Waltz of Shadows
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Waltz of Shadows

3.67 of 5 stars 3.67  ·  rating details  ·  96 ratings  ·  16 reviews
Bill, a jobless 24-year-old, is in desperate trouble. He’s being framed by some very unsavory acquaintances for a series of sadistic murders, and is in possession of a particularly gruesome photo album. Backed into a corner, he calls his uncle Hank, and in the process draws the mild-mannered family man into a dark world of unspeakable horror, where people with names like F...more
ebook
Published July 2011 by Gere Donovan Press (first published 1999)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 180)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Roberta
oe Lansdale è un famoso autore texano non solo prolifico, ma anche versatile. Egli è profondamente influenzato dalla sua cultura texana (su wikipedia viene citata la sua frase "Il Texas è uno stato mentale"), dalla letteratura pulp (oltre alla letteratura in generale) dai B-movie e dalla passione per i fumetti. I suoi romanzi spaziano dal pulp al western alla fantascienza ai romanzi di formazione, inoltre è un esperto di arti marziali e scrittore di fumetti. Per una lista completa della produzio...more
Gregg
Normally, I'm a slow reader. I devoured this book in about a week. This is one hell of a story that has a little but of everything: action, suspense, horror.... I guess what really gripped me was how real this story seemed. Makes you wonder about the truth behind some of the news stories and headlines you see and read about. Top-notch story that is a rollercoaster ride through Lansdale country. This is a must read!
Marvin
There is no mistaking this violent East Texas thriller with any other writer but Lansdale. All the hallmark signs are there except maybe the non-stop wisecracks and wit. It is there but not as plentiful as in the Hap and Leonard novels. Waltz of Shadows seems more serious and this may be the problem. It is a fairly conventional crime noir/revenge tale without the usual Lansdale twists. Yet it is still Lansdale so it is a cut above the more usual mainstream efforts. While I enjoyed it I would not...more
Lightblue
Premetto che Lansdale e' uno dei miei scrittori preferiti, ma qui mi ha un po' deluso. Tutto gia' letto in altri suoi libri e tantissima violenza gratuita. Gli do la sufficienza per alcune scene descritte che sono davvero godibili!
Trent Zelazny
Lansdale, as always, proves that he is a master. I dunno how I'd missed this one, but it did not disappoint. Suspense, action, horror, drama, beautifully put together, making Waltz of Shadows one hell of a read.
Matteo Pellegrini

Il fratellastro di Hank, Earl, ha un figlio di nome Bill, che è entrato a far parte del Disaster Club, composto da giovani malviventi con una vera fissazione per il sesso e l'omicidio. Durante una delle loro aggressioni, le cose non vanno secondo i piani, e due del gruppo rimangono uccisi, mentre Bill riesce a fuggire; il giovane decide di rifugiarsi proprio dallo zio Hank, dato che il branco lo incolpa della morte dei compagni e chiede vendetta. Una vendetta che incombe sulla tranquilla vita di

...more
Trev Twinem
Now don't get me wrong I did enjoy this book, it's brutal in its delivery and the evil prevalent through the eyes of two characters is stomach churning and not for the faint hearted but necessary as the author draws a picture of innocence and evil....evil that comes calling one day into the lives of Hank Small, his wife Bev and two lovely kids...not forgetting the dog Wylie..ah the good old American homestead :) Hanks nephew Bill (who himself has some serious sexual/psycho problems!) calls on go...more
Cheryl
Joe Lansdale is one of my favorite authors of all time. Two of us books - The Bottoms and A Fine Dark Line - are on my Top Ten book list of all time.

I had read some of the reviews of "Waltz of Shadows" and wasn't quite sure what to expect. I shouldn't have worried because Lansdale is THE master storyteller.

He brings his usual mix of good guys, flawed good guys, slimy guys and truly vile human specimens together to waltz to Lansdale's own internal warped 3/4 time music.

I like Hank Small and his f...more
Rob Errera
Joe Lansdale is a master storyteller and Waltz of Shadows is no exception. Like many of Lansdale's novels, this is a tale of family, and the bonds that tie us to one another. It's also the story of death-defying thrill seekers, cheating husbands, corrupt cops, child pornographers, and a henchman with horrendous body odor. It's a wild ride, indeed! Despite these outrageous plot elements, Lansdale touches on some serious issues as well, treating them with his magic touch of humor and powerful pros...more
Godzilla
This is a lot darker that Joe Lansdale's usual fayre - there are some comic descriptions, but the story is fairly unrelentingly bleak.

As ever the characters leap off the page at you, and the dialogue crackles.

Whilst there's always some violence in his books, this is far more graphic and unsettling.

Fans of Hap and Leonard books will recognise the style, but the pallette is much darker here, and the brushstrokes less refined.

It's still a page turner, and he draws you in to this tale of family, red...more
David
Read in Late June and finished July 3rd 2007. I sped through this and would like to read more. It is raw, he does not spare the details of gory killings. The main character is a married man with two kids and a wife and a chain of video stores. He has to help his nephew. In order to do that he patches things up with an estranged half-brother. The trail to the bad guys is twisted and ends with two very twisted folks.
Kiara
C'è poco da fare: Lansdale mi conquista sempre! Non faccio in tempo a provare raccapriccio davanti alle scene più forti e violente(e in questo libro non mancano di certo descrizioni anche dettagliate), che subito mi trovo a ridere per uno scambio di battute tra i protagonisti. Sempre originale e scritto benissimo, si legge con scioltezza e ....dispiace solo che finisca troppo velocemente!
Giorgiaelisa
Libro crudele che mi ha risucchiata nelle sue spire malate. La violenza che si respira è quasi insopprtabile (sopratutto nei primi capitoli), ma il modo in cui Lansdale descrive il suo Texas è magica e ti fa digerire tutto il resto.
John
A relentlessly brutal and surprisingly unsatisfying crime novel. Pure pulp, with only a few flashes of the poetry that Lansdale's prose usually contains. For Lansdale completists only.
Andrew
A pretty good little yarn, but it is probably missing a few things. This was supposed to be Joe's mainstream book, I don't quite see how that could be. Still fun though.
G.N.
A very good read from Joe Lansdale. Dark, gritty and very pacy.
Love it!
Francesca
Francesca marked it as to-read
Jul 04, 2014
Mapina
Mapina added it
May 12, 2014
Robert
Robert marked it as to-read
Apr 11, 2014
Amanda
Amanda marked it as to-read
Apr 08, 2014
Waltoc
Waltoc added it
Apr 07, 2014
bryan orr
bryan orr marked it as to-read
Mar 30, 2014
Whitneylife
Whitneylife marked it as to-read
Mar 16, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
58971
Joe R. Lansdale is the winner of the British Fantasy Award, the American Horror Award, the Edgar Award, and six Bram Stoker Awards. He lives in Nacogdoches, Texas.
More about Joe R. Lansdale...
The Bottoms Mucho Mojo (Hap Collins and Leonard Pine, #2) Savage Season (Hap Collins and Leonard Pine, #1) The Two-Bear Mambo (Hap Collins and Leonard Pine, #3) Edge of Dark Water

Share This Book