Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sea Cutter (Chronicles of Nathaniel Childe, #1)” as Want to Read:
Sea Cutter (Chronicles of Nathaniel Childe, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Sea Cutter (Chronicles of Nathaniel Childe #1)

by
4.21  ·  Rating Details ·  43 Ratings  ·  19 Reviews
t’s 1771 and I’ve just gotten a secret message from Father who—all of New Bedford says—went down with his ship in 1769, when I was eleven. I know I promised my old friend Wayland not to put to sea without Mother’s permission, but what’s more important—keeping a promise or finding Father? If you want to come with me, help me find a ship bound for the South Atlantic, and we’ ...more
Kindle Edition, 139 pages
Published July 4th 2011 by Amazon Digital Services
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sea Cutter, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Sea Cutter

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Crystal Marcos
Oct 01, 2012 Crystal Marcos rated it it was amazing
Timothy C. Davis managed to transport me right to the era and moment of his exciting seafaring tale. I am an avid reader of children's literature. I don't have much time to read lately however it was the cause of a couple of late nights. I just had to know happened next! Davis does a tremendous job building characters readers will love and love to loathe. Fast paced and full of action it will certainly keep its readers interest. Notable and memorable it teaches a lesson on the importance of trut ...more
Erik This Kid Reviews Books
Feb 01, 2012 Erik This Kid Reviews Books rated it it was amazing
Two years after Nathaniel’s father died in a shipwreck, a package arrived from him. There was a mysterious treasure inside and a note from Nat’s father which made Nat believe, even more, that his father did not die! The letter and the treasure were clues about where to find his father, but how could a fourteen year-old boy navigate the seas alone, especially when no one in the village believes his father survived. Nat tricks a family friend (Wayland) into sailing his ship, the Sea Cutter, into t ...more
G.A.
May 18, 2012 G.A. rated it it was amazing
Timeless adventure at its best

In Sea Cutter, author Timothy Davis takes readers back to a time when men are honorable, where their word is their bond, where good and evil are more greatly defined, and where a boy through his everyday experiences can mature and realize his full measure.

While short, there is so much good going on in this YA novella that it's difficult to pick out just a few highlights. The protagonist, Nathaniel Childe, is forced to be the man of the family when his father, a ship
...more
Michelle Isenhoff
Sep 02, 2011 Michelle Isenhoff rated it really liked it
“He’s not dead!”

“Please Nathaniel. It’s been two years. He’s not coming back,” my mother begged.

“How can you give up on him?” I yelled.

Nat’s heart tells him his father survived the shipwreck. But where is he? Why has he left Nat and his mother to a pauper’s existence in New Bedford? Then Nat receives a package from his father, one that had been stolen and delivered years late. One containing treasure. The accompanying letter indicates that his father may be alive on an island in the Atlantic, bu
...more
Ron
Jul 17, 2011 Ron rated it it was amazing
I must admit although this is a young adult or pre-teen book, I was captivated. It must be the kid in me. Excellent book for anyone who likes plots containing adventures at sea. The adventure isn't the only subject matter that grabs you, it's the internal conflict of the main character that does. As you read on, you can relate to the moral of the story. That's what I liked about it. There are so many books for younger readers that do not express life's simple lessons; I was glad to find that the ...more
Bert
Jul 21, 2011 Bert rated it it was amazing
Sea Cutter is a fast moving tale about a young man swept from drudgery and loss into high adventure and a wonderful quest. Set in the early 1700s, the action moves from the sea port of New Bedford, to the high seas, to an exotic island and ultimately, home. To an adult reader the characters are strong and clearly delineated archetypes in the tradition of Kidnapped, Mobey Dick and The Odyssey. To a young reader, the action and the people will be memorable. The author underpins his terrific sea st ...more
Tish
Sep 17, 2011 Tish rated it liked it
I enjoyed Sea Cutter. It has storms at sea, mutinies, pirates, secret islands--what's not to like? The story is easy to read and fast-moving and is well-suited for younger readers (it reminded me in some ways of Magic Tree House books). This is a swashbuckling story whose main character learns some important lessons amidst all the excitement he encounters.

The only thing I would change is I wish the author had delved a bit deeper into the emotions of the main character and the descriptions of bot
...more
Paul Swearingen
Nov 29, 2011 Paul Swearingen rated it it was amazing
The plot of this story of a young boy at sea never slows; Timothy Davis has re-crafted a tale that is sure to please pre-teens and those slightly older. Intrigue, deceit, threats, treasure, and an isolated paradise are all combined in a manner reminiscent of both Nordhoff and Hall's and Isabel Allende's coming-of-age stories. The characters are unique, even the villains, and the ending of the story is indeed a cliffhanger - literally.
Malika Bourne
Sep 27, 2011 Malika Bourne rated it it was amazing
I loved Sea Cutter. I was hooked by the first paragraph. Through out the fast moving story I could taste the salt in the sea air. I felt Nate's heart beat fast during his adventure to learn about his father's death. I didn't see the twists coming. I would recomend this for a girl or boy tween.
Stephanie
Aug 02, 2013 Stephanie rated it really liked it
Sea Cutter: Book 1 in The Chronicles of Nathaniel Childe by Timothy Davis takes place in Massachusetts in 1771. Ever since his father went missing two years ago, Nathanial and his mother have been working hard to make ends meet. Because his father was lost at sea, Nat had to promise his mother he would never go out on a boat. This might be an easy promise for a boy to make, but not one who lives in New Bedford, where whaling and fishing boats are constantly going out to sea. When Nat receives a ...more
Donna Sadd
Sep 12, 2012 Donna Sadd rated it it was amazing
Shelves: adventure, children-s
I'm a complete sucker for nautical adventures. Give me sea captains, a capable but motley crew, swashbucklers, pirates and set me at sea on a mighty sailing ship back a couple of hundred years ago and I'm happy.

