The Calypso Directive
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
read excerpt

The Calypso Directive

by
3.95 of 5 stars 3.95  ·  rating details  ·  57 ratings  ·  27 reviews
An unprecedented genetic mutation, an underground think tank, and an unscrupulous pharmaceutical company collide in this dazzling debut thriller.

For one hundred and fifty-five days, Will Foster has been locked in medical quarantine without his consent. The doctors claim he is infected with a deadly virus, but this is a lie. Encoded in his DNA is a mutation that provides im...more
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published April 1st 2012 by Arcade
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 1,461)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
David Caldwell
I won a copy on Goodreads Firstreads.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes action/adventure stories or medical thrillers.Fans of Michael Crichton or Mission Impossible should definitely give it a try.

This is an adventure story with lots of action.It may remind you of a lot of other books from this genre, but that would be misleading.While it may share elements with other books,it definitely has its own voice.There is the medical thriller aspect, lots of thrills and action,suspense,and...more
Amy Rogers
ScienceThrillers.com review: The Calypso Directive is a debut science thriller by Brian Andrews, a U.S. Navy submariner and all-around smart guy who did his homework on this one. As described in the back cover summary, this novel is a variant on the thriller theme of wronged/imprisoned/framed good guy escapes evil government/corporation/syndicate and goes on the run to clear his name/save his life/etc.

Andrews brings some exciting additions to this storyline. First, and for us at ScienceThrillers...more
Billie
This review is based on a free copy of the book received from the author through the Goodreads Advance Reader process.

I originally thought this story was about the Calypso Detective but the real name better describes this book.

Will foster is our protagonist and he is not having a great day. A fact that repeats the last 154 days he has been held incognito against his will based on an assertion that he carries a disease that would be fatal to anyone he comes in contact with. The only problem is th...more
Keith Johnson
The book starts off somewhat slowly, and with no sense of urgency. The story is interesting and there is much to explain, so the slow start was understandable. The second half of the book is written very well, and the action accelerates quickly. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough to find out what would happen to the hero and heroine. It is difficult to write action scenes satisfactorily, but Andrews does so. The end of the book is written well and leaves the possibility of sequel. I am freque...more
Alexandra Reid
This book was very different from any other book I read before. It was very enjoyable and kept me captivated from start to finish. The main point about the book is the for 155 days, Will Foster was locked up in quartine because the doctors claimed he had a deadly virus. But that was a total lie, his DNA is a mutation that provides immunity from all diseases. Against all odds, Foster escapes his laboratory prison and steals a virulent strain of bubonic plague as insurance. To help him unravel the...more
Jake
I ordered this book on online, and they shipped it to me last week before the release date? Anyway, I was hooked after the first chapter, and I read it in four days. The story is somewhat reminiscent of Bourne Identity (i.e., a guy trying to piece together a mystery while he is being chased). Besides the main character, Will, there is this think tank group that gets involved and it reminded me of the TV show Alias. I found the supporting characters to be more interesting than the main characters...more
Carrie A.
A book I could not put down! Calyplso Directive kept me on the edge of my seat to the end of the book. I can't wait to read Brian Andrews' 'Ring of Flowers' as well! Being a molecular and cellular biology student, I found this book absolutely fascinating as well as entertaining. It will be suggested to staff and students alike throughout the bio department! An amazing story that really makes you think about what could happen as we gain more and more biological information. Recommended for everyo...more
Christine
May 17, 2012 Christine marked it as to-read
Shelves: wish-list
Read the first chapter online and even if I don't win this First-read I'm going to buy it!
Victor Gentile
Brian Andrews in his new book, “The Calypso Directive” published by Arcade Publishing brings us into the life of Will Foster.

From the back cover: An unprecedented genetic mutation, an underground think tank, and an unscrupulous pharmaceutical company collide in this dazzling debut thriller.

For one hundred and fifty-five days, Will Foster has been locked in medical quarantine without his consent. The doctors claim he is infected with a deadly virus, but this is a lie. Encoded in his DNA is a muta...more
Louise
A Terrific Thriller!

The novel starts off with a daring escape sequence and the pace never slows down. It is the kind of book you want get back to reading as soon as possbile. I would categorize this book as a science thriller, but don't let that scare you. The author delves into the science behind how the immune system works, and I always enjoy novels where I learn something besides just rooting for the characters.

The heart of the story follows Will Foster (an Average Joe) who unknowingly posse...more
Felecia
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Georgia
A great addition to the thriller fiction books. It had a feel of the Jason Bourne books with some of Leverage the television series.

I will admit that it felt slow at the start with a lot of exposition and explanation. The concept though was intriguing, focusing on the possibility of one man having the key to immunity to all diseases and viruses. The question of what should be done with such information is certainly interesting and thought provoking and it is touched upon throughout the book. Th...more
Darlene
THE CALYPSO DIRECTIVE is a fast-paced thriller by Brian Andrews. You can keep your vampires, zombies, and werewolves. This is the REAL scary stuff.

