Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Two Suns in the Sky” as Want to Read:
Two Suns in the Sky
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Two Suns in the Sky

3.60  ·  Rating Details  ·  212 Ratings  ·  27 Reviews
During World War II, a 15-year-old girl meets a young Jewish refugee in a New York shelter and soon learns the history behind her city through interaction with her new friend, as well as the barriers that exist when different cultures unite. Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction.
Paperback, 223 pages
Published November 12th 2001 by Puffin Books (first published April 7th 1999)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Two Suns in the Sky, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Two Suns in the Sky

The Book Thief by Markus ZusakCode Name Verity by Elizabeth WeinBetween Shades of Gray by Ruta SepetysRose Under Fire by Elizabeth WeinSalt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
YA set in the 1940s
17th out of 118 books — 69 voters
The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George SpeareMara, Daughter of the Nile by Eloise Jarvis McGrawDaddy-Long-Legs by Jean WebsterTime Enough for Drums by Ann RinaldiThe Sherwood Ring by Elizabeth Marie Pope
Old-School Teen Historical Romance
48th out of 233 books — 91 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 558)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Julianna
May 23, 2010 Julianna rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of Historical Fiction or Historical, YA or Inter-Ethnic Romance
Reviewed for THC Reviews
"4.5 stars" It is always such a joy to me when a random book buy turns out to be a fabulous read. I picked up Two Suns in the Sky at the library book sale for only fifty cents, but had I known how good it was going to be, I would have been happy to pay full-price. This young adult novel is a combination of historical fiction and historical romance. It is written in such a way that I believe teenagers could easily understand and relate to it, but it is full of the mysterie
...more
Booknerd07
May 14, 2016 Booknerd07 rated it did not like it
I hate this book. Ugggggghhhhhhh this book is so daft and annoying!!!!! These characters are the most awkward characters I've ever had the misfortune of reading. I could go on about how much I hate it but that would take all day. Just don't read it, please. I mean seriously, this is the cheesiest thing I've ever dealt with since high school musical. And god the awkwardness!!! If you like angsty teenagers complaining about life, than go for it. But otherwise I seriously don't recommend this book. ...more
Sue
This tells an important story about the only shelter provided by the United States for European Jews fleeing the Holocaust. It was in Oswego, NY and this book is based on narratives by refugees and citizens of Oswego who have made accounts of that time. It's important for young people to know about this chapter in our history. That being said, I didn't love this book, although I wanted to. It tried to be too many things-a history of refugees, a first love story with lots of physical tension, a g ...more
Andrea Clouthier
Jun 22, 2013 Andrea Clouthier rated it liked it
In school they made us read a book every month, I think, to write a book review later. This book caught my attention so I picked it: forbidden love story, different religions, World War II... I really liked the plot and summary. The story is narrated from the two POV of the main characters, something I really enjoyed. Overall a good book, but why three stars? I got bored multiple times when Christine narrated, maybe because to me her life wasn't as interesting as Adam's, and to my disappointment ...more
Gaile
May 10, 2011 Gaile rated it liked it
A heart warming YA book about two teens from vastly different backgrounds who fall in love.
Chris is an American Catholic. Adam is a Jewish refugee from Yugoslavia who ends up with his mother and sister in the only Emergency refugee shelter set us in the United States.She is fifteen. He is eighteen.
Her family forbids her to see him and she tries not to. He wants to see her but as time goes by, he comes to an understanding of how his family has to make their way in America. He becomes a citizen an
...more
Nicole
Jul 15, 2012 Nicole rated it it was amazing
Christine Cook is a Catholic. Adam Borenstein is a Jew. This book is set during World War 2. Adam and his family move to America from Yugoslavia. They are living in a refugee camp. Christine and Adam meet and a relationship forms. Chrisines father doesn't like this one bit because of the difference in religion. She does everything hat she can to see him. The book deals with the happenings of the war and the government at that time.