That's where SEA CUTTER landed me and it did not disappoint. This is a book for middle grade readers; yet author Tim Davis did not dumb it down. Sure, the morals of honor and honesty come through loud and clear; however, the story tosses one on waves and crests, complete with villainous t
...more
Kim
Jan 20, 2013 Kim rated it it was amazing
Shelves: done-reading
This is a young adult book, but I found it exciting to read. Nathaniel can't believe that his father died when his ship the Christopher went down at sea. His fathers best friend Wayland wasn't so sure himself. Nathaniel's mother doesn't want Nathaniel to have anything to do with the sea. Jennifer has to leave town and makes Nathaniel promise he will stay away from the ships and sea. A chest shows up while his mother is gone and it's his fathers personal chest. Wayland made him promise not to ope ...more
Danica Page (One Page at a Time)
My rating is actually 3.5 stars.

I received this for review from the author. Here is a portion of my review.

My Overall Thoughts/Impressions: This is a book that I imagine young boys absolutely adoring. It's meant for a younger audience, late elementary-early middle school maybe.

The novel was actually pretty short, but it was entertaining and interesting. I really enjoyed reading it.

The main character Nat was one that I could easily relate to and one that I enjoyed reading about. And I also reall
...more
Anna
Jul 28, 2012 Anna rated it it was amazing
Timothy Davis weaves a beautiful coming of age story into the backdrop of the raging Atlantic. Sea Cutter is a delightful adventure for readers of all ages. Set in the 1770’s, it is the tale of a thirteen- year-old-boy named Nat on a quest to Perlas Grandes (a supposedly mythical island filled with huge pearls) to find his father, who is shipwrecked and presumed dead. When Nat’s aunt becomes ill, he insists his mother leave town to care for her sister. Living alone and grieving the loss of his f ...more
L.R.W. Lee
Nov 18, 2013 L.R.W. Lee rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Paul
Nov 11, 2012 Paul rated it it was amazing
I love a good middle grade book. It's my contention that a really good middle grade book is as good a read as you'll find. Sea Cutter is just such a book. It is a wonderful book. It is action packed, entertaining, great imagery, great characters, the list goes on. Author Timothy C. Davis has delivered a hit!

Jessica Lynn
Excellent read aloud with my kids - though, we have it under the title In Search of Perlas Grandes. My teachers read it to me when I was in elementary school and now I have been reading with my elementary children. What fun!
Linda Cee
This is a pretty good read, would mostly recommend it to young boys/girls though.
Danie Cutter
Sep 04, 2012 Danie Cutter rated it liked it
A nice little sea faring tale, easily read if slightly predictable. A good book to read to young children or by read by pre teens.
Heather Scott
Heather Scott rated it it was amazing
Jan 12, 2017
Namerah
Namerah rated it it was amazing
Sep 21, 2011
Mehwish naqvi
Mehwish naqvi rated it it was amazing
Jan 07, 2012
bookme4life
bookme4life rated it really liked it
Mar 27, 2010
Jean
Jean rated it it was amazing
Feb 05, 2013
Joseph Wiederhold
Joseph Wiederhold rated it it was amazing
Mar 06, 2009
*cool*
*cool* rated it it was ok
Dec 19, 2011
Alex
Alex rated it did not like it
Apr 07, 2013
Elaine Campbell
Elaine Campbell rated it it was amazing
Sep 14, 2011
Eric
Eric rated it it was amazing
Feb 20, 2012
Heather
Heather rated it it was amazing
Jul 22, 2011
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
!The Young Adult ...: Tween historical adventure e-book give away. 1 4 Jan 24, 2012 03:36AM  
740180
Tim Davis got into trouble at age 12 for reading Treasure Island under his blankets by flashlight when he was supposed to be sleeping. When he grew up, he pursued his love of children’s literature by earning a PhD in English and teaching Children’s Literature at university. He left academia in order to move to the San Francisco Bay Area and teach elementary school under an emergency program that l ...more
More about Tim Davis...

Other Books in the Series

Chronicles of Nathaniel Childe (2 books)
  • Red Stone (Chronicles of Nathaniel Childe, #2)

Share This Book