Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Good Night, World” as Want to Read:
Good Night, World
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Good Night, World

by
3.62  ·  Rating Details  ·  126 Ratings  ·  31 Reviews
Good night sun and other stars,
good night Saturn, Venus, Mars.
Elsewhere in the world it's light,
it's morning there, but here it's night.

As the sun sets from east to west, this book takes children on a magical round-the-world journey to bid good night to the world's natural wonders, from plants and animals to mountains, oceans, and wide desert plains. Willa Perlman's so
...more
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published July 12th 2011 by Beach Lane Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Good Night, World, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Good Night, World

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 172)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Gabrielle Blockton
Date: November 3rd, 2014

Author: Willa Perlman; Pictures by Carolyn Fisher

Title: Good Night, World

Plot: A young child poetically says goodnight to every living thing the world has to bring

Setting: The World; The Solar System

Characters: A young child

Point-of-View: First-Person

Theme: Appreciation all things that the world has to offer; world appreciation

Style: This picture-book focuses on the illustrations; this book is written in a poetic way

Copyright: 2011

Notes: I love poetry, so this book in
...more
Treasure
Dec 23, 2011 Treasure rated it it was ok
A basic bedtime book, this one follows a child who says good night to many different things in the world, such as roads, animals, planets, water, etc. A small black bird flies through each page, offering continuity for each dreamlike illustration. The illustrations are very bright and not ideal if sleep-inducement is intended while reading this book. The title and inside flap summary are rather misleading, as this reviewer was expecting a book about saying good night in different parts of the wo ...more
Angela
Aug 02, 2014 Angela rated it liked it
Shelves: storytime
Reminds me of Good night Moon but child is saying good night to the world instead of just the things in the room.
Illustrations are lovely with great colors and details to share with young readers. Possible pajama storytime. Larger format makes it better than Good Night Moon for storytime.
Barbara
Oct 25, 2011 Barbara rated it liked it
Shelves: picture-book
In rhyming text a young boy and a bird bid good night to the world. After pondering the fact that while it's night time where he is, it's dawn somewhere else, he proceeds to say good night to the sun, stars, and planets, and then moves to various geographical locales, including the desert and the mountains, and to the animals of the field and air until he wishes a good night's sleep to "every living thing" (unpaginated). This one would be a great read aloud. Backmatter includes ways to say good ...more
Elizabeth
Jan 06, 2016 Elizabeth rated it really liked it
I absolutely adore Fisher's illustrations! I also love the afterward "Saying Good Night Around the World," with the phrase and annunciation listed in 16 languages.
Sarah
Aug 23, 2015 Sarah rated it really liked it
I've heard that the height of elegance is simplicity. this little book is very elegant, indeed. simple and tidy.
Danielle Boccio
Apr 10, 2016 Danielle Boccio rated it liked it
Shelves: picture-books
Cute book. I liked the last page where it taught you how to say good night in 16 different languages.
Meghan Douglas-Dowling
Beautiful, whimsical illustrations. A bedtime story in the vein of "Goodnight, Moon". My daughter adores it at three months old; she calls out to each new page with utter delight.
Joan Marie
Jan 26, 2016 Joan Marie rated it it was amazing
A soothing, simple, rhyming night-time treat.
Shelley
Jun 14, 2014 Shelley rated it really liked it
Shelves: children-s-books
This is a great bedtime storybook.
Mckinley
Jan 15, 2016 Mckinley rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture, poetry
Enjoyed this.
Karen
Nov 24, 2013 Karen rated it liked it
My five-year-old son picked this book out from the library last week.

Well, it's no Good Night, Moon. It follows the lilting rhyming scheme of Good Night, Moon, but it lacks some of the charm. At five, my son was too old for this book, and yet he still wants me to read Good Night, Moon every night.

The illustrations are bright, textured and rather intense. All those are great qualities, unless they are in a book that is supposed to lull a little one to sleep.

Cassandra
Sep 25, 2013 Cassandra rated it really liked it
Beautiful illustrations, lovely reverent text about the world and a list of goodnight in a wide variety of languages at the end. For my little 16 month old, having the same bird on every page made a fun "where's the bird" game on each page. Lovely goodnight book.
Cathy Blackler
Jul 13, 2011 Cathy Blackler rated it liked it
Following the pattern of Good Night Moon, Good Night World follows the bedtime mindset of one small child as they prepare for slumber. Carolyn Fisher's stunning, muted pallete nicely compliments the mood and tone of Perlman's text.
Vicki
Jun 22, 2012 Vicki rated it really liked it
A nice rhyming book about night time all around the world. Fit perfectly for our Night Family Story Time during the Summer Reading Program of "Dream Big Read." At the end of the book there is the word good night in about 20 languages.
Judy Desetti
Dec 31, 2011 Judy Desetti rated it really liked it
Very sweet. Would make a great bedtime story for toddlers and preschoolers. Reminded me of Goodnight Moon. Same rhythmic patterns as you read aloud.

Choose this as a wonderful gift to new parents, toddlers.
Janet
Apr 01, 2012 Janet rated it it was ok
Liked the illustrations. Difficult to imagine a young child going to bed and saying goodnight to all the various features of the earth and universe as depicted in these illustrations.
Linda
Dec 18, 2012 Linda rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
Beautifully illustrated, some rhyming, and love the last page on how to say good night in different languages. - Gute nacht (German, goot-eh nakht)
Molly
I used this beautiful book in a night themed storytime. It's a sweet and simpy readaloud and would make a wonderful bedtime story.
Megan
Apr 27, 2012 Megan rated it liked it
Recommends it for: toddlers-preschool
In the tradition of "Goodnight Moon," this gentle, soothing text wishes a good night to places and things all around the world.
Dona
Jan 31, 2012 Dona rated it liked it
Shelves: picture
"Good Night World" had very nice illustrations with good colors and relaxing images. It is a very pleasant read.
Fran
Jun 21, 2012 Fran rated it it was amazing
Shelves: storytime-shelf
This is a beautiful, beautiful book! Wonderful illustrations and lyrical rhyming make this a good read aloud!
Julie
Dec 03, 2011 Julie rated it liked it
Shelves: bedtime
Beautiful Illustrations, i really like the "Saying Good Night Around the World" at the end of the book.
Kim
Dec 12, 2011 Kim rated it liked it
Shelves: bedtime, world
LIttle child says good night to the "turning earth" including "deserts, mountains and oceans"
Shanshad Whelan
Nov 22, 2011 Shanshad Whelan rated it liked it
This one seems too much like an environmental Goodnight moon with prettier pictures.
Emily Hudak
Jul 20, 2012 Emily Hudak rated it really liked it
Beautiful illustrations, a few words on each page = perfect bedtime story
Erin
Jan 17, 2015 Erin rated it really liked it
Shelves: children
The "good night"s in different languages at the end was beautiful.
Amy
Nov 02, 2011 Amy rated it it was amazing
Shelves: children, programming
Very cute book about the world going to bed.

Summer reading.
Paula
Nov 17, 2012 Paula rated it liked it
Shelves: pic
Includes how to say good night in other languages.
Alyson (Kid Lit Frenzy)
A twist on good-night moon. Nice illustrations.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Goodreads is hiring!

If you like books and love to build cool products, we may be looking for you.
Learn more »

Share This Book