Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Frog and Fly” as Want to Read:
Frog and Fly
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Frog and Fly

3.58  ·  Rating Details  ·  335 Ratings  ·  78 Reviews
Six slurpy stories, two comical combatants, and one laugh-out-loud picture book

Frog and Fly are constant companions. There is only one problem . . . Frog thinks Fly is delicious! This leads to a never-ending battle of wits with laugh-out- loud consequences. Told in six short comic stripstyle chapters, Frog and Fly will delight kids and leave them begging for yet another
...more
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published March 15th 2012 by Philomel Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Frog and Fly, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Frog and Fly

Waiting is Not Easy! by Mo WillemsI Broke My Trunk! by Mo WillemsA Big Guy Took My Ball! by Mo WillemsDark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night by Joyce SidmanMercy Watson by Kate DiCamillo
TCH Elementary Library list 2
48th out of 96 books — 2 voters
Creepy Carrots! by Aaron ReynoldsAdventure Annie Goes to Kindergarten by Toni BuzzeoAnansi's Party Time by Eric A. KimmelAnother Brother by Matthew CordellBow-wow Wiggle-Waggle by Mary Newell DePalma
2014 Name That Book K-2
9th out of 30 books — 2 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 506)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
The Styling Librarian
LOVED this book! Hilarious easy reader that will be quite appealing. Enjoyed the 6 stories. Made my son chortle...
Michelle
Feb 11, 2015 Michelle rated it it was amazing
Shelves: for-the-littlies
This is another brilliant contribution to the genre of "Grand Guignol for The Preschool Set." Yes, little kids love to be scared and grossed out, and yes, it's OK to let them indulge now and then. Not in adult horror, mind you (the story of the first grader whose mother let him watch "Chuckie" is one that will live with me forever. Two words to people who might think they should show scary movies to kids: Just Don't.) But this book, with its innocent-looking cover and clever dialogue, is a subtl ...more
Logan
Jan 04, 2016 Logan rated it it was amazing
Shelves: childrens
This is by far one of my favorite books, it's a laugh from the first page to the last page.
Allison Parker
Aug 30, 2012 Allison Parker rated it really liked it
Love the surprising darkness to this set of stories. Spoiler alert: the fly gets it. Repeatedly.
Kendra
Jul 22, 2016 Kendra rated it it was amazing
Two words: SOUND EFFECTS. You have to be okay making them if you want the jokes in this book to land correctly. Big slurps, dramatic gestures, the lot. No skimping on sound effects! If you're willing to put in the effort, this is a great book to use as a transition from "activity time" to "sitting and paying attention time." If that makes sense. (I'm writing this on a Friday afternoon, so, my apologies.) The illustrations are minimalist and cartoonish in nature, but that plays to your favor if y ...more
Oak Lawn Public Library - Youth Services
Lexile Level: BR

Pages: 42 pgs

Summary: Frog loves fly...to eat that is. This comic book style picture book has six short stories about frog and his pursuit to eat fly.

Recommendations or Comments: It is a cute book. The story line progresses with each chapter. Talking with a child on what will happen next will lengthen this book of few words. I am a little confused if Mack is portraying the same fly over and over or if it is a new fly each chapter. I hope for the latter. This book reminds me of se
...more
Kathryn Dykes
Plot Summary & Personal Response: Gasp! Frog just tricked Fly into being his supper…again! Naive Fly just doesn’t understand that Frog’s only intentions are to devour the poor little guy. No worries though, Frog is soon on the flip side when Bear enters the picture! These quirky characters are brought to life through the use of onomatopoeias, which make this book a fun and easy read-along for young children. Jeff Mack skillfully pieces together six laughable short stories in a comic strip fa ...more
Joella www.cinjoella.com
These six stories about a frog and a fly (though not the same fly…the fly has a tendency to get eaten) are quite amusing! In the first story the fly says “hi” to the frog. The frog responds by saying “nice to eet you?” The fly tries to correct him with “No. Nice to meet you.” Then the frog eats the fly and thinks, “No. Nice to eat you!” And thus ends the first story of frog and fly. And yes, each story has the frog “slurping” away trying to eat flies.

These are short stories, with only a few word
...more
Tasha
Apr 10, 2012 Tasha rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
Six very short stories about a frog and a fly are told here. Done in comic panels, the stories are all simple and quite funny. In each story, the frog meets a fly and ends up not really making friends but instead making lunch. Each story is slightly different and filled with little puns. The frog manages to cleverly lure the fly closer by talking with it, but eventually just slurps that fly right up. The arc of the first two stories is very similar. The third brings in ketchup and a burger. The ...more
Sean Fowler
Dec 06, 2014 Sean Fowler rated it liked it
This was a silly book with six different small stories. The book was laid out like a comic and is short and simple to read. It was weird because the frog kept on eating the fly. The fly looks so innocent in the drawings and it keeps getting eaten. I guess that is the slight darkness to the book. Some of the illustrations and interactions between the fly and the frog make it seem as if they are going to get along. Oh well, animals need to eat.
North Lake County Public Library
The littlies in our Mother Goose Mondays group (ages 0 to 3ish) really enjoyed this book, especially with the kind of sound effects (there's a lot of "zip-ing" and "slurp-ing") that make the adult reader feel slightly ridiculous in the best possible way.
Barbara
Apr 23, 2012 Barbara rated it liked it
These six very short stories told in simple text and through multi-media illustrations follow the adventures of a very hungry frog and a fly--or a series of flies--that flits nearby. Each time the fly greets the frog, it ends up becoming a savory snack for the amphibian. But on one dark night, the frog meets its match as the fly hops onto a large, furry critter much larger than the frog. While the end of each story is predictable, beginning readers are likely to enjoy reading this title and appl ...more
Pat Salvatini
Jul 17, 2014 Pat Salvatini rated it really liked it
Shelves: easy-reader
Six short chapters of Frog and Fly, except fly keeps getting eaten so it must be lots of different flies. Lots of east rhyming words for beginning readers, bold graphic illustrations. Kids will like the silliness.
Sara
Dec 15, 2015 Sara added it
Shelves: bakers-dozen
Frog meets Fly. Frog eats Fly. Frog plays tricks on Fly. Then Frog meets Bear….

