Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Good Night, World” as Want to Read:
Good Night, World
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Good Night, World

by
3.53 of 5 stars 3.53  ·  rating details  ·  105 ratings  ·  26 reviews
Good night sun and other stars,
good night Saturn, Venus, Mars.
Elsewhere in the world it's light,
it's morning there, but here it's night.

As the sun sets from east to west, this book takes children on a magical round-the-world journey to bid good night to the world's natural wonders, from plants and animals to mountains, oceans, and wide desert plains. Willa Perlman's so
...more
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published July 12th 2011 by Beach Lane Books
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Good Night, World, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Good Night, World

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 141)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Gabrielle Blockton
Date: November 3rd, 2014

Author: Willa Perlman; Pictures by Carolyn Fisher

Title: Good Night, World

Plot: A young child poetically says goodnight to every living thing the world has to bring

Setting: The World; The Solar System

Characters: A young child

Point-of-View: First-Person

Theme: Appreciation all things that the world has to offer; world appreciation

Style: This picture-book focuses on the illustrations; this book is written in a poetic way

Copyright: 2011

Notes: I love poetry, so this book in
...more
Treasure
A basic bedtime book, this one follows a child who says good night to many different things in the world, such as roads, animals, planets, water, etc. A small black bird flies through each page, offering continuity for each dreamlike illustration. The illustrations are very bright and not ideal if sleep-inducement is intended while reading this book. The title and inside flap summary are rather misleading, as this reviewer was expecting a book about saying good night in different parts of the wo ...more
Angela Chadbourne
Reminds me of Good night Moon but child is saying good night to the world instead of just the things in the room.
Illustrations are lovely with great colors and details to share with young readers. Possible pajama storytime. Larger format makes it better than Good Night Moon for storytime.
Barbara
In rhyming text a young boy and a bird bid good night to the world. After pondering the fact that while it's night time where he is, it's dawn somewhere else, he proceeds to say good night to the sun, stars, and planets, and then moves to various geographical locales, including the desert and the mountains, and to the animals of the field and air until he wishes a good night's sleep to "every living thing" (unpaginated). This one would be a great read aloud. Backmatter includes ways to say good ...more
Meghan Douglas-Dowling
Beautiful, whimsical illustrations. A bedtime story in the vein of "Goodnight, Moon". My daughter adores it at three months old; she calls out to each new page with utter delight.
Shelley
This is a great bedtime storybook.
Karen
My five-year-old son picked this book out from the library last week.

Well, it's no Good Night, Moon. It follows the lilting rhyming scheme of Good Night, Moon, but it lacks some of the charm. At five, my son was too old for this book, and yet he still wants me to read Good Night, Moon every night.

The illustrations are bright, textured and rather intense. All those are great qualities, unless they are in a book that is supposed to lull a little one to sleep.

Cassie
Beautiful illustrations, lovely reverent text about the world and a list of goodnight in a wide variety of languages at the end. For my little 16 month old, having the same bird on every page made a fun "where's the bird" game on each page. Lovely goodnight book.
Cathy Blackler
Following the pattern of Good Night Moon, Good Night World follows the bedtime mindset of one small child as they prepare for slumber. Carolyn Fisher's stunning, muted pallete nicely compliments the mood and tone of Perlman's text.
Vicki
A nice rhyming book about night time all around the world. Fit perfectly for our Night Family Story Time during the Summer Reading Program of "Dream Big Read." At the end of the book there is the word good night in about 20 languages.
Judy Desetti
Very sweet. Would make a great bedtime story for toddlers and preschoolers. Reminded me of Goodnight Moon. Same rhythmic patterns as you read aloud.

Choose this as a wonderful gift to new parents, toddlers.
Janet
Liked the illustrations. Difficult to imagine a young child going to bed and saying goodnight to all the various features of the earth and universe as depicted in these illustrations.
Linda
Beautifully illustrated, some rhyming, and love the last page on how to say good night in different languages. - Gute nacht (German, goot-eh nakht)
Molly
I used this beautiful book in a night themed storytime. It's a sweet and simpy readaloud and would make a wonderful bedtime story.
Megan
Apr 27, 2012 Megan rated it 3 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: toddlers-preschool
In the tradition of "Goodnight Moon," this gentle, soothing text wishes a good night to places and things all around the world.
Dona
"Good Night World" had very nice illustrations with good colors and relaxing images. It is a very pleasant read.
Fran
This is a beautiful, beautiful book! Wonderful illustrations and lyrical rhyming make this a good read aloud!
Julie
Beautiful Illustrations, i really like the "Saying Good Night Around the World" at the end of the book.
Kim
LIttle child says good night to the "turning earth" including "deserts, mountains and oceans"
Shanshad Whelan
This one seems too much like an environmental Goodnight moon with prettier pictures.
Emily Hudak
Beautiful illustrations, a few words on each page = perfect bedtime story
Erin
The "good night"s in different languages at the end was beautiful.
Amy
Very cute book about the world going to bed.

Summer reading.
Paula
Nov 17, 2012 Paula rated it 3 of 5 stars
Shelves: pic
Includes how to say good night in other languages.
Alyson (Kid Lit Frenzy)
A twist on good-night moon. Nice illustrations.
Edward Sullivan
Good bedtime reading.
Phyllis Bruff
Phyllis Bruff marked it as to-read
Dec 28, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Pocket Kisses Pocket Kisses! Mini Notes

Share This Book