Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Recession Proof” as Want to Read:
Recession Proof
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Recession Proof

3.57  ·  Rating Details ·  53 Ratings  ·  17 Reviews
Meet Helen. Smart, successful and obliviously trapped. For the past six years, Helen has given her life and her heart to her cushy corporate finance job and to Mark without question. However as the Recession sweeps the Nation, she is one of many left unemployed and with the burning question of what does she really want in life.


RECESSION PROOF is a novel for anyone that has
...more
ebook, 360 pages
Published December 16th 2011 by Smashwords Edition (first published June 10th 2011)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Recession Proof, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Recession Proof

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Kathleen
Dec 09, 2011 Kathleen rated it really liked it
Is living your life without passion in your career or relationship worth it? Would you be happy settling for less than what you really want? Is other people's views of your dreams as being unrealistic holding you back from fulfilling them and leaving you with self-doubt? What if everything you had and worked hard for suddenly disappeared, would you be able to pick up the pieces, and have the desire and drive to live your life the way you really want to? These are the questions that Helen Jenning ...more
Emily
Dec 27, 2011 Emily rated it really liked it
Shelves: chick-lit, reviewed
Helen has a job that sucks the life out of her, a boyfriend of 6 years that is safe and does nothing else for her, that she doesn't even live with, and with no time for it is on the edge of a nervous breakdown. Something has to give, so she moves in with her boyfriend to see if that can save their relationship, her best friend is pregnant and her fiancé is sick, leading Helen to shift some of her focus away from work. Not long later she finds herself unemployed, boyfriend less, ands the support ...more
Mary Gramlich
Feb 12, 2012 Mary Gramlich rated it really liked it
RECESSION PROOF by Kimberly S. Lin

How much do we have to give up in order to obtain what we want?

When you are riding the height of success at work you feel untouchable and that no one can replace you. Helen is right there in the cusp of a great career in Los Angeles that she hates, working for a company she does not respect, and feeling the brush of competition stabbing her in back. When the reality of unemployment provides her with the cold, hard truth of life Helen is in no way prepared to dea
...more
Susan (The Book Bag)
Nov 14, 2011 Susan (The Book Bag) rated it really liked it
This story is about Helen's struggle over what she knows she 'should' do and what she wants to do, to be happy. I imagine that a lot of us struggle with a similar dilemma every day. When Helen loses her job, she has the perfect opportunity to remake her life, as well as having a great friend who is there for her and the resources to be able to take the time to 'figure it out'.

I marked a couple of great lines in the book that I want to share.

'My idea of a good time was always curling up with a b
...more
Berenice
Feb 19, 2012 Berenice rated it really liked it
Helen was trapped in her life and she still didn't know it, after dedicating her time to a job in finance that she didn't love and kept her away from her friends and family while being stuck in a relationship that was clearly going no where.
The twists and turns of life take Helen to a life with unemployment and being single in L.A. where she will have to find out what makes her happy and what dreams are worth following. The road to rediscovery is a bumpy one will Helen chicken out before she fin
...more
Samantha March
Dec 01, 2011 Samantha March rated it really liked it
Kimberly S. Lin is on tour with CLP Blog Tours and her novel Recession Proof. I really enjoyed this book because the topic is one that was and still is so heavy on the majority of people after the recession. The main character is Helen Jennings, a young professional who has been working her tail off as a financial fund analyst. She knows she doesn’t love her job or have any sort of passion for it, but it pays the bills and looks good on paper. Helen also feels like she is settling in her love li ...more
Laura
Apr 08, 2012 Laura rated it it was amazing
I haven't read a Chick-Lit book i've falled in love with this hard in a long time! I gave myself plenty of time before my tour date to read this because i've been reading slower then normal lately (reading slump, blah...) and wanted to prepare myself. This book is 350 pages and normally (if I wasn't that invested in the story) It could take me 4-5 days to read, well I read this book in all of two sittings. I got so engrossed in the story and the characters that I couldn't put the book down and t ...more
Jencey/
Feb 20, 2012 Jencey/ rated it it was amazing
She wrote about the economy and how it can be a journey of personal growth.

Synopsis:
Helen is working in a job that she hates and has a steady boyfriend of six years. Her world should be wonderful and perfect. But is it? Helen has taken jobs and boyfriends more to please others. The pay is great but the experience sucks. Her job isn’t going as well as she thought. Then her steady boyfriend of six years Mark breaks up with her. Helen suddenly finds herself unemployed and deciding what steps to tak
...more
ILoveBooks
Dec 27, 2011 ILoveBooks rated it really liked it


You should aim for your own goal in life, no matter what that goal is. What happens what all of what you've worked so hard to accumulate vanishes? Do you smother yourself in self-doubt? The authors attempt to answer these questions in this book.