Reader response / classroom connection:
1. Puppets
2. Create a comic based on word play and puns
Erin Reilly-Sanders
Jul 13, 2012 Erin Reilly-Sanders rated it really liked it
I totally love this book! I hope the Geisel Award committee has their eyes on Frog and Fly because it is fun, funny, and really great as an easy reader book. The words are repetitive and simple but still manage to build with the illustrations to make a great six-part story that will have kids and adults laughing. The illustrations are simple, cartoony, and likable but don't have the same sense of expression that Mo Willem's does in the Elephant and Piggie books where the pictures really begin to ...more
The Library Lady
Dec 20, 2012 The Library Lady rated it really liked it
The summary makes it seem as if "Fly" is one character and this is akin to, say, Frog and Toad Are Friends. Nope,nope, nope.

Frog IS Frog, but "Fly" is a series of flies who, chapter by chapter, get eaten by Frog. However, it may be a Frog eats Fly world, but Frog has his own place on the food chain for a perfect ending.

This is being classed as a picture book, but it's more of a beginning reader with minimal text that often repeats, and the humor is more kindergarten and up than toddler/preschool
...more
Rebecca Plaza
Aug 09, 2014 Rebecca Plaza rated it really liked it
Hilarious!! speech bubble practice partner reading with feeling! 6 super short chapters for goal setting accomplishment. Feels spontaneous.
Michele Knott
2015 Monarch nominee
Funny... but disturbing at the same time. Is it always the same fly that comes back chapter after chapter??
Kate
Fun to share with a very beginning reader. Minimum number of words used to tell these stories. Lots of laughs from the kids.
Richie
Jul 18, 2015 Richie rated it it was amazing
the frog ate lots and lots of flies. and in the end, the frog is eaten by a bear. I like this book but I have no reason why.
Ann Williams
Jul 18, 2014 Ann Williams rated it liked it
Some of you will think this book is HILARIOUS! There are some great mini lesson possibilities with this picture book.
Maggie KutsBorg
Feb 14, 2014 Maggie KutsBorg rated it liked it
Shelves: wee-chapters, frogs
Fun and funny. Typical Jeff Mack style. This one has the kind of soft-shock value that kids of Monarch age appreciate.
Valery
Aug 03, 2015 Valery added it
my son loves this book. Not very wordy, but a fun little book when your kids are just learning to read.
Mlh346comcast.net
E MACK, J. 5 short stories in which the frog slurps down a fly. In the sixth, the frog gets slurped.
Bmack
Six “chapters” of comic book style stories about Frog vs. Fly. Fun to read and it has a surprise ending!
Vin
Aug 18, 2015 Vin rated it liked it
Vincent thought this was hilarious and laughed every time the frog made a slurping sound.
Melissa
Apr 20, 2016 Melissa rated it really liked it
Definitely made me giggle. Frog is a bit of a jerk! (But in a good way!)
Laura McLoughlin
Mar 04, 2016 Laura McLoughlin rated it it was ok
All six stories end with some creature being eaten. Kathryn enjoyed it ok.
Read It
Aug 24, 2014 Read It rated it did not like it
Book is very Short. Great for Children and Kids but not for Adults. :)
Carol
May 07, 2012 Carol rated it really liked it
Frog and Fly have such an interesting relationship. Or should I say Frog and Fly and Fly and Fly and Fly and Fly and Fly have an interesting relationship. Each of the "Six Slurpy Stories" is told in a simple comic book format. Frog and a Fly encounter each other in various situations each ending in the same unfortunate way. Or do they? In the sixth and final chapter, Frog tries slurping something even he can't handle. Fans of Mo Willems Elephant and Piggie books will laugh even harder when they ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 16 17 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • A Trip to the Bottom of the World with Mouse: TOON Level 1
  • Spark
  • Rabbit and Robot: The Sleepover
  • How Many Jelly Beans?
  • A Kiss Means I Love You
  • Demolition
  • Open Wide: Tooth School Inside
  • Boats
  • Mrs. Watson Wants Your Teeth
  • Penny and Her Doll
  • Who Hops?
  • Tales for Very Picky Eaters
  • It's My Birthday
  • My Dog Is As Smelly As Dirty Socks: And Other Funny Family Portraits
  • Up, Tall, and High!
  • Nest
  • Tanka Tanka Skunk!
  • How to Train a Train

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »