Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Two Suns in the Sky” as Want to Read:
Two Suns in the Sky
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Preview

Two Suns in the Sky

3.61 of 5 stars 3.61  ·  rating details  ·  187 ratings  ·  25 reviews
During World War II, a 15-year-old girl meets a young Jewish refugee in a New York shelter and soon learns the history behind her city through interaction with her new friend, as well as the barriers that exist when different cultures unite. Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction.
Paperback, 223 pages
Published November 12th 2001 by Puffin Books (first published April 7th 1999)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Two Suns in the Sky, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Two Suns in the Sky

Mara, Daughter of the Nile by Eloise Jarvis McGrawThe Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George SpeareDaddy-Long-Legs by Jean WebsterTime Enough for Drums by Ann RinaldiThe Perilous Gard by Elizabeth Marie Pope
Old-School Teen Historical Romance
31st out of 206 books — 67 voters
A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba BrayRebel Angels by Libba BrayThe Sweet Far Thing by Libba BrayThe Luxe by Anna GodbersenThe Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Teen Historical Novels
192nd out of 501 books — 868 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 463)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Julianna
May 23, 2010 Julianna rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Fans of Historical Fiction or Historical, YA or Inter-Ethnic Romance
Reviewed for THC Reviews
"4.5 stars" It is always such a joy to me when a random book buy turns out to be a fabulous read. I picked up Two Suns in the Sky at the library book sale for only fifty cents, but had I known how good it was going to be, I would have been happy to pay full-price. This young adult novel is a combination of historical fiction and historical romance. It is written in such a way that I believe teenagers could easily understand and relate to it, but it is full of the mysterie
...more
Sue
This tells an important story about the only shelter provided by the United States for European Jews fleeing the Holocaust. It was in Oswego, NY and this book is based on narratives by refugees and citizens of Oswego who have made accounts of that time. It's important for young people to know about this chapter in our history. That being said, I didn't love this book, although I wanted to. It tried to be too many things-a history of refugees, a first love story with lots of physical tension, a g ...more
Andrea Clouthier
In school they made us read a book every month, I think, to write a book review later. This book caught my attention so I picked it: forbidden love story, different religions, World War II... I really liked the plot and summary. The story is narrated from the two POV of the main characters, something I really enjoyed. Overall a good book, but why three stars? I got bored multiple times when Christine narrated, maybe because to me her life wasn't as interesting as Adam's, and to my disappointment ...more
Gaile
A heart warming YA book about two teens from vastly different backgrounds who fall in love.
Chris is an American Catholic. Adam is a Jewish refugee from Yugoslavia who ends up with his mother and sister in the only Emergency refugee shelter set us in the United States.She is fifteen. He is eighteen.
Her family forbids her to see him and she tries not to. He wants to see her but as time goes by, he comes to an understanding of how his family has to make their way in America. He becomes a citizen an
...more
Nicole
Christine Cook is a Catholic. Adam Borenstein is a Jew. This book is set during World War 2. Adam and his family move to America from Yugoslavia. They are living in a refugee camp. Christine and Adam meet and a relationship forms. Chrisines father doesn't like this one bit because of the difference in religion. She does everything hat she can to see him. The book deals with the happenings of the war and the government at that time.

