Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Paris Review (Issue No. 196)” as Want to Read:
The Paris Review (Issue No. 196)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Paris Review (The Paris Review #196)

really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating Details  ·  55 Ratings  ·  10 Reviews
Table of Contents

Fiction

Roberto Bolaño, The Third Reich: Part I
Joshua Cohen, Emission

Interview

Ann Beattie, The Art of Fiction No. 209
Janet Malcolm, The Art of Nonfiction No. 4

Poetry

Chris Andrews, Two Poems
Various Authors, Five Poems of Kabbalah
Stephen Dunn, Leaving the Empty Room
Linda Gregerson, Slaters’ Measure
Clare Rossini, The Nitro

Portfolio

Pavel Zoubok, Collage

Essay

Joh
...more
Journal, 254 pages
Published 2011 by The Paris Review Foundation Inc.

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Paris Review, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Paris Review

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 97)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Merilee
Oct 22, 2011 Merilee rated it really liked it
This issue has the first third of Roberto Bolano's posthumously published novel, The Third Reich. Also interviews with Janet Malcolm and Ann Beattie.
Ken Northington
Jan 29, 2013 Ken Northington rated it really liked it
Of note to me was the piece by Édouard Levé, "When I Look at a Strawberry, I Think of a Tongue." A cubist prose piece that inspired me to write a cubist prose poem I titled, "Fragments Make Me a Person." I share his fixation on his subject matter of choice, so I like this piece, and reading about his life as a writer.

I was also introduced to Ann Beattie, who quickly became a female author I had affinity for, after reading Walks with Men. Very happy to have discovered her.

Other really good storie
...more
Daniel Chaikin
The Robert Bolano section, from a posthumously discovered, but early and not highly regarded novel, was my introduction to Balono and has led me to by the rest of the book (title, "The Third Reich"). The interviews are quite interesting. Ann Beattie's interview was fascinating, but won't lead me to read here books. Janet Malcolm's interview was only OK, but she came across as fascinating. I would like to read her book "The Journalist and the Murderer". Also some fascinating translations of poems ...more
Dorick
Apr 13, 2012 Dorick rated it really liked it
Great translations of the Kaballah poetry, really amazing. Also I am trying to read Bolano's "unfinished" finished novel the Third Reich the slow way, issue by issue. My first introduction to him after, as is my habit, resisting him for a time as my friends profusely gushed about him for years. I work backwards. But I could jut be an a__hole
Melody
Mar 04, 2013 Melody rated it really liked it
Loved the essay about the unnamed caves. Added many new books to my reading list after reading the interview with Ann Beattie. Put The Third Reich by Robert Bolano on hold at the library after reading Part 1 of this novel.
Adaś
Aug 07, 2011 Adaś rated it really liked it
Shelves: american
Édouard Levé's prose-poem/photo-essay "When I Look at a Strawberry, I Think of a Tongue", the excerpt of Bolaño's forthcoming novel "The Third Reich", and the collage portfolio are all awesome in this issue.
Neal
Oct 24, 2011 Neal rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2011, lit-journals
Five stars for the Bolano, three-to-four stars for everything else.
Poupeh
Oct 19, 2011 Poupeh added it
Roberto Bolano's latest, the Third Reich, starts here!
Bob Lopez
Oct 18, 2011 Bob Lopez rated it really liked it
The first part of the Bolano novel is particularly good.
Rose Gowen
Leve, Sullivan, Malcolm
Pat Winter
Pat Winter marked it as to-read
Jul 13, 2016
Mkc
Mkc marked it as to-read
Apr 05, 2016
Robert
Robert marked it as to-read
Apr 02, 2016
Maja
Maja marked it as to-read
Nov 30, 2015
James Heart
James Heart marked it as to-read
Oct 25, 2015
Yiming Ma
Yiming Ma rated it really liked it
Oct 29, 2015
Aoibheann
Aoibheann marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2015
Jaime
Jaime marked it as to-read
Jul 14, 2015
Nick Dormer
Nick Dormer rated it really liked it
Aug 30, 2014
Enrico
Enrico rated it really liked it
Aug 06, 2014
Shany
Shany marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2014
Billy Candelaria
Billy Candelaria marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2014
Shannon
Shannon marked it as to-read
Jul 02, 2014
Shelly Synar
Shelly Synar marked it as to-read
Mar 28, 2014
John
John added it
Jul 16, 2014
Tyler Bigney
Tyler Bigney rated it really liked it
Jan 31, 2014
Philip
Philip rated it really liked it
Jan 28, 2014
Inês Domingues
Inês Domingues marked it as to-read
Dec 05, 2013
Arami
Arami marked it as to-read
Nov 30, 2013
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
7373
Founded in Paris by Harold L. Humes, Peter Matthiessen, and George Plimpton in 1953, The Paris Review began with a simple editorial mission: “Dear reader,” William Styron wrote in a letter in the inaugural issue, “The Paris Review hopes to emphasize creative work—fiction and poetry—not to the exclusion of criticism, but with the aim in mind of merely removing criticism from the dominating place it ...more
More about The Paris Review...

Other Books in the Series

The Paris Review (1 - 10 of 71 books)
  • The Paris Review No.19 Summer 1958
  • The Paris Review, #34
  • The Paris Review (37)
  • The Paris Review #56
  • THE PARIS REVIEW (101) WINTER 1986
  • The Paris Review #105
  • The Paris Review #133
  • The Paris Review, No 135
  • The Paris Review #136: Whither Mirth?
  • Paris Review #137, Winter 1995

Share This Book