Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “McKenna” as Want to Read:
McKenna
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

McKenna (American Girl of the Year)

by
4.25 of 5 stars 4.25  ·  rating details  ·  597 ratings  ·  52 reviews
Ten-year-old McKenna has always been a good student-and great at gymnastics. So when her grades suddenly begin to fall, her teacher suggests a little extra help from a tutor. McKenna is horrified until she meets her tutor, Josie, a super-confident girl who also happens to be in a wheelchair. Josie encourages McKenna to focus on her strengths and work toward her goals one d ...more
Hardcover, 124 pages
Published December 27th 2011 by American Girl Publishing Inc (first published December 2011)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about McKenna, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about McKenna

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 969)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Sarah
Nov 14, 2012 Sarah rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: 5th grade girls
Shelves: books-i-own
I thought this was a great book, about a girl who dose gymnastics, She isn' t doing so well at school so she gets tutored. She broke her leg an has to stop gymnastics fir a while. Will her leg get better do she can get onto the competitive team or will she have to wait? Will she get better at school? Read the book to find out . It is an realistic fiction, it's also an easy read.
Kaitlynn
The book McKenna written by Mary Casanova resemkbles a young girl who wants to acheive in gymnastics, but has poor gradses so her parents do not allow her too so her grades will go up and she gets an injury on this journey. Its writing is effecting and moving because it shows you that it is important to be safe and happy with what you have. This book is part of a series and I may continue to read the series, but I am not 100% sure. If you like gymnastics you would like this book and also if you ...more
Xyra
Jan 31, 2012 Xyra rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Any girl.
I really like the American Girl books. If I were the right age bracket I'd probably give 5 stars; but where I am I've seen a few similar situations that don't resovle quite as nicely.
Mckenna deals with a lot in these pages: not getting what she wants, overcoming embarrassment, dealing with her own and other's jealousies, prejudice, poor sportsmanship, deception, and physical injury. She doesn't do it alone; she has many coaches.
Even I learned a bit from this story. Josie and McKenna reminded me
...more
Christine Marie
Jan 20, 2012 Christine Marie rated it 5 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: American Girl, gymnastics, and school lover
Recommended to Christine by: Me
I am quite a few years older than McKenna, yet I could relate immensely to her story. When I was her age, and younger, I did gymnastics, too. I loved her telling of her days there, and thought there was just enough of that in book. I could also relate to her stories with homework, staying up late to finish an assignment, using classical music to focus, trying hard to make school work,persevering, etc. I also liked her breathing gray sky credo a lot. I used it at school and at home. I tell myself ...more
Megan M.
this is n expiring book!!! possibly the best book ive read so far.!!!!! its about a girl named mckenna. she loves gymnastics and shes shooting for the cometitive team and is also falling behind in school. her parents tell her to get a tuter. She gets a tutor her name is julie. they do lots of things together they went together on vacation and get gifts for each other but, mckenna is afraid to tell her friends she has a tutor. her friends find out and she looses focus on the day of her competitio ...more
Lucy
It was good but I didn't like it that much. You should see the movie! It's really good.
Callie Stillion
Oh no! McKenna`s life is for gymnastics. But when she hears about getting a tutor, she tries to keep it a secret. But when her best friend, Toulane asks what she`s being after school, McKenna makes an excuse. She says that she`s getting more gymnastics coaching, but Toulane says back, 'Just so you can get ahead of us! How mean!' But one day she and Sierra come into the library, and they find McKenna getting tutored. Toulane says, 'You lied! I`m hurt!' Then she and Sierra run off. But when they a ...more
Sarah
A great story about choices a child makes as they grow up. Well done!
Cheryl Gatling
My daughter loves her new McKenna doll. The book that came with her, not so much. When we read a book together that fascinates her, she prods me. "Can we read? Can we read?" With McKenna, I ended up prodding her. It's a sweet little story. McKenna loves gymnastics, but is falling behind at school, so she gets a tutor, who happens to be an older girl in a wheelchair. McKenna is too embarrassed to tell her friends, so when they find out, it's awkward. I liked McKenna's supportive family. Her mom, ...more
Carolyn
Sarah is now very into American Girl dolls. And listening to me read the books aloud. We have read the Kitt Kittridge series and now these two. My knowledge of the books are based on that somewhat small sample of AG books (there are quite a few). The Kitt books I loved. Good writing, historic details about the Depression, character building problems (Kitt is concerned about helping the family make it financially). The "girl of the year" books don't offer the historical piece because they are cur ...more
TheHyperHufflepuff
This book is well-written and intriguing. Unlike some American Girl books, the quality of the writing was spectacular. It is a very interesting storyline. Also, it is nice to have a dyslexic American Girl. McKenna struggles with reading comprehension, which is relatable to many girls her age. Overall, this is a very good book, as is the second book of the series.
Hannah
I LOVE McKenna!!!!! She is darling to me, being my very first American Girl doll. Her book relates to me very much, me being 11. I love gymnastics. Definitely recommend, even though McKenna isn't available anymore.
Haidyn
Sep 10, 2014 Haidyn rated it 5 of 5 stars
Shelves: 2014
McKenna and Toulane are best friends. Sierra is the newest member on McKenna's gymnastics team. McKenna cheated on her quiz trying to get the answers from one of her friends named Elizabeth. i just love the hole book.
Luvbooks
McKenna wants to be on the competitive team for gymnastics, but it's so hard! But, when McKenna has an accident (she breaks her ankle) at gymnastics she is bumped out of gymnastics for a while.
It's surprising to hear that she still makes it to the competitive team!
One of the most embarrassing parts for McKenna in this book was when McKenna had a tutor!

