnestness that so impresses the narrator (a new and gullible member of the club) that he furnishes the impecunious Jorkens with whiskey (sometimes involuntarily). Interspersed between the nonsense stories, though, are a few notable stories dealing with the nature of time (Lost), and the interplay between freewill and de...more
Merete Aasen
Merete Aasen marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2014
Tim
Tim marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2014
Kristine Smith
Kristine Smith marked it as to-read
Jan 16, 2014
Kirk
Kirk marked it as to-read
Jan 11, 2014
Courtney
Courtney marked it as to-read
Jan 03, 2014
Justin Roy
Justin Roy marked it as to-read
Nov 17, 2013
Keegan Fink
Keegan Fink marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2013
Nathan
Nathan marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2013
Joseph
Joseph added it
Jul 15, 2013
Jill Risner
Jill Risner marked it as to-read
Jun 16, 2013
Chris Jackson
Chris Jackson marked it as to-read
Jan 31, 2013
Jeff
Jeff added it
Nov 24, 2012
H Singh
H Singh marked it as to-read
Jul 10, 2012
Nikki
Nikki marked it as to-read
Jun 27, 2012
David Burkam
David Burkam marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2012
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
9172
Edward John Moreton Drax Plunkett, 18th Baron of Dunsany was an Anglo-Irish writer and dramatist, notable for his work in fantasy published under the name Lord Dunsany. More than eighty books of his work were published, and his oeuvre includes hundreds of short stories, as well as successful plays, novels and essays. Born to one of the oldest titles in the Irish peerage, he lived much of his life...more
More about Lord Dunsany...
The King of Elfland's Daughter Time and the Gods The Gods of Pegana The Charwoman's Shadow In the Land of Time: And Other Fantasy Tales

Share This Book