Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Sheriff Takes a Wife (Manning Sisters, #2)” as Want to Read:
The Sheriff Takes a Wife (Manning Sisters, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

The Sheriff Takes a Wife (The Manning Sisters #2)

by
4.1 of 5 stars 4.10  ·  rating details  ·  330 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Maybe it was the Montana air or the fact that her sister had just given birth to a precious baby boy. But from the moment she met Custer County's sheriff-elect, overpoweringly masculine Cody Franklin, responsible, city-bred Christy Manning took a tumble into breathless, brazen love. There were several hitches, however in far off Seattle...

The instant he saw her, Cody was
...more
Mass Market Paperback
Published (first published December 1990)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Sheriff Takes a Wife, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Sheriff Takes a Wife

Romancing Mister Bridgerton by Julia QuinnTwilight by Stephenie MeyerScandal in Spring by Lisa KleypasThe Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsTo Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn
Best Romantic Beta Heroes
369th out of 453 books — 401 voters
Chasing Victory by Joanne JaytanieThe Corny Myers Series by Sharon KleveThe EX by Sharon KleveLove Under the Christmas Tree by Sharon KleveFlamingo Blues by Sharon Kleve
Best Romance Books Set In Seattle, WA
56th out of 105 books — 36 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 599)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Debbie Heaton
In Macomber’s romance novel, Christy Manning visits her sister, Taylor in Montana. To her surprise, she meets Sheriff Cody Franklin and finds herself a victim of “love at first sight.” And on Cody’s end, he finds himself in the same predicament. They connect in a way that leaves no doubt they should be together. But there’s just one problem—Christy’s engaged to someone back in Seattle—and that leaves the couple in a situation asking, “How do we handle this?”

Another fabulous story set in the back
...more
Julianna
Jul 15, 2013 Julianna rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Fans of Sweet Romances, Beta Heroes
Reviewed for THC Reviews
The Sheriff Takes a Wife is the second book I've read by Debbie Macomber and the second in The Manning Sisters duet. I liked it quite a bit more than the first book of the series. It is a very sweet story, but it contains some elements that I know won't be very popular with many modern romance readers. Therefore, I know it won't work for everyone, but it worked pretty well for me. In fact, after getting off to a rocky start with this author, The Sheriff Takes a Wife has r
...more
Carolyn Sisko
what a great read! I loved reading about Christy & Cody. Christy was newly engaged and went visiting her sister, Taylor. While visiting, she met Cody. Christy then realized about Love, Christy had a terrible time breaking her engagement to Cody.
Katie
I actually liked this one more than the first in the series. Cody is probably my favorite hero so far, although Christy was a push over. Quick read again!
Brenda
That did it ... I am now a Debbie Macomber fan. This is the second Macomber novel I have read and once again, I could not put it down! You immediately get drawn into the main character. I am now reading a third Macomber novel. Hopefully it will be as good as the first two!!!!
Tiffany
I enjoyed this story since there was a relationship that started in the beginning of the story. I like to read about a relationship growing versus them fighting or something keeping them apart until the very end. This was book was a little steamy!
Alice
This book is the second in the Manning family series. It covers the second of the two Manning sisters. Not one of my favorites, but still fun to read.
rivka
*grr*

No, circumstances do not make it ok to act that way. There was no rush -- so wait a few weeks!

Feh.
Patricia Solla
Book number two about sister number two. Once again we have an easy read about small town life and romance.
Carol Waters
Not in this lifetime. Blah.
Rebeka
good story
Lisa Tinsley
Lisa Tinsley marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2015
Sara
Sara marked it as to-read
Mar 05, 2015
Beth Rice
Beth Rice marked it as to-read
Mar 03, 2015
Twyla j Teague
Twyla j Teague marked it as to-read
Feb 23, 2015
Ellen Worgan
Ellen Worgan marked it as to-read
Feb 21, 2015
Gracie Liberty
Gracie Liberty marked it as to-read
Feb 20, 2015
Roni
Roni added it
Feb 15, 2015
Heidi
Heidi marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2015
Alicia
Alicia added it
Jan 27, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 19 20 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Closer... (Harlequin Blaze, #265)
  • Lord of the Sea (Heroes of the Sea, #4)
  • Seduction Under Fire (Harlequin Romantic Suspense)
  • Christmas Kisses (Mackenzie Family, #4 & Those Manning Men, #5)
  • Joint Forces (Wingmen Warriors, #7) (Silhouette Intimate Moments, #1293)
  • Blade's Lady (Silhouette Intimate Moments, #1023)
  • Edge (Romance on the Edge, #1)
  • Nightwalker
  • The Survivors
  • Discovering Dani  (Jamesville, #1)
  • Loving the Boss (Romance on the Go)
  • You're Still the One (Made in Montana, #4)
  • In The Line Of Duty (First Responders #2)
  • Xavier's Loving Arms (Sweet & Sinful #3)
  • Dream Mender: Dream Mender\Stay...
  • Night Magic
  • Wings of the Storm
  • Edge of Betrayal (Edge, #4)
11349
Debbie Macomber is a #1 New York Times bestselling author and one of today’s most popular writers with more than 170 million copies of her books in print worldwide. Macomber brings to life the compelling relationships that embrace family, community and enduring friendships, filling her readers with a sense of love and hope.

Macomber is the author of more than 100 novels, most recently the instant #
...more
More about Debbie Macomber...

Other Books in the Series

The Manning Sisters (2 books)
  • The Cowboy's Lady (Silhouette Special Edition #626)
The Shop on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, #1 ) A Good Yarn (Blossom Street, #2) 204 Rosewood Lane (Cedar Cove, #2) Twenty Wishes (Blossom Street, #5) 16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove, #1)

Share This Book