I love this book. It is the best book in the world! I even watched the movie of McKenna!
Tarissa
McKenna is another great story from the American Girl series!

Since McKenna is a gymnast, many terms about gymnastics are used, which I found interesting. It helped add fine details to the story. Also, I enjoyed reading about Josie, a girl who uses a wheelchair to get around---the part she contributes to the story is quite inspiring. The full-page illustrations are neat, clean, & crisp! I thought the style of the pictures flowed well with the style of writing. Throughout the story, many books
...more
Ashley
Even though this is more of a children's book, I really enjoyed it! McKenna is a girl who loves gymnastics but has fallen behind in school, so she has to get a tutor to help her catch up on her 4th-grade reading skills. Her tutor, Josie, is handicapped, but she is super smart and becomes one of Mckenna's most loyal and best friends. The American Girl stories all have great role models and important messages, some things that are a little harder to find in some of our media and world today. The s ...more
Katie Fitzgerald
I like Mary Casanova's storytelling style, and I felt like I got to know McKenna's character really well. Parents who seek out books devoid of angst, kissing, and superficial concerns will find the McKenna books a welcome alternative to some of the heavier middle grade books out there, and a nice contemporary read-alike for American Girl's historical novels. I prefer the Kanani books, because I think the characters and setting in those were better-developed, but the McKenna books are solid stori ...more
Lisa
Good book

It was a good book I enjoyed it a lot and related to
It to that is why I liked it
Cassy J.
I thought it was a very good book. it was basically about a girl whos hopes and dreams was to become a pro. gymnast. she has been struggling in school and her parents begin to decide that the reason she is failing is becuase gymnastics is in her way. she goes through many obsatcles and issues throughout this book and ends up finding out that life is not always abot gymnastics. After getting tutured and going through much help, she finally was doing better and was ready to make it to the top. i w ...more
May
True to life. a good realistc fiction novel. this can not be put down
Payton
Gymnastics is my favorite sport, so I loved it!!
Nawaf
I didn't even read the book.
Emily
May 18, 2014 Emily added it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Felicity The Magnificent
I liked this book because there was an American Girl named McKenna. She was just starting fourth grade, and she went to gymnastics. She wasn't finishing her schoolwork on time, and so she had to bring it home and do it. She had to have a tutor. McKenna's tutors name was Josie. One day when they were on vacation, McKenna finally finished her schoolwork on time. In gymnastics, they were doing a little show, and McKenna broke her leg. -by Felicity
Alyssa
I read this to preview whether it's a good book to read to Cori (my 4 year old). Nope. It's definitely for the 3rd or 4th grade crowd. As far as books aimed at 9 year olds go, it was pretty good. I liked the focus of the book was on McKenna's struggle with learning to balance things in her life (gymnastics and school). I think it's a great theme for children (and probably some adults). The writing was very readable and enjoyable.
Kristine Pratt
McKenna is an aspiring gymnast who is getting somewhat derailed from her dreams because of....schoolwork!

This is a good story tackling a problem that just about every kid goes through at some point - a struggle with a subject at school. How it's handled is interesting and fun to read instead of being one of those "problem books" that is without heart. This is a book I'd give to a struggling reader to enjoy.
Ashlee Mae
I really liked this book, it was a fun story! :)
Elizabeth Bornstein
I loved this book I can't wait to see what happens in the next book. I would def recommend this to other friends.
Madison Gorton
This book is based off the newest american girl doll, McKenna. McKenna is a gymnast and is in school. McKenna starts to have horrible grades in school and she has to get a tudor. Her tudor is in a wheelchair and she feels embarrassed. Her parents say she has to quit gymnastics and she is very sad. The end.... WELL YOU WILL HAVE TO READ IT TO SEE!!!!!
Sydney
it is about McKenna is struggling in school so she has to tutor.but her friend toulan wants to know why she gets to leave school early then McKenna blurts out a lie so Toulan thinks she has a secret gymnastic coach then Toulan figures out she needs a tutor and gets mad at her for telling a lie to her so McKenna makes it up to her.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 32 33 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Aloha Kanani (American Girl of the Year 2011, #1)
  • Lanie (American Girl of the Year 2010, #1)
  • Saige (Saige, #1)
  • Thanks to Nicki
  • Marie-Grace Makes a Difference (American Girls: Marie-Grace and Cécile, #5)
  • Meet Caroline (American Girls: Caroline, #1)
  • Cécile's Gift (American Girls: Marie-Grace and Cécile, #6)
  • Bravo, Mia! (American Girl of the Year)
  • Kaya's Escape! (American Girls: Kaya, #2)
  • Very Funny, Elizabeth (American Girls: Felicity)
51588
Mary Casanova is an award-winning children's author of novels and picture books. Many of her books stem from her life on the Minnesota-Canadian border; yet some of her stories have taken her as far away as France, Norway, and Belize for research. Whatever the setting for her books, Casanova writes stories that matter--and stories that kids can't put down.

Her book awards include: American Library A
...more
More about Mary Casanova...

Other Books in the Series

American Girl of the Year (1 - 10 of 21 books)
  • Lindsey
  • Kailey
  • Marisol (American Girl Today)
  • Jess (American Girl Today)
  • Nicki
  • Thanks to Nicki
  • Mia
  • Bravo, Mia! (American Girl of the Year)
  • Chrissa (American Girl Today)
  • Chrissa Stands Strong
Cecile: Gates of Gold (Girls of Many Lands, France) Frozen Jess (American Girl Today) Chrissa (American Girl Today) McKenna, Ready to Fly!

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »