Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Delta Green: Through a Glass, Darkly” as Want to Read:
Delta Green: Through a Glass, Darkly
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Delta Green: Through a Glass, Darkly (Delta Green Fiction)

3.79 of 5 stars 3.79  ·  rating details  ·  76 ratings  ·  10 reviews
"Born of the U.S. government's 1928 raid on the degenerate coastal town of Innsmouth, Massachusetts, the covert agency known as Delta Green spent four decades opposing the forces of darkness with honor, but without glory. Stripped of sanction after a disastrous 1969 operation in Cambodia, Delta Green's leaders made a secret pact: to continue their work without authority, w ...more
Nook, 282 pages
Published August 24th 2011 by Arc Dream Publishing
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Delta Green, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Delta Green

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 125)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Max Z
You probably won't like it, if you don't have a good knowledge of Delta Green mythos (too many characters and names with little explanation) but if you do, the book is like a rainbow of setting references. I was expecting a story with low stakes at start but weirdly enough, they've decided to completely rewrite the canon set in the RPG supplements, both the DG and MJ12 state of affairs. This had me baffled until I've googled this bit from the official DG FAQ:

Are the novels and fiction anthologie
...more
Kevin Trainor
This is a big improvement over Denied To The Enemy, Detwiller's first Delta Green novel. Set in the near future, when Delta Green has officially been disbanded (and unofficially continues its work as a collection of rogue cells consisting of Federal agents), this novel mainly covers the climactic struggle between Delta Green and the MAJESTIC-12 committee, which has sold the US and its citizens to the aliens in return for snippets of their technology. Has what may qualify as a happy ending in the ...more
Simon
This is the first Delta Green book that I've not particularly liked.

The problem is it starts out telling one story, and then diverges off to tell another story about characters who haven't been properly introduced, that require you to have read all of the other DG green books to have any idea what is going on and why. And I must have missed one, because I was completely lost about who half the people were.

And given it's about complex government conspiracies...

So yeah. I think this one needed a l
...more
Rickey Russell
Delta Green: Through A Glass Darkly is a blend between science fiction and classic horror story telling. The novel written by Dennis Ditwiller in just one in a series of Delta Green novels that play upon the twisted world created by Lovecraft and reigned by Cthulhu. Through A Glass Darkly starts off with a story already begun. Much in the way classic crime novels or Grisham novels weave tales of black ops and underground organizations hiding in the shadows of society and cleaning the streets of ...more
Robdguk
I am a big delta green rpg fan and found this a good read adding to the rpg, just as much as being a good novel
Gar
This was better than the Delta Green book I read right before it, primarily because the characters in general had a bit more agency and actually did stuff. It retained the same general flaws as "Denied to the Enemy" as quite a few of the scenes didn't really flow together. Characters changed and grew, but all too frequently off-stage, just coming back later different. An early plot hook mostly fizzled out and was resolved more between the lines then with the attention the situation deserved. Tha ...more
Shannon Appelcline
There's some nice action-adventure in this book and some nice weirdness. Unfortunately, I found the rest difficult to follow with a too-large cast of characters getting too little attention and various agencies interacting with each other. I found it particularly difficult that we had a nice weird Mythos plot at the beginning of the book, and then it all became those agencies fighting each other toward the end.
Andre Kruppa
A well written look into the world of Delta Green. A fast moving story with a nice look at how the Lovecraftian Mythos might conflict and interact in the modern world. A good read for any Delta Green role-players and anyone the is a fan of cosmic horror and secret operations battling for the fate of humanity.
Michael Bourgon
A fantastic Conspiracy/Thriller/Cthulhu book, it does a great job both telling a story, and informing how Delta Green has changed in the past decade. It's only fault is that it's hardly a standalone novel - you have to know who Joe Camp is, why Alfonse is named that, what Delta Green even _is_.
Reza
Jan 20, 2012 Reza rated it 5 of 5 stars
Shelves: 2012
Whoa! An intense novel of the Delta Green conspiracy that manages to entertain, and pave the way for the update with the game. For fans of DG, I really recommend it. For people that have no clue what I'm talking about, nothing to see here.
Stefan Grønvik
Stefan Grønvik marked it as to-read
Aug 08, 2015
Alexandra Barnett
Alexandra Barnett marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2015
Féarghal Mac giobúin
Féarghal Mac giobúin marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2015
Uno0
Uno0 is currently reading it
Feb 11, 2015
Darren Mitton
Darren Mitton marked it as to-read
Jan 19, 2015
Jerry Booth
Jerry Booth marked it as to-read
Dec 18, 2014
Coriolan
Coriolan marked it as to-read
Sep 06, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Other Books in the Series

Delta Green Fiction (8 books)
  • Delta Green: Alien Intelligence
  • Delta Green: Dark Theatres (Short Fiction Collection, Delta Green Cthulhu Mythos)
  • Delta Green : The Rules of Engagement
  • Delta Green: Denied to the Enemy
  • Delta Green: Strange Authorities
  • Delta Green: Denied to the Enemy
  • Delta Green: Tales from Failed Anatomies
Delta Green: Denied to the Enemy Delta Green: Denied to the Enemy Godlike: Superhero Roleplaying In A World On Fire, 1936 1946 Delta Green: Eyes Only (Delta Green #3) (Call of Cthulhu) Delta Green: Tales from Failed Anatomies

Share This Book