Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Die Insel Der Letzten Wahrheit” as Want to Read:
Die Insel Der Letzten Wahrheit
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Die Insel Der Letzten Wahrheit

by
3.78 of 5 stars 3.78  ·  rating details  ·  74 ratings  ·  16 reviews
Quan sap que està greument malalt, el doctor Prendel sent la necessitat de confessar un secret amb què ha pogut viure però amb què no pot morir. Explica la seva història a l'amant dels últims anys i li fa prometre que, un cop ell sigui mort, la farà pública.

Víctima d'un atac pirata, Prendel havia naufragat al mig de l'Atlàntic i havia desaparegut durant 5 anys del seu cer...more
Hardcover, 180 pages
Published February 26th 2011 by Berlin Verlag (first published January 2010)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Die Insel Der Letzten Wahrheit, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Die Insel Der Letzten Wahrheit

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 119)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Margaret
The Island of Last Truth is the story, from alternating points of view, of Dr. Matthew Prendel, a physician who has been shipwrecked for years and, through some luck he does not describe in detail, returned to New York City. He is the only survivor from the pirate attack that left two of his close friends (who were also his crew) dead. He is stranded on an island with another one of the pirates, but escapes the only survivor. Only one man knows exactly what went on during those five years, and...more
John Pappas
This is a taut, gripping story about a contemporary pirate attack and shipwreck. This novel explores the intersection between what one will do to survive, and what one won't do in order to think of one's self as a moral person. The story also deals well with portraying the discrepancy between the person one thinks one is, and the person one actually is. Maddeningly compelling.
Jason
I picked up this novella almost at random in a bookstore, never having heard the title or the author, and liked the first page enough to buy it and start reading it on the spot. It was a quick read, a nautical tale in the tradition of Defoe and Conrad by an Argentine woman who moved to Barcelona and wrote it in Catalan. And it was excellent.

It begins with a mysterious doctor at a New York party who was rumored to be shipwrecked on a deserted island for five years. The bulk of the story is told b...more
orsodimondo
I SILENZI CHE SERVONO PER ASCOLTARE SE STESSI
A un certo punto mi sono accorto che stavo coprendo con una mano la parte bassa della pagina per impedire che la coda dell’occhio potesse anticipare qualche parola, mi rivelasse troppo presto quello che volevo scoprire man mano, così come era stato progettato. Eppure, non si tratta certo di un thriller – al massimo, potrebbe essere avvicinato al genere avventura. Ma c’è suspense, attesa, mistero, come in uno dei miei film preferito tra i preferiti, ‘T...more
Diane S.
3.5 The tenses in the narration change, but throughout the writing is crisp and precise. A disappearance of five years, a reappearance and a story, pirates, stranded on a deserted island and a mystery. How did he survive? How did he escape? A taut psychological thriller, a secret and questions of morality that are all explored in this rather small but extremely interesting novel. ARC from publisher.
Brian Berrett
This is a great read! I read it while at a dance competition with loud music and screaming girls. It kept me captivated and I was on the island. There are some great thoughts about life such as how do you know if you are winning or losing. This is a quick read and I highly recommend it.
Jorge
Un libro que en definitiva sorprende de comienzo a fin, el manejo del lenguaje, la interacción de los personajes y los giros bruscos en la trama hacen de esta novela un libro tan apetitoso placentero que considero es de las novelas que mas me han fascinado. Septiembre 2012
Susewig
Philosophische Abenteuer-Erzählung über einen segelbegeisterten schiffbrüchigen Arzt auf der Suche nach sich selbst, mit einer raffinierten Wende im Epilog, die dazu bewegen mag, das Buch nochmal von vorne zu beginnen...
Jimena
I like Europa editions a lot and picked up this book mainly for its looks. Very surprised by the story and the twist at the end. It is a recommended read for those fans of shipwreck stories.
Andrea
A very quick read, enjoyable, although the writing style/narration felt very detached.
Taddie
A very good, short read. An interesting story with a few twists and turns about different kind of truth. Definitely to recommend.
Brigitte Durnwald
a completely random pick, but entertaining nonetheless.
Neus Urpí
"Vaig sospesar el risc. No era possible matar un home per un llibre. No es tractava només d'un llibre però. Es tracta de l'ordre de les coses. De disciplina. De poder. Vostè ja sap què són els símbols, benvolguda meva."
Ophelia
The story is alright but I didn´t like the changes in the narration style.
Tasnima
Short, fast, interesting.
Zara
Zara added it
Jul 18, 2014
Russ Copley
Russ Copley marked it as to-read
Jul 10, 2014
Olivera
Olivera marked it as to-read
Jun 28, 2014
Charlotte
Charlotte marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2014
Meghan
Meghan marked it as to-read
Jun 05, 2014
Momalo
Momalo added it
May 11, 2014
Bibliophile
Bibliophile marked it as to-read
May 01, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Que nadie te salve la vida No em ratllis Con la soga al cuello/ In Dire Straits: Cuentos/ Short Stories (Spanish Edition) Luz de Hielo Saurios en el asfalto

Share This Book