Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Best of the Bellevue Literary Review” as Want to Read:
The Best of the Bellevue Literary Review
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Best of the Bellevue Literary Review

by
4.18  ·  Rating Details ·  34 Ratings  ·  1 Review
“A kaleidoscope of creativity . . . unsentimental and sometimes unpredictable.”—Journal of the American Medical Association

Founded just six years ago, Bellevue Literary Review is already widely recognized as a rare forum for emerging and celebrated writers—among them Julia Alvarez, Raphael Campo, Rick Moody, and Abraham Verghese—on issues of health and healing. Gathered he
...more
Paperback, 320 pages
Published February 1st 2008 by Bellevue Literary Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Best of the Bellevue Literary Review, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Best of the Bellevue Literary Review

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Jennifer
Apr 15, 2013 Jennifer rated it it was ok
I have to admit, I was a little disappointed. There were a couple jewels sprinkled here and there, but for the most part they were pretty standard narratives. I think it's just because I'd prefer to read nonfiction when it comes to illness narratives, and there was just a little too much fiction and poetry for my taste.
Skip Ebert
Skip Ebert rated it it was amazing
Mar 02, 2015
Karen
Karen rated it it was amazing
Nov 30, 2014
Rita Ciresi
Rita Ciresi rated it really liked it
Apr 05, 2012
Lindz
Lindz rated it really liked it
Aug 07, 2013
Kate
Kate rated it liked it
Mar 04, 2015
Max Mcdonnell
Max Mcdonnell rated it it was amazing
Oct 18, 2013
Kimberly Brown
Kimberly Brown rated it it was ok
Feb 04, 2015
Joshua
Joshua rated it really liked it
Nov 10, 2014
William Bradley
William Bradley rated it it was amazing
Feb 06, 2008
Serena
Serena rated it really liked it
Jun 23, 2012
Karl Taylor
Karl Taylor rated it liked it
Apr 04, 2015
Nan
Nan rated it really liked it
Mar 22, 2014
kate
kate rated it really liked it
Oct 19, 2013
David William Elswick
David William Elswick rated it really liked it
Sep 11, 2013
Josh Sheak
Josh Sheak rated it really liked it
Jul 03, 2015
Mikiem
Mikiem rated it really liked it
Nov 04, 2014
Joonna Trapp
Joonna Trapp rated it it was amazing
Feb 17, 2010
Marjie
Marjie rated it really liked it
Jul 30, 2012
Beth
Beth rated it it was amazing
Apr 02, 2016
Erez
Erez rated it really liked it
Nov 02, 2015
Tashina Knight
Tashina Knight rated it really liked it
Sep 02, 2012
Milad Webb
Milad Webb rated it it was amazing
May 01, 2015
Josey Nickles
Josey Nickles rated it it was amazing
Apr 16, 2013
Anna
Anna rated it really liked it
Jun 27, 2016
Jimmy Tam Huy Pham
Jimmy Tam Huy Pham rated it it was amazing
Jan 01, 2013
Tina
Tina rated it really liked it
Nov 13, 2012
Cheryl
Cheryl rated it really liked it
Jul 28, 2011
Billy Jonson
Billy Jonson rated it it was amazing
Feb 13, 2013
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
86158
When I started medical school, I had no idea that I would become a writer. I'd completed a PhD in the biochemistry of endorphin receptors, and planned to become a bench scientist with a once-a-week clinic to see patients.

But during residency, I fell in love with patient-care, and realized that I'd have to put bench research aside. After three years of training, I took off some time to travel. I sp
...more
More about Danielle Ofri...

Share This Book