Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Stein, Stung (Harry Stein, #2)” as Want to Read:
Stein, Stung (Harry Stein, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Stein, Stung (Harry Stein #2)

3.28  ·  Rating Details ·  32 Ratings  ·  7 Reviews
A pilfered colony of honeybees and an elephant tusk that seeps up through an underground channel of tar propel Stein into his next series of escapades. He is catapulted out of the cushy comfort of his friend and now love's Beverly Hills home to investigate the most trivial of events, the theft of some honeybee hives. As in all of Stein's adventures, this little cottage ind ...more
Hardcover, 300 pages
Published June 1st 2011 by Tyrus Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Stein, Stung, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Stein, Stung

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Carmen
Mar 01, 2014 Carmen rated it liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of Book 1; Honey/Bee Advocates
Honey is a lot more interesting to me than pot, which was the previous focal point for Stein.

Again Ackerman chooses to put two mysteries in his book. One involving bee-rustling and another involving finding human remains in your backyard.

A lot has changed since STEIN, STONED. Stein now has more access to his 16ish-year-old daughter, Angie. He has moved in with Lila. He's getting used to living her luxurious lifestyle, and worries that this means he's lost his hippie roots.

Again, the mysteries ar
...more
Tina
Jun 10, 2012 Tina rated it really liked it
Shelves: summer-mysteries
This was a fun and different sort of mystery. You should read it.
David Piper
Oct 12, 2012 David Piper rated it liked it
Shelves: thriller
Hal Ackerman can definitely write outstanding prose. When he's on, he's a joy to read. Once in awhile he gets carried away with the similes, but that sometimes that's the tradeoff for exquisite, spicy writing.

The main characters are well-drawn and distinct, especially the teenage daughter and her wannabe boyfriend. The minor characters are equally as entertaining, even though less developed--as to be expected, of course. The backdrop of the multibillion dollar bee business in northern Californi
...more
Ann
Dec 10, 2013 Ann rated it liked it
This is a good series. Harry Stein is a private investigator who is hired to investigate the case of a beekeeper who claims that his bees have been stolen. He learns a lot about the business of beekeeping but is very allergic so he tries to avoid them when he can. He meets a lot of strange people in his quest but sticks to it until he finds out what happened. In the meantime, his daughter finds a body in the muddy back yard of his girlfriend's house. This is a quirky, funny and very good story. ...more
April
Oct 27, 2012 April rated it it was ok
Former hippie Harry Stein goes up and down the California coast investigating (on his own) the theft of several honeybee boxes. It was an OK mystery...not the right kind of humor for my tastes. Stein's relationship with his lover and almost-wife seemed very California...she's beautiful, rich, nice, his daughter loves her, he loves her, but she has to sleep with her former brother-in-law? What's up with that? Seemed wierd to me.
Phillip Frey
Apr 21, 2012 Phillip Frey rated it it was amazing
I guarantee your reading time will be well-spent as you travel with P.I. Harry Stein through the captivating inner-workings of the honeybee industry, while at the same time following him deeper and deeper into a dangerous case of murder.

I also read Hal Ackerman's first Stein book, "Stein, Stoned." Both are a big plus in my reading history.
Elizabeth Dodd
May 03, 2012 Elizabeth Dodd rated it really liked it
Quite entertaining. He has a bit of Carl Hiaasen's flavor with a touch of Christopher Moore's.
D Cerm
D Cerm rated it it was ok
May 12, 2012
Korrie Rock
Korrie Rock rated it it was ok
Nov 04, 2013
Jennifer
Jennifer rated it really liked it
Apr 11, 2012
Michele
Michele rated it liked it
Aug 06, 2015
Katy
Katy rated it did not like it
May 16, 2013
Martin
Martin rated it liked it
May 10, 2013
Lelia Taylor
Lelia Taylor rated it liked it
Jan 25, 2012
Duncan Comrie
Duncan Comrie rated it liked it
Apr 14, 2013
Sue
Sue rated it really liked it
Sep 05, 2013
Nan
Nan rated it liked it
Jun 18, 2012
Rachel
Rachel rated it it was ok
Nov 20, 2016
Lauri
Lauri rated it really liked it
Jun 09, 2012
Kevin
Kevin rated it it was amazing
Aug 28, 2013
Natasha Martinez O'Connell
Natasha Martinez O'Connell rated it really liked it
Apr 02, 2012
judy spencer
judy spencer rated it it was ok
Jan 11, 2014
Cynthia Smith
Cynthia Smith rated it liked it
Dec 16, 2013
Betsy
Betsy rated it really liked it
Aug 19, 2015
Diana
Diana rated it really liked it
Mar 19, 2012
Jane Clarke
Jane Clarke rated it really liked it
Aug 03, 2015
Cindy
Cindy rated it liked it
Sep 06, 2014
Toppell
Toppell rated it it was ok
Jul 26, 2012
Maria
Maria rated it really liked it
Apr 23, 2012
Connie
Connie rated it liked it
Dec 28, 2012
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Other Books in the Series

Harry Stein (2 books)
  • Stein, Stoned (Harry Stein, #1)

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »

“A man is nothing more than the things he does to get what he wants.” 3 likes
More quotes…