Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Free Country” as Want to Read:
Free Country
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Free Country (A Spy Trilogy #2)

by
3.58 of 5 stars 3.58  ·  rating details  ·  19 ratings  ·  3 reviews
Blackmailed into serving Moscow, double agent Paul Dark now finds himself a target for both exposure and assassination. Desperate to escape his predicament, Dark gambles everything on one last throw of the dice, exposing his Soviet handler to the British. But before long, he finds he has no choice but to go on the run again.
Paperback, 352 pages
Published August 1st 2011 by Pocket Books (first published August 1st 2010)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Free Country, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Free Country

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 37)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Miles
May 1, 1969. Blackmailed into serving Moscow, double agent Paul Dark now finds himself a target for both exposure, and assassination. Desperate to escape his predicament, Dark gambles everything on one last throw of the dice, exposing his Soviet handler to the British. But before long, he finds he has no choice but to go on the run again, and the race is on to stop a deadly conspiracy that dates back to the early years of the Cold War. The second part of the Paul Dark trilogy, Song of Treason is ...more
Speesh
As befits it's late '60's setting (you can't get much later '60's than 1969 I guess), this actually IS a real old-school, page-turning "spy thriller in the tradition of Len Deighton and Frederick Forsyth." As Len Deighton also wrote a lot of cookery books, I'm guessing the person writing the blurb on the back was thinking more of Deighton's spy thriller work, rather than one of his recipes for pasta sauce. Having said that, this is a succulent, spicy blend of thrills and spills, seasoned with de ...more
Ian  Cann
Gripping fast pace thriller in the style of Len Deighton, will definitely be seeking out the other two parts of this trilogy.
Maaike
Maaike marked it as to-read
Oct 14, 2014
Tyler
Tyler marked it as to-read
Aug 20, 2014
Martin Sharp
Martin Sharp marked it as to-read
May 23, 2014
Sandra
Sandra marked it as to-read
May 08, 2014
Courtney
Courtney marked it as to-read
Apr 29, 2014
Kim
Kim marked it as to-read
Apr 24, 2014
Peter Russell
Peter Russell marked it as to-read
Apr 24, 2014
Ralph
Ralph marked it as to-read
Sep 20, 2013
Jason Manford
Jason Manford marked it as to-read
Jun 18, 2013
Lee Kaserer
Lee Kaserer marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2012
Damien
Damien marked it as to-read
Oct 15, 2012
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
2958978
Jeremy Duns was born in 1973 and grew up mainly in Africa and Asia. He read English literature at St Catherine's College, Oxford, after which he worked as a journalist in Brussels for seven years. He lives in Stockholm, Sweden, with his wife and two children.
More about Jeremy Duns...
Free Agent The Moscow Option The Dark Chronicles: A Spy Trilogy: Free Agent; Song of Treason; The Moscow Option Rogue Royale: The Lost Bond Film by the 'Shakespeare of Hollywood' Dead Drop: The True Story of Oleg Penkovsky and the Cold War's Most Dangerous Operation

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »