Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dancing Moon” as Want to Read:
Dancing Moon
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Dancing Moon

by
3.80  ·  Rating Details  ·  40 Ratings  ·  5 Reviews
A full length historical romance from six-time RITA winner Barbara Samuel. Fans of Madeline Baker and Linda Lael Miller will love this tale of the untamed west.

FORBIDDEN VOWS

When Tess fled from her husband's cruelty, her only desire was to live in peace. Then she found herself intrigued by the Santa Fe trail and the laughing eyes of the exotic Joaquin Morales.

AN UNBREAKAB
...more
Kindle Edition, 272 pages
Published (first published September 1996)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dancing Moon, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Dancing Moon

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 94)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Mary B.
I wanted to like this book much more than I did. First let me say that Barbara Samuel is one of my favorite romance authors. This was a good story. Characters were well-developed and likeable, the scenes were well-written and descriptive. The plot sounded so promising - an Irish immigrant heroine running away from her slave overseer husband meets up with a half-Mexican half-Cheyenne hero on the trail who rescues her and her runaway slave friend. Together they travel to Taos, all the while the he ...more
Susan
May 10, 2012 Susan rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another winning book from this author. This one was set in 1844, in the time of slavery and fights between Indians and the White usurpers. Tess is on the run from her husband, along with Sonia, a slave. Her husband, a plantation overseer, has brutalized the slaves one too many times, and Tess stepped in to stop him. So, he used the whip on her. Now the 2 women are fleeing to Pueblo, with Seamus searching for them. They are aided by 3 men on their journey after they narrowly avoid being scalped. ...more
Laura (Kyahgirl)
2.5/5; 3 stars; B-

I saw this book on Smashwords and bought it based on the fact that I've really enjoyed other books by this author. I think the story was something she wrote about 15 years ago and that would be consistent with the slightly rough and unfinished feel to the work.

The story was a solid western romantic adventure. I enjoyed the various characters in the book and the story itself was fairly interesting. There were a lot of typos and other editing oversights in the book which were a
...more
Jules
May 27, 2012 Jules rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I LOVED THIS BOOK. I like my heros beta and my heroines capable and kind, so this book captured me in a big way.
Jill
Aug 11, 2011 Jill rated it liked it
3.5 stars
Vicki Adderholdt
Vicki Adderholdt marked it as to-read
Mar 25, 2016
Paula Hambrick
Paula Hambrick marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2016
Tmjj33ronataurreviews
Tmjj33ronataurreviews marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2016
Anna
Anna marked it as to-read
Feb 12, 2016
Anna
Anna marked it as to-read
Jan 11, 2016
GracieM00114
GracieM00114 rated it liked it
Dec 31, 2015
Word
Word rated it really liked it
Dec 21, 2015
Elyse Cochran
Elyse Cochran rated it liked it
Sep 18, 2015
Theresa Parker
Theresa Parker rated it it was amazing
Jul 01, 2015
Cynthia
Cynthia marked it as to-read
Jun 06, 2015
Kellie Demarsh
Kellie Demarsh marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2015
GJ
GJ added it
Nov 29, 2015
Carmen Graham
Carmen Graham rated it it was amazing
Feb 04, 2015
Shauna
Shauna marked it as to-read
Jan 03, 2015
Diane Brown
Diane Brown rated it it was amazing
Dec 30, 2014
Claudia
Claudia marked it as to-read
Dec 28, 2014
sadie
sadie rated it it was amazing
Nov 15, 2014
Lovetoread
Lovetoread rated it it was ok
Oct 25, 2014
C.a. Williams
C.a. Williams rated it liked it
Oct 24, 2014
JadedlilFecker
JadedlilFecker marked it as to-read
Aug 16, 2014
KH
KH rated it liked it
May 30, 2015
Kelly
Kelly marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2014
Ashley
Ashley rated it liked it
Jul 08, 2014
Cassandra
Cassandra marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
175137
Barbara Samuel is a multiple RITA award-winning author with more than 38 books to her credit in a variety of genres. She has written historical and contemporary romances, a number of fantasy novellas with the likes of Susan Wiggs, Jo Beverley and Mary Jo Putney. She now writes women’s fiction about families, dogs, and food as Barbara O’Neal.

Her work has captured a plethora of awards, including six
...more
More about Barbara Samuel...

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »