Lost Treasure of the Emerald Eye
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Lost Treasure of the Emerald Eye (Geronimo Stilton #1)

by
4.02 of 5 stars 4.02  ·  rating details  ·  5,005 ratings  ·  270 reviews
Enter the world of Geronimo Stilton, where another funny adventure is always right around the corner. Each book is a fast-paced adventure with lively art and a unique format kids 7-10 will love Who Is Geronimo Stilton? That's me! I run a newspaper, but my true passion is writing tales of adventure. Here on Mouse Island, my books are all best-sellers! What's that? You've ne...more
ebook, 128 pages
Published August 1st 2011 by Scholastic Paperbacks (first published January 1st 2000)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 3,000)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Petra X
May 05, 2014 Petra X marked it as interesting-books-i-have-not-read  ·  review of another edition
This is not a review, but an observation and a question.

Something I don't really understand so I would enjoy hearing people's views on is how people buy books for children from the point of view of the gender of the book's main subject as illustrated on the cover.

At the moment Geronimo Stilton is the hot book for 8-10 year olds. Both boys and girls rush up to the display and look for the ones they haven't read. Mothers, on their own, will buy Geronimo Stilton's for both their sons and daughters...more
Wart Hill
You can read this and other reviews at Things I Find While Shelving

I read this book because I wanted to determine if it was a good one to get for the kids in my life. I’m not a parent, but I have friends with kids and when I went to buy one of them a birthday present I thought about getting this, but I’d never read it so I didn’t know if it was a good one or not.

So I decided to read it.

And I’m glad I did. It’s a fun adventure, with sailing and treasure hunting and family squabbles and families g...more
Renee
This review consists of 2 parts: 1. My daughter's review (she's 9) and 2. My review (I'm the Mom). These are excerpts. For the full reviews, please visit our website at http://motherdaughterbookreviews.com

DAUGHTER SAYS:

What I liked and disliked about it:


I liked this book because it's funny and the story is good. I like stories that have mysteries and adventures like this one does. It was really cool that there was a treasure map. If I found a treasure map, I would try to find it - especially if...more
Heather
Geronimo Stilton Lost Treasure of the Emerald Eye is the first book in the very long series of Geronimo Stilton books. This books introduces you to the main character of the series Geronimo Stilton as well as other main characters such as Geronimo's sister Thea and cousin Trap and nephew Benjamin. This journey takes the characters on a treasure hunt to find the lost treasure of the emerald eye. Thea has found a treasure map when she was antique hunting. She has enlisted her brother to help her f...more
Laura
I learned that some planes are scary!
Robyn
I see this series being read by my fourth grade students. I'll admit I have recommended this series many times to students, but never actually read one. Normally I would never do a blind recommendation, so I decided to crack one open and see what all the hubbub was about.

Groan. Yeah, I guess I can sort of see why beginning readers would like them. The action is quick, the pages are colorful, and the humor is ever present. But as an adult reader the plot is jumbled, the colorful and eye-catching...more
Louise (A Strong Belief in Wicker)
I really don't see understand why this series is so popular. I've been seeing the books around everywhere for some time. This week I got to read the first one. My 8 year old son had brought it home from the school library to use as part of a reading challenge that his school is participating in. He was never engaged, lost interest half way through, and stopped reading. I finished it tonight, and was also very disappointed. I'm really quite surprised to see that this was originally Italian, perha...more
Kelly Andrews
Book: Geronimo Stilton

Text by: Edizioni Piemme aka Geronimo Stilton

First to Sixth Grade Readers

This link will take you to the US Rodent's Gazette web page, which has games and activities.

http://www.scholastic.com/titles/gero...



This is a wonderful series. It was started in Italy and became so popular it is now written in 35 languages. I love love love this series. The books are based on a mouse world.


The narrator is Geronimo Stilton, a learned and brainy mouse: editor of The Rodent's Gazette.

