Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Free Country” as Want to Read:
Free Country
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Free Country (Paul Dark #2)

by
3.46  ·  Rating Details  ·  37 Ratings  ·  5 Reviews
Blackmailed into serving Moscow, double agent Paul Dark now finds himself a target for both exposure and assassination. Desperate to escape his predicament, Dark gambles everything on one last throw of the dice, exposing his Soviet handler to the British. But before long, he finds he has no choice but to go on the run again.
Paperback, 352 pages
Published August 1st 2011 by Pocket Books (first published August 1st 2010)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Free Country, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Free Country

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 72)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Nick Brett
The second book in this series and you need to read them in order. Refreshingly set in the 60’s and with an anti-hero of a Soviet double agent in the British intelligence service, his is an old fashioned proper spy series. Unusually there appear to be very few “good guys” as different agendas and conspiracies clog up everyone’s motives.
This didn’t quite grab me like the first one, but it is still an entertaining read with considerable pace. Paul Dark has escaped being identified as a double agen
...more
Miles
Aug 13, 2011 Miles rated it really liked it
May 1, 1969. Blackmailed into serving Moscow, double agent Paul Dark now finds himself a target for both exposure, and assassination. Desperate to escape his predicament, Dark gambles everything on one last throw of the dice, exposing his Soviet handler to the British. But before long, he finds he has no choice but to go on the run again, and the race is on to stop a deadly conspiracy that dates back to the early years of the Cold War. The second part of the Paul Dark trilogy, Song of Treason is ...more
Speesh
Sep 20, 2013 Speesh rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
As befits it's late '60's setting (you can't get much later '60's than 1969 I guess), this actually IS a real old-school, page-turning "spy thriller in the tradition of Len Deighton and Frederick Forsyth." As Len Deighton also wrote a lot of cookery books, I'm guessing the person writing the blurb on the back was thinking more of Deighton's spy thriller work, rather than one of his recipes for pasta sauce. Having said that, this is a succulent, spicy blend of thrills and spills, seasoned with de ...more
Kieron Wathall
Feb 15, 2016 Kieron Wathall rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I would of finished this earlier if it wasn't for me working. This is a fast paced thriller, amazing story line, the plot changes massively through the last 100 pages, I couldn't put the book the down and I wasn't sure I would like it when I started reading it.

All in all good read, would recommend to anyone who is into thrillers.
Ian  Cann
Feb 11, 2014 Ian Cann rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Gripping fast pace thriller in the style of Len Deighton, will definitely be seeking out the other two parts of this trilogy.
Clive Shaw
Clive Shaw rated it liked it
Aug 04, 2016
Jeffrey
Jeffrey rated it liked it
Jul 25, 2016
J.T. Patten
J.T. Patten marked it as to-read
Jul 19, 2016
John McDonald
John McDonald rated it liked it
Jun 28, 2016
Greg Royce
Greg Royce rated it really liked it
May 28, 2016
Victoria
Victoria marked it as to-read
Apr 24, 2016
Rich Allen
Rich Allen rated it really liked it
Apr 05, 2016
Anna
Anna marked it as to-read
Mar 28, 2016
Robin
Robin rated it really liked it
Mar 26, 2016
Nicholas Meadows
Nicholas Meadows rated it it was amazing
Mar 09, 2016
Kevinhooks
Kevinhooks marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2016
Tina
Tina marked it as to-read
Feb 06, 2016
Dylan
Dylan marked it as to-read
Jan 03, 2016
Jacob Stelling
Jacob Stelling rated it really liked it
Apr 14, 2016
Giles Guest
Giles Guest marked it as to-read
Feb 16, 2016
Dj
Dj added it
Aug 18, 2015
Lauren Ubaldo
Lauren Ubaldo rated it it was ok
Jul 15, 2015
Tony Pascarella
Tony Pascarella rated it liked it
Dec 31, 2015
Chris
Chris rated it really liked it
Apr 28, 2015
Michael
Michael rated it liked it
May 03, 2015
Lesley
Lesley marked it as to-read
Mar 15, 2015
Seth Thibault
Seth Thibault rated it really liked it
Feb 01, 2015
Gary Turner
Gary Turner marked it as to-read
Jan 26, 2015
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
2958978
Jeremy Duns was born in 1973 and read English literature at St Catherine's College, Oxford. He lives in the Åland islands.
More about Jeremy Duns...

Other Books in the Series

Paul Dark (4 books)
  • Free Agent
  • The Moscow Option
  • Spy Out the Land

Share This Book