Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Shenandoah and Other Verse Plays” as Want to Read:
Shenandoah and Other Verse Plays
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Shenandoah and Other Verse Plays

3.17 of 5 stars 3.17  ·  rating details  ·  6 ratings  ·  2 reviews
In the tradition of T. S. Eliot and W. H. Auden, but also fiercely original, these five verse plays mix autobiography and history, myths and ghosts, fantasy and comedy in thematic dramatizations of alienation, loneliness, Faustian bargains, and American materialism by a major American poet of the twentieth century.
Paperback, 165 pages
Published May 1st 1992 by BOA Editions (first published September 1st 1991)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Shenandoah and Other Verse Plays, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Shenandoah and Other Verse Plays

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-10 of 10)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Stuart
Interesting and poetic more than viable drama, these short plays range from the purely enjoyable to the bizarre and not exactly pallateable. Schwartz's poetry is in high form, but his treatment of his own subject matter is sometimes too convoluted for it's own good. Still, there are glimmers of dramatic brilliance here and there and the title piece is a very enjoyable read, as is the send up of the Iliad from a modern Hollywood perspective.
Alex
I'm not as keen on Schwartz's verse plays as most of his other writings, but there are a handful of memorable lines.
Joe Basile
Joe Basile marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2013
Josh
Josh marked it as to-read
Oct 03, 2013
Sarah
Sarah marked it as to-read
Jan 02, 2012
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
73675
Delmore Schwartz was born December 8, 1913, in Brooklyn. The marriage of his parents Harry and Rose, both Roumanian immigrants, was doomed to fail. Sadly, this misfortune with relationships was also a theme in Schwartz's life. His alcoholism, frequent use of barbiturates and amphetamines, and battles with various mental diseases, proved adverse in his relationships with women. His first marriage t ...more
More about Delmore Schwartz...
In Dreams Begin Responsibilities and Other Stories Selected Poems: Summer Knowledge Last and Lost Poems Screeno: Stories & Poems The Ego Is Always at the Wheel: Bagatelles

Share This Book