Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “First Comes Baby” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
First Comes Baby
Janice Kay Johnson
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

First Comes Baby

3.68  ·  Rating Details ·  111 Ratings  ·  10 Reviews
Laurel Woodall dreams of having a baby. But she can't let herself fall in love and will never again let a man in her life.

Without a husband or a lover

Caleb Manes thinks Laurel is his future. When he hears she wants to have a baby on her own, he volunteers to be the father. Making a baby in this unconventional manner isn't the best way to further a relationship with Laurel,
Mass Market Paperback, Mills & Boon Superromance #526 - Australia, 274 pages
Published April 2007 by Mills & Boon (first published March 2007)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about First Comes Baby, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about First Comes Baby

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Nicely done story of a rape victim who asks a friend to help her have a child through AI. He has loved her for 10 years but she doesn't know. As he sticks by her through her pregnancy and the first few months after the baby is born she begins to overcome her fears from the attack. Well written with believable emotion from both the hero and heroine. He was a very nice kind man who had promised years ago to always be her friend and he never let her push him away. The pace was good and the plot mad ...more
Jamie C
DNF @ 26% I might come back to this later but for the time being I can't finish it. It probably the mood I'm in but still...
Jun 04, 2008 Julianna rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Fans of Pregnancy & Best Friends Themes in Romance
First Comes Baby is a sweet, tender love story about two best friends who decide to have a baby together, but not in the usual way. Laurel was brutally raped about five years earlier and is not sure that she ever wants to have a physical relationship with any man again, but she longs for a child and decides that she would like to have one via IVF. Enter her best friend Caleb who willingly volunteers for the job of fathering her baby. Of course, babies always change things and their case is no ex ...more
Feb 13, 2011 Joy rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: romance
The heroine of this book, the victim of a brutal rape, wants to have a child but can't stand to be touched by a man. Seeking a sperm donor, she asks a friend--only to have another friend (the hero) insist on fathering her child. As her pregnancy proceeds, will she be able to overcome her past and be together with this man who obviously loves her? An interesting book for an artificial-insemination rape-recovery romance (!); a touching love story, and the psychological profile of the heroine espec ...more
Elle (Ligia)
Even though it was good book, and it had a good story behind, I felt I could never really connect with the characters until the end. It felt a little slow most of the time and at the end the story unraveled in what felt like a second.

It's a sweet story overall, and it is worth a try. It just wasn't for me at this moment.
Apr 22, 2011 Cecilia rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: elibrary-books
I probably wouldn't have read this if I'd known exactly why the heroine was determined to have a baby in this way, but the main characters were both likable, and the story was persuasive and touching.
Apr 08, 2013 Tia rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Read this in 2011, yet never reviewed it. I thought the novel was great and I can't help but adore the whole pregnancy/secret baby scandal type novels. This one was obviously a bit different than the regulars but was still enough to light my fire.
Feb 15, 2015 Rox rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Meh... Was too for me to like the heroine. She's trying too hard to be likable. I felt bad for him trying to make sense of her.
Jun 24, 2011 Mel rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: romance, library
As with all of these books, a tried and tested formula. A little sweet, a little stupid, but light and easy

Always good for a quick read
Mare rated it liked it
Jun 16, 2014
Charlotte1981 rated it really liked it
Jan 04, 2016
Megan rated it really liked it
Mar 25, 2013
Angie Fournier
Angie Fournier rated it it was amazing
Jun 28, 2016
Natasha rated it liked it
Mar 25, 2015
Mels Mueller
Mels Mueller rated it it was amazing
Mar 12, 2013
Natalie rated it really liked it
Dec 29, 2012
Heather rated it liked it
Jun 13, 2011
Dami rated it it was amazing
Jul 18, 2016
K rated it really liked it
Jun 26, 2015
Diane rated it really liked it
Mar 25, 2013
Beck Santa
Beck Santa rated it really liked it
Aug 03, 2012
Vyella rated it it was amazing
Sep 28, 2015
Meidinah Lisa
Meidinah Lisa rated it liked it
Jun 02, 2012
Trish Bash
Trish Bash rated it really liked it
May 16, 2012
Cait Woodhead
Cait Woodhead rated it it was amazing
Feb 03, 2013
Kathy rated it it was amazing
Nov 02, 2012
GayLauren rated it liked it
Dec 13, 2014
Alicia rated it liked it
Jan 13, 2014
Amanda rated it really liked it
Oct 10, 2011
Susan rated it liked it
Jun 14, 2008
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Hotly Bedded, Conveniently Wedded
  • The Marine's Baby
  • The Maverick's Greek Island Mistress (Bennett #3)
  • The Comeback Cowboy
  • Baby Business
  • The Baby Plan
  • The Best Laid Plans
  • The Italian's Marriage Demand
  • Welcome Home, Cowboy (Wed In The West, #4)
  • Full Surrender
  • The Runaway Heiress (Harlequin Historical, #811)
  • Baby at His Convenience
  • A Not-So-Perfect Past
  • The Way Home
  • Born in a Small Town (Patton's Daughters, #4 / Men Of Glory, #6.5)
  • Contract Baby (The Husband Hunters, #3)
  • Ride the Wind
  • Sweet Lullaby
Janice Kay Johnson is the author of sixty books for children and adults. Her first four published romance novels were coauthored with her mother, also a writer who has since published mysteries and children's books on her own. These were "sweet" romance novels, the author hastens to add; she isn't sure they'd have felt comfortable coauthoring passionate love scenes!

Janice graduated from Whitman Co
More about Janice Kay Johnson...

Share This Book