I liked this book because it was very educational. I like it whe
...more
Cowee
This book had me reading all night! Once I got into the grove of the book, I couldn't stop!
Rae
1944 New York City, Emergency Refugee Shelter. Despite her father's objections (to all things that may be different than his norm), fourteen-year-old Christine goes often to the refugee camp in her hometown of Oswego, New York. There she meets and falls in love with Adam, a Yugoslavian Jew. They have a sweet and somewhat clandestine relationship...which doesn't seem too sappy because of the realistically open ending. I really enjoyed this novel. The author placed quotes from actual refugees and ...more
Krista the Krazy Kataloguer
I read this along with Norma Fox Mazer's Good Night, Maman. Both are about Jewish refugees at a camp in Oswego, New York, during World War II. Mazer's is for younger children and focuses on the experience at Oswego. Miriam Bat-Ami's book is more of a love story, with less of the focus on place. Of the two, Mazer does a better job of evoking the feeling of 1940's upstate New York. I enjoyed both, however, and recommend both, along with Ruth Gruber's adult non-fiction book Haven: the Dramatic Stor ...more
Olivia
When Adam Bornstein is given the opportunity to travel to America with his family as refugees of WWII, his life is completely altered. Surrounded by American culture and customs, he becomes enchanted with his new way of life. And when Adam meets the beautiful and American Chris Cook, his life is once more changed. Can Adam and Chris withstand their disapproving parents ridicules and the conventional ideas of relationships that society pressures them to follow? Brought together by war, will war b ...more
Natalie
3.5 stars. This is a coming of age story set against the background of a Jewish refugee camp during late WWII. The theme of fences and freedom is peppered throughout. The sweet romance is fairly age appropriate but a bit sad because of the difficulties of the time. One of the most memorable lines is at the very end. "There should have been more camps like this. Without fences. We should have had so many."
Ayah
Jan 17, 2014 Ayah added it
Very sweet. Moving story of young love.
Karalyn
I was hesitant to read a book about Nazis because they make me so sad. But once I started reading I realized that even though that was the central theme the main plot was about a 15 year old girl wanting to be in love and to be kissed. What young girl can’t relate to that? Over all it reminds me of a 1940’s Romeo and Juliet.
Mallory
It was a cute love story of two kids from different cultures in a time where it wasn't popular to be different (well is it ever). I really liked it except I desperately wanted it to end differently (especially at the moment). So if it had ended differently it would have gotten at least another star.
Sarah Tilatitsky
This book is pretty sad, but it's always ok in the end, happy ending, blah blah blah. I'm getting a little tired of the too-optimistic happy endings, although this book is right for one. I mean, it is World War 2. Still, this is a pretty good book, so peole should read this. ...more
Jaime
I read this book in Jr. High and it has since become one of my favorite books! There was something so real and sincere about the lives of these two kids, and I think this is the book that made me a romantic. HAHA
Jessy
Jan 29, 2011 Jessy added it
I love this book I actually think it was this particular book wich make me love reading. romance,pasion, teenage love, and since it was prohibit by chris`dad it is interesting :)
Alyssa
I liked the setting of this book. So often we like to ignore the things we (american's) have done wrong. It's a little dramatic maybe, but compelling in it's way.
Kelly
this book just gives me so many feels....i smile, i cry, i laugh, i get angry, i feel sad, i feel content...then i cry again. LOVED IT SO MUCH JUST READ IT
♥iDevourBooks♥ ☆Sonic~Obsessed☆
Interesting romance. Never expected I'd read a holocaust-romance or even find one. Guess I was wrong. Ha! But the story could've been plotted better.
Elizabeth
This book has a Summer of my German soldier feel to it ( a depressing vibe ) and it starts out sort've slow, but it's really great.
Aimee Garcia
If you would like to read this book you can find it in Ms.Lacy's room in the library's bok shelf.
Molly
I really like reading this book for my book report. It had a good love story.
Maria
I hate this book, it was not a book that I will recommended my friends to read
Shannon America
I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick read.
Nina
My favorite book ever.
mitchbob
mitchbob marked it as to-read
Apr 22, 2015
hi.im.william
hi.im.william marked it as to-read
Apr 22, 2015
linden matthews
linden matthews marked it as to-read
Apr 20, 2015
Cassie
Cassie marked it as to-read
Apr 20, 2015
Evalee Gunter
Evalee Gunter marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 15 16 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Bomb
  • Forty Acres and Maybe a Mule
  • Trouble Don't Last
  • The Art of Keeping Cool
  • Worth
  • Charley Skedaddle
  • Bull Run
  • Morning Girl
  • The Fighting Ground
  • Under the Blood-Red Sun
  • Jip: His Story
  • Streams to the River, River to the Sea
  • The Game of Silence
  • Daniel's Story
  • The Zion Covenant (Zion Covenant #4-6)
  • The Journey Back
  • The River Between Us
  • Shades of Gray
Dear Elijah Sea, Salt, and Air When the Frost is Gone

Share This Book