Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “George & the Virgin” as Want to Read:
George & the Virgin
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

George & the Virgin

3.49 of 5 stars 3.49  ·  rating details  ·  181 ratings  ·  18 reviews
Sometimes, slaying the dragon is the easy part.

The medieval village of Markesew was besieged, its virgins demanded in tribute, so when St. George the Dragonslayer arrived from modern times -- in his silver pants and lace-up boots -- his task was clear. Being a professional wrestler didn't qualify him for the job, but a sword and imagination were all he needed... or so he t

Kindle Edition
Published (first published June 2002)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about George & the Virgin, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about George & the Virgin

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 421)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
3.5 stars. You don’t often get a romance novel that reminds you of a Monty Python routine, but parts of this story about a group of curious virgins and the sexy hero who comes to rescue them made me expect someone to say “you must give us all a good spanking!” at any moment. It’s actually quite a sweet book though, and not extremely steamy, despite the virginal lustings.

George, a professional wrestler going through some hard times, agrees to let his sister guide him through a “creative visualiza
Jul 20, 2011 Julianna rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Fans of Light, Humorous Romance w/Time Travel and Action/Adventure
Reviewed for THC Reviews
George & the Virgin is a book that rather deftly crosses many of the sub-genres of romance. I suppose it is primarily a historical time travel with the hero going back in time to a medieval castle, but having a dragon terrorizing the nearby villagers also places the story squarely in the fantasy realm. The humor had me grinning like an idiot until my husband asked what was so funny, and that alone gives it a firm standing as a romantic comedy too. Additionally, it had
Bark's Book Nonsense
This is a romantic time-travel/fantasy that starts out in the middle ages in a small village filled with superstitious weaklings who sacrifice one of their virgin daughters to the local dragon once a year (because they’re apparently too lame to face him down).

When the story begins Alizon, a 14 yr old virgin, is desperately trying to rid herself of her virginity with a loathsome and clueless boy to avoid being the dragon’s next dinner. The scene is quite funny, Alizon is mouthy and strong willed
Diane ~Firefly~
With a cheesy cover and a professional wrestler as the hero, I wasn't sure about this book, but it was a good story with some interesting characters.

What I enjoyed:
* George. His slow realization that he was actually in the past and not in a trance/dream.
* The virgins. They were very mischievous and fun.
*(view spoiler)

What could have been better:
* The beginning was a bit off-putting,
This kindle freebie was really cute, a professional wrestler taking on a stinky dragon named Belch and a castleful of virgins adds a bit of humor, and a virgin who doesn't want to stay that way forever adds a bit of steamy stuff.

George 'The Saint' is really a nice guy, and a gentle giant with a self deprecating sense of humor, so he makes for a satisfying, if at times a bumbling, hero. And his heroine Alizon is just so repressed that it adds to the steamy build up of sensual tension between the
I can't believe I went into a shop and purchased a book called George & the Virgin . Also, it is a book about a professional wrestler who travels back in time and ends up in a castle full of virgins. And there's a dragon what was supposed to eat the virgins, except that the heroine managed to escape this fate and has saved all the virgins who came after her. But I kept seeing it on lists of romance novels that don't suck, and I was intrigued enough to check it out.

It doesn't suck! It wasn't
An adorable male lead really makes this book a keeper.
Sherri Hunter
The story was OK, though it bordered on a little of the slapstick side. For some reason, when I started this book, I was under the assumption that the dragon was a figment of the imagination of the townspeople. There really is a dragon and his name is Belch, if you can believe that. :o)

There were some laugh-out-loud moments.
Rebecca Dean
Wow! Great fantasy book, if you are into that. One of my favorite movies when I was younger was "The Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court" and the synopsis sounded a bit like that, so I was hoping ....
I would recommend it for a fun beach read and a great "getaway" book.
Jenny U
It started as a joke with friends when I saw it at Goodwill...then I bought it...and then I read it. It was really funny and well written. I was surprised.
This was a 3 for me, but I wish I could give an extra half star for the humor and unusual hero.
I wanted to enjoy this book, but I absolutely could not stand the heroine.
I found this wayyyy more amusing than I thought I would!
OK book, not as funny as some of her other books.
Love time travel and I loved this book!
Rachael marked it as to-read
Nov 26, 2015
Donna Hammeren-Meader
Donna Hammeren-Meader marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2015
Krystle marked it as to-read
Oct 20, 2015
Sumita marked it as to-read
Sep 14, 2015
Sylvia marked it as to-read
Sep 03, 2015
Marge added it
Jul 26, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 14 15 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Legacy
  • Powerful Magic
  • Wings of the Storm
  • A Knight in Central Park
  • A Knight's Honor
  • Nothing But Time
  • A Twist of Fate
  • The Maiden and the Unicorn
  • Circles in Time
  • I Dream of Genies (Bottled Magic, #1)
  • Hawks Mountain
  • Silken Threads (Wexford Family, #1)
  • Poetic Justice
  • The Very Virile Viking (Viking II, #3)
  • Incredible Dreams
  • Lord Of My Dreams
  • Yseult: A Tale of Love in the Age of King Arthur (The Pendragon Chronicles, #1)
  • Restore My Heart (Mustang Sally Trilogy #1)
Lisa Cach grew up in a farm near Portland, Oregon, a place she loves although she'd always trying to leave it. Wanderlust has led her to sail the Sargasso Sea, teach English in Japan, and trek the leech-infested jungles of Borneo. She has degrees in both English and psychology, two subjects that were fun to learn about but that guaranteed her low-paying jobs. Her father, she admits, may have been ...more
More about Lisa Cach...

Share This Book