I received a free, autographed copy of THE CALYPSO DIRECTIVE from Mr. Andrews with an intriguing “P.S. 25% of you is patented!” as part of my personal autograph. I was hooked before I even began to read. LOL

From back cover:
“An unprecedented genetic mutation, an underground think tank, and an unscrupulous pharmaceutical company collide in this dazzlin...more
Jeffrey Wilson
THE CALYPSO DIRECTIVE is one of the most exciting and refreshing science thrillers I have read in years! Brian Andrews has clearly established himself as a rising star of the thriller genre with his debut novel. He is able to blend legitimate science and medicine with nail biting action and adventure in a way not easily done and very remoniscent of Michael Crichton. I found it difficult to put this book down as Andrews drives the plot along at a break neck pace, all the while expanding your imag...more
Donald
This was a Goodreads giveaway freebie. Thank you to both the author and Goodreads.

This was a fast-paced thriller that starts with a bang and doesn't take a breath to slow down. A lot of the DNA/immuno-stuff I wasn't familiar with but seems to be pretty thouroughly researched and the author explains it well without letting it bog down the story.

The main characters are easy to root for, though between the pace and the length of the book along with the number of characters, I felt like I would have...more
Charity
Apr 16, 2012 Charity marked it as to-read
I am overwhelmingly interested in readimg this book. I am a research scientist and believe that the book would be a great escape.
Bird
This book might be a good choice for you if you like...

1. A lot of extraneous details thrown in. For example, Meredith doesn't just turn on her computer. She turns on her "13 inch aluminum-cased MacBook Pro laptop."

2. Books with big casts of characters. There are a lot of side characters running around, and sometimes I couldn't remember who each of them were, especially since they're sometimes referred to by first name, and sometimes by last.

3. Books told with many different POV characters, incl...more
Sean Randall
Though I enjoyed this, there was a spark missing that kept my thrillomitre going. Things seemed ever so slightly too contrived, the internal com chatter of the think tank team was a little overdone. Still, it was big budget action on quite a grand scale, would've been a pretty good movie in the style of Dan Brown.
Diane Saul
A "can't put down" first novel. Will Foster has been quarantined for 155 days without his consent because he has a deadly virus, but it's all a lie. He actually has a mutation in his DNA that provides immunity to disease for anyone who has the mutation. He is being used as an unwilling human experiment by a pharmaceutical company hoping to decode the mutation and market it as gene therapy that will make them billions. Against all odds Will escapes the secure facility and the action takes off. Ca...more
Tiffany
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Alain Lambert
This book started with great promise. then, the story became void of suspense or thrills. This is not on the level of some of Crichton's writting. The main character escapes, then the bad and good people try to find him without much else going on. I was hoping for a more complex story.
Mary Steiner
This is a free book from Goodreads First Reads. I suppose I couldn't buy-in to the storyline. This book didn't work for me on any level. I hope you don't let my negativism hold you back from reading this book. Enough said.
Gail
3 1/2 stars. Well written and interesting. I found all the genetic information fascinating for the most part. I liked the main character Will and felt great sympathy for his plight.
Doreen Dalesandro
Genre: bio-thriller
Rating: 3.75
I listened to this book.

OK, I'm ready for book 2...

Ray Childs does a great job narrating!
Patty
Looks and sounds awesome cant wait to read it..
Patricia
Sep 07, 2012 Patricia marked it as to-read
If only I could be so lucky to win!!!
Ivan
Ivan marked it as to-read
Jul 29, 2014
Vinay
Vinay marked it as to-read
Jul 21, 2014
Ashley
Ashley marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2014
Don
Don marked it as to-read
May 30, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 48 49 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
BOOK CLUBS: Discussion & Reading Questions 1 3 Jun 29, 2012 02:00PM  
Call for Book Blogger Reviews 1 4 May 29, 2012 02:08PM  
  • Vengeance
  • Memoria (Memoria, #1)
  • Falling Night
  • Exit Darkness, Enter Light (Earth Cycle, #1)
  • The Jackal's Share (Ben Webster, #3)
  • A Balance Broken (The Dragonsoul Saga, #1)
  • Nine Lives
  • Deadgirl
  • Three Wishes
  • Tattooed (Kate Lange #3)
  • Wide Open
  • What smiled at him
  • The Emerald Tablet (Legends of Amun Ra, #1)
  • The Colonel's Mistake
  • Tiger Born
  • Bone Machine
  • Forever Man
  • Reality Bites: Tales of a Half-Vampire
5155903
Midwest born and raised, Brian is a US Navy Veteran who served as a Lieutenant aboard a 688 class nuclear submarine in the Pacific Theater.

He graduated from Vanderbilt University with a degree in psychology. He is a Park Leadership Fellow and has a Masters degree from Cornell University’s Johnson School. Brian lives in “Tornado Alley” with his wife and three daughters.

Say hello on Facebook: www.f...more
More about Brian Andrews...
Ring of Flowers

Share This Book