Ot...more
Mary
My daughter, Esther got this for her late birthday present. It is a cute story where Geronimo is begged to go on a treasure hunt with his sister, Thea and they take their cousin, Trap and nephew, Benjamin stows away. They get shipwrecked and then make it to the island. Then they survive, make shelter, find food. They then go looking for their treasure....the "Emerald Eye." While searching for it, they find quicksand (Trap pulls Geronimo out) and a trap (Geronimo pulls Trap out...due to his bad s...more
Danilo
Wow i can not believe Geromino Stilton because every time Thea drags Geromino in a adventure all he does is he writes about what he is doing why can't he just relax and enjoy the adventure that he is going to.What i h don't really like about Thea is that she is a very dangerous person when she gets to a adventure because she fets todo wild things in her adventures.Whati like about this book is that when they found the lost treasure of the emerald eye it had me relieved because they finally got w...more
Irene
Jul 30, 2014 Irene rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Kids in Elementary School
Recommended to Irene by: Isabelle
Shelves: children
This series is about anthropomorphized mice who live not in the real world as we know it, but in an imaginary mouse world. I think I am bothered when anthropomorphized animals live in a human world, but anthropomorphized animals living in their own world is fine. This book - the first of many in the series - was certainly entertaining. It felt like a cartoon. Small illustrations were scattered about, and a few words on every page were printed in different fonts, sizes, and colors, which made for...more
Riceball Mommy
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Julie
I don't think I get why these are popular. I guess because they're fast-paced with lots of illustrations, and have funny mouse/cheese references. But the main characters are adult mice, with sort of adult problems (nothing inappropriate, of course). The story in this first of the series was so-so, and I thought the changes in font color, size, and style were distracting. Hmmm.
Christine H
Great opening book to the series! It's a nice way for kids to step into independent reading. The writing also has so many onomatopoeic words, similes, and other figurative language that it's an awesome way to introduce those literary devices! And, as a fontophilia (there must be a word for this by now), I drooled over the multiple colours, fonts, and font styles!
Isabella
The first Geronimo Stilton book is incredible. This book has a mystery in it and so do all the others in the series. Geronimo and his sister, Thea, go on an adventure trying to find the lost emerald eye. This book is a good short one. I recommend this for grades 1-4 and to read all the books in this huge series.
Kathy
1-2nd grade level. High adventure and humor, lots of cheese and mouse references. Series. Good boy book. Creative fonts emphasize word meanings (eg, "frozen" in a blue font that appears covered in snow)
Nailah Davis
dis book wuz about a mouse and his cousin,sister,and nephew findin a treasure
Callie Stillion
This is the first Geronimo Stilton book. I thought there was a mystery about a missing emerald shaped like and eye, in New Mouse City, but Thea, Trap, and Geronimo are off to and island, which is said to be abandon. But they find themselves traveling to the wrong part of the island, and here, there`s a resort! But the mice at the resort are nice enough to buy tickets to get them back off to New Mouse City, and on the water, in an island, Geronimo looks out the window, and lucky enough, he sees t...more
Sandra | Büchernische
Da sind wir also wieder, inmitten eines Abenteuers rund um Geronimo, den mausigen Verleger der Neuen.Nager.Nachrichten! Dieses Mal wurde es richtig spannend, Mama und ich waren von Band 2 begeistert und fanden ihn besser als den ersten Teil, der ja der Einführung diente.

Worum es geht, fasse ich hier in ein paar Sätzen zusammen:

Alles beginnt damit, dass Thea eine Karte findet, auf einem Flohmarkt! Das macht ja schon mal einen guten Eindruck. Gegen seinen Willen muss Geronimo nun verreisen, mit ei...more
BlackhamBoys
I'm always looking for books that might appeal to my reluctant reader boys. This had some rave reviews. I read it to the two little ones (ages 9 and 6). They didn't seem TOO into it (but they don't seem to like much). I did catch them saying some of the lines in the book out front (I consider that a good sign that at least they were listening somewhat ... the main character Geronimo gets called a lot of nicknames and he does NOT like it, so he, and my boys were saying "My name is GER-ON_I_MO!" ....more
Jennifer
The premise of this story sounded really cute and I was ready to truly enjoy reading this with my six year old daughter. But I thought this was a really empty story. Most of it read like an outline of a story rather than an actual story. With short chapters, each one covering some "terrifying" event, I really wish the author would have cut out some of the events and actually wrote about the ones he mentioned. Focus on quality rather than quantity. Each action sequence goes about as deep as this:...more
Dolly
Apr 20, 2011 Dolly rated it 3 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: children starting to read chapter books
Our girls really like the Geronimo Stilton chapter books. I think they are quite corny, but they are fun and filled with action and adventure. We've also read a few of the graphic novels. I prefer to read the chapter books aloud, but our girls are enamored with them both, so I humor them.

