The Evil that Befell Sampson
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

The Evil that Befell Sampson (Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences short story 1.1)

4.04 of 5 stars 4.04  ·  rating details  ·  28 ratings  ·  5 reviews
Eliza D Braun is a young field agent in the Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences (South Pacific Branch) when she is asked by New Zealand's preeminent suffragist to investigate some strange goings within the organisation.

She cannot possibly imagination that this little case will alter her entire life and thrust her into a world barely prepared for her.
Kindle Edition, 1st Edition, 15 pages
Published August 23rd 2011 by ImagineThat! Studios
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 72)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
I'll admit to being a little bit impressed here. Philippa Ballantine and Tee Morris have created a wonderful steam punk world with their first book "Phoenix Rising" and they have continued to impress and surprise me with the first of the "Tales from the Archives". This story gives the background of Eliza Braun, one of the main characters in the original story. Although the kindle version of this story is now available as a "99 cent dreadful" and is exactly the same as the audio version, I highly...more
Melissa Hayden
Eliza is summoned to visit with Mrs. Kate Shepard, her ideal and hopefully to be her mother-in-law, who has need of Eliza's expertise with questionable happenings; women of the suffrage changing their minds and sides. A Mr. Fish seems to be visiting these women as Eliza finds, with a persuasive bracelet ~ the Circlet of Dalila, and item from the Archives gone missing while on loan. Kate and her suffrage's petition to Parliament could be in danger...

When the story started we got to hear both Agen...more
"The Evil that Befell Sampson" is the back-story for The Janus Affair, although events take place prior to Phoenix Rising. Chronologically then it could be considered "Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences .5", but I would suggest readers hold off reading it until after (at least) reading Phoenix Rising. I think it was much more fun to jump into Phoenix Rising completely fresh and let the characters unfold. But fans of these two books will probably be interested in reading this story, Eliza D. Braun'...more
This was a bit shorter than I hoped. I think a bit more story would have made this awesome. The problem I have with a lot of short stories is they are too short and not much seems to happen. Since this was only $1, I can't complain too much.

This does explain why Eliza left New Zealand, but I wish there had been some more info about her life & family.

It's still worth reading though.
Neat to get the backstory on the protagonist.
Jamie Chang
Jamie Chang marked it as to-read
Feb 13, 2014
Dave Olsher
Dave Olsher marked it as to-read
Jan 29, 2014
Ann marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2014
Rozlynn marked it as to-read
Jan 11, 2014
Adelia Adamhar
Adelia Adamhar marked it as to-read
Dec 22, 2013
Shirley Mccrudden
Shirley Mccrudden marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2013
Samantha marked it as to-read
Oct 19, 2013
estonia marked it as to-read
Sep 11, 2013
Bonnie marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Denae added it
Jun 28, 2013
Laura marked it as to-read
May 11, 2013
Igraine marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2013
Yinzadi marked it as to-read
Mar 14, 2013
Jodi marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2013
Illium marked it as to-read
Jan 23, 2013
Vilde (vforvilde)
Vilde (vforvilde) marked it as to-read
Dec 14, 2012
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Born and raised in Wellington, New Zealand, Philippa is a writer and podcaster of fantasy fiction.
Immersed in books from an early age, she moved onto to become a librarian. She'd been dreaming of being a writer since a teenager, but in the last ten years she's devoted herself to it.
She's the author of the Books of the Order series from Ace Books. Geist, Spectyr, Wrayth (2012) and Harbinger (2013)...more
More about Philippa Ballantine...
Geist (Book of the Order, #1) Spectyr (Book of the Order, #2) Wrayth (Book of the Order, #3) Chasing the Bard (Fey #1) Harbinger (Book of the Order, #4)

Share This Book