Helen finds herself free of a boyfriend, which isn't the worst thing, and free of a job-which is very bad. Instead of wallowing, Helen decides to figure out what she wants from life-both professionally and for her own enjoyment. She sets out to find what
...more
Curse of the Bibliophile
Mar 04, 2012 Curse of the Bibliophile rated it really liked it
“Recession Proof” is a provocative read that really captures the idea of living life to its fullest.
The story was captivating and written very well. I loved this author’s writing style and easy it was to relate to the character.
Helen is a smart successful woman, but soon loses everything because of the recession. I liked seeing how she dealt with a situation that is shared by many during the recession and how she grew as a person because of it. She is very easy to relate to and I found myself tu
...more
Jessica  Sinn (Books and Trouble)
This is a fun and engaging character-driven read. This talented new author proves her understanding of women’s relationships with a style that’s both snappy and heartfelt. Women will absolutely recognize themselves and their friendships on the pages. Fans of Emily Griffin, Jennifer Weiner and Jane Green will enjoy this introspective, sharply realistic and tenderly humorous novel. Don’t get comfortable because you won’t be able to put it down!

For the full review, go to Chick Lit Cafe: http://loon
...more
Vicki
Apr 02, 2012 Vicki rated it liked it
I think everyone would agree that most of the time your idea of what would make you happy is different from what others expect of you. This book is about finding your happiness no matter the concequenses, whether it’s your job, your love life or your friends. At a little over 350 pages, it doesn’t seem that long, in fact it seemed like a short read due to the fact that the characters were engaging and the storyline was always interesting a had a steady flow.

I’d definitely recomend this one.
Marcia
Aug 10, 2014 Marcia rated it did not like it
Absolutely no editing.

She used the phrases all the time and... no one speaks like that "she turned her jet black hair towards me" (that kind of thing - it's not an exact quote).

Unbelievable characters that I really didn't care for one bit.

I would have stopped reading sooner but I had no other fiction on the Kindle!
Michelle
Nov 29, 2011 Michelle rated it really liked it
I love this book! The characters were fabulous, the storyline relatable. My only complaint would be the amount of errors in this book. Maybe hire a fresh set of eyes to assist in the grammatical errors.
Kami
Jun 23, 2013 Kami rated it it was amazing
I loved this book because it was so easy to read and follow!! I very rarely say I couldn't put a book down and this is one I just knew I had to keep reading...

I hope Kimberly writes more to this story, I'd definitely like to see what happens next.
Kelley Cole
Jan 08, 2013 Kelley Cole rated it it was ok
Story was cute but sooooo many grammatical errors. Very distracting.
Lisa
Lisa rated it really liked it
May 18, 2012
Jennifer
Jennifer rated it liked it
Jan 16, 2013
Jill Leach
Jill Leach rated it liked it
May 30, 2015
Sara
Sara rated it it was ok
Jun 10, 2013
Kirsten
Kirsten rated it liked it
Sep 09, 2013
Myram Rubyn
Myram Rubyn rated it liked it
Aug 27, 2012
Alicia
Alicia rated it really liked it
Nov 06, 2012
Zachary Harless
Zachary Harless rated it it was amazing
Jun 21, 2015
Samantha March
Samantha March rated it really liked it
Dec 01, 2011
Laura Chapman
Laura Chapman rated it really liked it
Mar 13, 2012
Susan
Susan rated it liked it
Nov 23, 2012
Lisa (Lost in Lit)
Lisa (Lost in Lit) rated it really liked it
Dec 11, 2011
Stacey Donaldson
Stacey Donaldson rated it really liked it
Mar 12, 2012
Agata
Agata rated it liked it
Sep 23, 2012
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • With Just One Click...
  • The Last Page
  • Breaking Even
  • The Last Iteration Of Dexter Maxwell (The Last Iteration, #1)
  • Ghost Circuit
  • Hollywood Ending
  • The Darling Girls
  • The Stone Lion
  • A Year to Remember
  • This Is Chick-lit
  • Write from the Heart
  • Blessed and Betrayed
  • Kissing Frogs in Cyberspace
  • Staged
  • And The Winner Is (The Adventures of Marty Peters)
  • Secrets of the Hollywood Girls Club (Hollywood Girls Club, #2)
  • Last-Minute Love
  • The Single Wife

Share This Book