This story was a tale of a sailing adventure to find lost treasure. The ending was very strange, but we still liked it. The plot was a bit reminiscent of "Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade," especially the pat...more
Library
*audiobook* This was a quick "listen" - only a little over an hour. The story serves its purpose as the first book in a series: introduction of the future protagonists. The characters are a family full of mice with diverse personalities and a specific contribution to the plot. Trap, Geronimo's cousin, is frequently the source of humor in the story. A cute and creative ending to the "treasure" hunt also provides a good chuckle.
Matthew
So I get that I'm not the target audience for this kind of book, but I read a lot of them with my kids and I found this one to be pretty subpar. Even my kids thought all the cheese jokes were getting old by the end and frankly, the story wasn't really that interesting. It was sort of a nod to Treasure Island, but not a very good one.

I can see my kids maybe reading this on their own, but I won't read any more too them.
*Queen Diva*
Meh. That is all I have to say. I enjoyed the fun colorful text and pages, but the story was boring.

One of my pet peeves is people who write dumb downed children's literature. Why do we feel the need to dumb everything down for kids? So much research proves that prime learning years for people is when they are young. So why does everything get dumbed down when they are the target audience. I like reading books that have rich plot, language, and characters that have more depth to them. So books l...more
Celine Parker
This book looked interesting, but I was seriously dissapointed after reading it. I understand that this is a successful series, and perhaps I was too old when I read it in 2000 when it first came out (I was about 12 at the time). The series reminds me of the Magic Tree House series although MTH is by far much better. There were certain elements to the storyline that I liked which is why this book gets two stars. But unfortunately it doesn't have very many redeeming qualities in my opinion. A hug...more
Sara
Recommend. Emerging readers / elementary readers. Listened to audiobook - background noises added to enhance storyline, created the feeling of the book form through quirky soundscape.

Series: Geronimo Stilton.

Readalikes:
The Mouse and the Motorcycle / Cleary
The World According to Humphrey / Birney
I, Freddy / Reiche (Freddy the Hamster series)
Christian
Wir haben dieses Abenteuer gelesen, ohne vorher den ersten Band gelesen zu haben. Dieses hat jedoch keinen Einfluss auf das Verständnis der Zusammenhänge gehabt, zumal vorne im Buch die Hauptcharaktere nochmal kurz vorgestellt werden.
Geronimo und seine Mäuse-Mistreiter machen sich mit einer Karte auf eine abenteuerliche Suche nach dem großen Schatz, dem Smaragdauge! Es gibt sehr viel zu Schmunzeln, aber auch immer wieder spannende Momente, wo man mit zittern kann. Meine 8 jährige Tochter konnte...more
carrietracy
An excellent example of BAD WRITING. All the bells and shiny special font whistles can't cover for the fact that the plot is lacking, the excitement is non-existent and there are multiple chapters that could be excised with zero impact on the continuity of the story. I know my students loved it, but also, sometimes nine year olds are wrong about stuff.
Lauren
I love the unique formatting of this book. I think the use of bold, colored, and different fonts on certain words is a valuable crutch for early readers and makes the visual impact of the book more appealing and entertaining. I also like the fast-paced action of the story and the mouse-based humor throughout. The characters are a little flat, but I know the kids in my library enjoy the adventure and the dynamic layout.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 99 100 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Thea Stilton and the Dragon's Code (Thea Stilton #1)
  • Journey to the Volcano Palace (The Secrets of Droon, #2)
  • Night of the New Magicians (Magic Tree House, #35)
  • The New Kid at School (Dragon Slayers' Academy, #1)
  • Stink: The Incredible Shrinking Kid (Stink, #1)
  • Miss Daisy Is Crazy! (My Weird School, #1)
  • The Absent Author (A to Z Mysteries, #1)
  • Never Glue Your Friends to Chairs (Roscoe Riley Rules, #1)
A pseudonym of Elisabetta Dami, aka Thea Stilton.

Elisabetta Dami is an Italian author that currently resides in Italy. She is the author of the Geronimo Stilton series, a bestselling childrens book. She enjoys traveling the world seeking ideas for her series. She writes under a pseudonym of Geronimo Stilton. She is also a co-owner of Italian based publishing company Edizioni Piemme. Her books have...more
More about Geronimo Stilton...
The Curse of the Cheese Pyramid (Geronimo Stilton, #2) Cat and Mouse in a Haunted House (Geronimo Stilton, #3) Paws Off, Cheddarface! (Geronimo Stilton, #6) Geronimo Stilton, Secret Agent (Geronimo Stilton, #34) My Name Is Stilton, Geronimo Stilton (Geronimo Stilton, #19)

Share This Book