I liked this book because it was very educational. I like it whe
...more
Natalie
Dec 10, 2015 Natalie is currently reading it  ·  review of another edition
I haven't read this in years. I'm reading it out loud to the kids. It will satisfy a Cub Scout requirement and then we can go to the Safe Haven Museum in Oswego to go with it.
Rae
Jun 19, 2009 Rae rated it really liked it
Shelves: ya-childrens
1944 New York City, Emergency Refugee Shelter. Despite her father's objections (to all things that may be different than his norm), fourteen-year-old Christine goes often to the refugee camp in her hometown of Oswego, New York. There she meets and falls in love with Adam, a Yugoslavian Jew. They have a sweet and somewhat clandestine relationship...which doesn't seem too sappy because of the realistically open ending. I really enjoyed this novel. The author placed quotes from actual refugees and ...more
Krista the Krazy Kataloguer
I read this along with Norma Fox Mazer's Good Night, Maman. Both are about Jewish refugees at a camp in Oswego, New York, during World War II. Mazer's is for younger children and focuses on the experience at Oswego. Miriam Bat-Ami's book is more of a love story, with less of the focus on place. Of the two, Mazer does a better job of evoking the feeling of 1940's upstate New York. I enjoyed both, however, and recommend both, along with Ruth Gruber's adult non-fiction book Haven: the Dramatic Stor ...more
Olivia
May 10, 2012 Olivia rated it it was ok
When Adam Bornstein is given the opportunity to travel to America with his family as refugees of WWII, his life is completely altered. Surrounded by American culture and customs, he becomes enchanted with his new way of life. And when Adam meets the beautiful and American Chris Cook, his life is once more changed. Can Adam and Chris withstand their disapproving parents ridicules and the conventional ideas of relationships that society pressures them to follow? Brought together by war, will war b ...more
Natalie
Jan 30, 2014 Natalie rated it liked it
3.5 stars. This is a coming of age story set against the background of a Jewish refugee camp during late WWII. The theme of fences and freedom is peppered throughout. The sweet romance is fairly age appropriate but a bit sad because of the difficulties of the time. One of the most memorable lines is at the very end. "There should have been more camps like this. Without fences. We should have had so many."
Ayah
Jan 17, 2014 Ayah added it
Very sweet. Moving story of young love.
Karalyn
Aug 01, 2011 Karalyn rated it liked it
I was hesitant to read a book about Nazis because they make me so sad. But once I started reading I realized that even though that was the central theme the main plot was about a 15 year old girl wanting to be in love and to be kissed. What young girl can’t relate to that? Over all it reminds me of a 1940’s Romeo and Juliet.
Mallory
Jun 18, 2012 Mallory rated it liked it
It was a cute love story of two kids from different cultures in a time where it wasn't popular to be different (well is it ever). I really liked it except I desperately wanted it to end differently (especially at the moment). So if it had ended differently it would have gotten at least another star.
Sarah Tilatitsky
May 05, 2011 Sarah Tilatitsky rated it liked it
This book is pretty sad, but it's always ok in the end, happy ending, blah blah blah. I'm getting a little tired of the too-optimistic happy endings, although this book is right for one. I mean, it is World War 2. Still, this is a pretty good book, so peole should read this. ...more
Jaime
Jun 25, 2011 Jaime rated it it was amazing
I read this book in Jr. High and it has since become one of my favorite books! There was something so real and sincere about the lives of these two kids, and I think this is the book that made me a romantic. HAHA
Jessy
Jan 29, 2011 Jessy added it
I love this book I actually think it was this particular book wich make me love reading. romance,pasion, teenage love, and since it was prohibit by chris`dad it is interesting :) ...more
Alyssa
Feb 27, 2009 Alyssa rated it liked it
I liked the setting of this book. So often we like to ignore the things we (american's) have done wrong. It's a little dramatic maybe, but compelling in it's way.
J
Jan 21, 2016 J rated it liked it
Great little book that highlights a relatively unknown event in our nation's history. The book makes me want to read some nonfiction about the refugee camp.
Kelly
Feb 15, 2015 Kelly rated it it was amazing
this book just gives me so many feels....i smile, i cry, i laugh, i get angry, i feel sad, i feel content...then i cry again. LOVED IT SO MUCH JUST READ IT
♥iDevourBooks♥ ☆Sonic~Obsessed☆
Interesting romance. Never expected I'd read a holocaust-romance or even find one. Guess I was wrong. Ha! But the story could've been plotted better.
Elizabeth
Apr 09, 2008 Elizabeth rated it really liked it
Shelves: war
This book has a Summer of my German soldier feel to it ( a depressing vibe ) and it starts out sort've slow, but it's really great.
Aimee Garcia
Apr 12, 2009 Aimee Garcia rated it liked it
If you would like to read this book you can find it in Ms.Lacy's room in the library's bok shelf.
Molly
Nov 14, 2010 Molly rated it liked it
I really like reading this book for my book report. It had a good love story.
Maria
Feb 05, 2009 Maria rated it it was ok
Shelves: already-read
I hate this book, it was not a book that I will recommended my friends to read
Shannon America
Jan 03, 2010 Shannon America rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick read.
Nina
Jul 28, 2010 Nina rated it it was amazing
My favorite book ever.
Noelle
Noelle marked it as to-read
Jul 26, 2016
Allison Lund
Allison Lund marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2016
Caly Thompson
Caly Thompson marked it as to-read
Jul 20, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 18 19 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Bomb
  • Forty Acres and Maybe a Mule
  • Trouble Don't Last
  • Charley Skedaddle
  • Bull Run
  • Morning Girl
  • The Art of Keeping Cool
  • Under the Blood-Red Sun
  • Worth
  • The Fighting Ground
  • Jip: His Story
  • Room in the Heart
  • The Journey Back
  • Streams to the River, River to the Sea
  • The Gathering Storm (Zion Diaries, #1)
  • Daniel's Story
  • Thin Ice
  • If You Lived With The Sioux Indians

Share This Book