Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “First Comes Baby” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
First Comes Baby
 
by
Janice Kay Johnson
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

First Comes Baby

by
3.66 of 5 stars 3.66  ·  rating details  ·  85 ratings  ·  8 reviews
Laurel Woodall dreams of having a baby. But she can't let herself fall in love and will never again let a man in her life.

Without a husband or a lover

Caleb Manes thinks Laurel is his future. When he hears she wants to have a baby on her own, he volunteers to be the father. Making a baby in this unconventional manner isn't the best way to further a relationship with Laurel,
...more
Mass Market Paperback, Mills & Boon Superromance #526 - Australia, 274 pages
Published April 2007 by Mills & Boon (first published March 2007)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about First Comes Baby, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about First Comes Baby

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 225)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Julianna
Jun 04, 2008 Julianna rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Fans of Pregnancy & Best Friends Themes in Romance
First Comes Baby is a sweet, tender love story about two best friends who decide to have a baby together, but not in the usual way. Laurel was brutally raped about five years earlier and is not sure that she ever wants to have a physical relationship with any man again, but she longs for a child and decides that she would like to have one via IVF. Enter her best friend Caleb who willingly volunteers for the job of fathering her baby. Of course, babies always change things and their case is no ex ...more
Jacqueline
Nicely done story of a rape victim who asks a friend to help her have a child through AI. He has loved her for 10 years but she doesn't know. As he sticks by her through her pregnancy and the first few months after the baby is born she begins to overcome her fears from the attack. Well written with believable emotion from both the hero and heroine. He was a very nice kind man who had promised years ago to always be her friend and he never let her push him away. The pace was good and the plot mad ...more
Elle (Ligia)
Even though it was good book, and it had a good story behind, I felt I could never really connect with the characters until the end. It felt a little slow most of the time and at the end the story unraveled in what felt like a second.

It's a sweet story overall, and it is worth a try. It just wasn't for me at this moment.
Rox
Meh... Was too for me to like the heroine. She's trying too hard to be likable. I felt bad for him trying to make sense of her.
Joy
The heroine of this book, the victim of a brutal rape, wants to have a child but can't stand to be touched by a man. Seeking a sperm donor, she asks a friend--only to have another friend (the hero) insist on fathering her child. As her pregnancy proceeds, will she be able to overcome her past and be together with this man who obviously loves her? An interesting book for an artificial-insemination rape-recovery romance (!); a touching love story, and the psychological profile of the heroine espec ...more
Tia
Read this in 2011, yet never reviewed it. I thought the novel was great and I can't help but adore the whole pregnancy/secret baby scandal type novels. This one was obviously a bit different than the regulars but was still enough to light my fire.
Cecilia
I probably wouldn't have read this if I'd known exactly why the heroine was determined to have a baby in this way, but the main characters were both likable, and the story was persuasive and touching.
Mel
As with all of these books, a tried and tested formula. A little sweet, a little stupid, but light and easy

Always good for a quick read
Sweetpea
Sweetpea marked it as to-read
Mar 28, 2015
Anna
Anna marked it as to-read
Mar 16, 2015
Roub
Roub marked it as to-read
Mar 12, 2015
Cassie
Cassie marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2015
Cynthia
Cynthia marked it as to-read
Feb 11, 2015
Torrie
Torrie added it
Jan 24, 2015
Wanda Gibson
Wanda Gibson marked it as to-read
Jan 21, 2015
Jessica Mackay
Jessica Mackay marked it as to-read
Jan 19, 2015
Jayalaksshme Srinivasan
Jayalaksshme Srinivasan marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2015
Sandra
Sandra marked it as to-read
Jan 08, 2015
K
K marked it as to-read
Dec 25, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Marine's Baby
  • The Way Home
  • The Maverick's Greek Island Mistress (Bennett #3)
  • The Baby Plan
  • Baby Business
  • More Than One Night
  • Contract Baby (The Husband Hunters, #3)
  • A Not-So-Perfect Past
  • Baby at His Convenience
  • The Boss's Baby
  • Nothing Short Of Perfect
  • Liam's Perfect Woman (Home to Harbor Town, #2)
  • Zoe and the Tormented Tycoon (The Balfour Brides #5)
  • Lingering Melody
  • Full Surrender
  • Born in a Small Town (Patton's Daughters, #4) (Men Of Glory, #6.5)
  • The Marine Next Door (The Precinct: Task Force #1) (The Precinct #17)
  • Lightning That Lingers
70697
Janice Kay Johnson is the author of sixty books for children and adults. Her first four published romance novels were coauthored with her mother, also a writer who has since published mysteries and children's books on her own. These were "sweet" romance novels, the author hastens to add; she isn't sure they'd have felt comfortable coauthoring passionate love scenes!

Janice graduated from Whitman Co
...more
More about Janice Kay Johnson...
Snowbound Whose Baby? Her Sister's Baby Match Made In Court From Father to Son

Share This Book