The People And The President: America's Conversation With Fdr
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

The People And The President: America's Conversation With Fdr

3.44 of 5 stars 3.44  ·  rating details  ·  9 ratings  ·  0 reviews
America's Conversation with FDR
For readers of The Greatest Generation, an extraordinary window on the '30s and '40s By the time FDR took his oath of office on March 4, 1933, Americans had been in the depths of the Great Depression for four years. One week later, the President gave the first of what would be thirty-one Fireside Chats. MacArthur Award-winning historian Lawre...more
Hardcover
Published June 13th 2002 by Beacon Press (MA)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-23 of 23)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Phil
Phil marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2013
Cody Rowlands
Cody Rowlands marked it as to-read
Sep 06, 2012
Kimberly
Kimberly marked it as to-read
Jun 27, 2012
Sophie
Sophie marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2012
Laura
Laura added it
Jan 11, 2013
Pete
Pete marked it as to-read
Feb 08, 2010
Mike
Mike marked it as to-read
Feb 12, 2009
Joe
Joe added it
Jan 16, 2009
Elizabeth
Elizabeth marked it as to-read
Oct 29, 2008
Nicole
Nicole marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2008
Ken
Ken is currently reading it
Jan 25, 2008
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
177029
Lawrence William Levine was a celebrated American historian. He was born in Manhattan and died in Berkeley, California.

A model of the engaged scholar throughout his life, Levine lived both his scholarship and his politics. From the very outset, he immersed himself in the political life of Berkeley – in, for example, a sleep-in in the rotunda of the state capitol in Sacramento to press for fair hou...more
More about Lawrence W. Levine...
Highbrow/Lowbrow: The Emergence of Cultural Hierarchy in America Black Culture and Black Consciousness: Afro-American Folk Thought from Slavery to Freedom The Opening of the American Mind: Canons, Culture, and History The Unpredictable Past Documenting America, 1935-1943

Share This Book