Stein, Stung (Harry Stein, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Stein, Stung (Harry Stein #2)

3.3 of 5 stars 3.30  ·  rating details  ·  27 ratings  ·  7 reviews
A pilfered colony of honeybees and an elephant tusk that seeps up through an underground channel of tar propel Stein into his next series of escapades. He is catapulted out of the cushy comfort of his friend and now love's Beverly Hills home to investigate the most trivial of events, the theft of some honeybee hives. As in all of Stein's adventures, this little cottage ind...more
Hardcover, 300 pages
Published June 1st 2011 by Tyrus Books
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-29 of 41)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Carmen
Mar 01, 2014 Carmen rated it 3 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Fans of Book 1; Honey/Bee Advocates
Shelves: fiction, mystery
Honey is a lot more interesting to me than pot, which was the previous focal point for Stein.

Again Ackerman chooses to put two mysteries in his book. One involving bee-rustling and another involving finding human remains in your backyard.

A lot has changed since STEIN, STONED. Stein now has more access to his 16ish-year-old daughter, Angie. He has moved in with Lila. He's getting used to living her luxurious lifestyle, and worries that this means he's lost his hippie roots.

Again, the mysteries ar...more
David Piper
Hal Ackerman can definitely write outstanding prose. When he's on, he's a joy to read. Once in awhile he gets carried away with the similes, but that sometimes that's the tradeoff for exquisite, spicy writing.

The main characters are well-drawn and distinct, especially the teenage daughter and her wannabe boyfriend. The minor characters are equally as entertaining, even though less developed--as to be expected, of course. The backdrop of the multibillion dollar bee business in northern Californi...more
Ann
This is a good series. Harry Stein is a private investigator who is hired to investigate the case of a beekeeper who claims that his bees have been stolen. He learns a lot about the business of beekeeping but is very allergic so he tries to avoid them when he can. He meets a lot of strange people in his quest but sticks to it until he finds out what happened. In the meantime, his daughter finds a body in the muddy back yard of his girlfriend's house. This is a quirky, funny and very good story....more
April
Former hippie Harry Stein goes up and down the California coast investigating (on his own) the theft of several honeybee boxes. It was an OK mystery...not the right kind of humor for my tastes. Stein's relationship with his lover and almost-wife seemed very California...she's beautiful, rich, nice, his daughter loves her, he loves her, but she has to sleep with her former brother-in-law? What's up with that? Seemed wierd to me.
Phillip Frey
I guarantee your reading time will be well-spent as you travel with P.I. Harry Stein through the captivating inner-workings of the honeybee industry, while at the same time following him deeper and deeper into a dangerous case of murder.

I also read Hal Ackerman's first Stein book, "Stein, Stoned." Both are a big plus in my reading history.
Elizabeth Dodd
Quite entertaining. He has a bit of Carl Hiaasen's flavor with a touch of Christopher Moore's.
Tina
This was a fun and different sort of mystery. You should read it.
Grok Testuser
Grok Testuser is currently reading it
Dec 12, 2013
M
M marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2013
Jenn M
Jenn M marked it as to-read
Jun 15, 2013
Claire Klossner
Claire Klossner marked it as to-read
Apr 25, 2013
Dawn cline
Dawn cline marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2012
Jennifer
Jennifer marked it as to-read
Jun 22, 2012
Andrea
Andrea marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2012
Sophie
Sophie marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2012
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Stein, Stoned (Harry Stein, #1) Write Screenplays That Sell: The Ackerman Way Write Screenplays That Sell - The Ackerman Way Wearable Parables: Proverbs for Program People, Lessons for Life Stein,Stoned

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »

“A man is nothing more than the things he does to get what he wants.” 1 likes
More quotes…