Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Pensieri, idee, opinioni” as Want to Read:
Pensieri, idee, opinioni
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Pensieri, idee, opinioni

by
4.06  ·  Rating Details  ·  573 Ratings  ·  32 Reviews
Albert Einstein non appartiene a quel gruppo di studiosi che si chiudono nella "torre d'avorio" del loro lavoro di ricerca, immemori del mondo che li circonda. Al contrario, è sempre stato un osservatore acuto e critico delle tendenze e dei problemi del suo tempo. In questo senso, i discorsi, gli articoli, le lettere e gli appelli raccolti in questo volume rispecchiano non ...more
Paperback, Grandi Tascabili Economici, 232 pages
Published May 20th 2010 by Newton Compton (first published 1950)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Pensieri, idee, opinioni, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Pensieri, idee, opinioni

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 2,442)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Daniel S
"Man owes his strength in the struggle for existence to the fact that he is a socially living animal" [pg.34.]

"Reason, of course, is weak, when measured against its never-ending task. Weak, indeed, compared with the follies and passions of mankind, which, we must admit, almost entirely control our human destinies, in great things and small. Yet the works of the understanding outlast the noisy bustling generations and spread light and warmth across the centuries." [pg.219]

"It is the goal of every
...more
Jennavier
Feb 09, 2015 Jennavier marked it as didn-t-finish  ·  review of another edition
While the concept of Out Of My Later Years fascinates me, the execution did not. It's not the books fault. This is a collection of letters from the last years of Einstein's life. I realized after starting this that while I know Einstein's name I don't know much about his life. My ignorance made this book confusing since Einstein wasn't writing to the uneducated masses of the future. He was writing to the people of his own time on issues they would be familiar with. I might come back to this book ...more
Rosa Ramôa
Jun 21, 2015 Rosa Ramôa rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
"O milagre da Vida


Pode ser que um dia deixemos de nos falar...
Mas, enquanto houver amizade,
Faremos as pazes de novo.

Pode ser que um dia o tempo passe...
Mas, se a amizade permanecer,
Um de outro se há-de lembrar.

Pode ser que um dia nos afastemos...
Mas, se formos amigos de verdade,
A amizade nos reaproximará.

Pode ser que um dia não mais existamos...
Mas, se ainda sobrar amizade,
Nasceremos de novo, um para o outro.

Pode ser que um dia tudo acabe...
Mas, com a amizade construiremos tudo nova
...more
Robab Newbury
Feb 17, 2016 Robab Newbury rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
“Ethical axioms are found and tested not very differently from the axioms of science. Truth is what stands the test of experience.” —Albert Einstein

Never have I ever read a book that has inspired me to understand more about our world than this one. His views on foreign policy, political and economic conflicts, our moral decay, freedom, and scientific phenomena are unparalleled to any other. He is an example of a man who searched for truth and compassion in everything and rejoiced even in times o
...more
Jack
Jan 21, 2012 Jack rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This one went through patches of being alternately really interesting and rather cumbersome. Its partitioned into several distinct sections, his philosophical portions being of the greatest interest for me personally (especially his thoughts on education). His scientific writings were certainly challenging for me. If your theoretical physics and differential calculus are in good shape then you'll be fine, but I'm a little rusty on the latter and never known enough about the former. And in both o ...more
Mark Wilkerson
May 02, 2013 Mark Wilkerson rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Not knowing much about Albert Einstein other than a few "E=mc squared" and a few memorable quotes, I took a shot at this book of essays to learn more. And what a treat this read was!

The book is organized well; for example, if you are interested in his views on politics or society, there are sections for that. If you are interested in his views on science, or in finding out about his work in physics or astronomy, there is a section on that also.

This book is a nice way to introduce yourself to th
...more
Brett
Dec 31, 2009 Brett rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction
Fascinating to look into the mind of this iconic genius. After serving a pivotal role in the discoveries which led to the invention of nuclear bombs, and recognizing he could have easily been among the millions of European Jews killed in World War II, he seems to have taken a personal interest in practical plans to end war. His ideas about a supranational government are attractive, though probably overly idealistic. I think it's probably unfortunate that his ideas in this arena never really caug ...more
Coco
Nov 17, 2012 Coco rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I wanted to write, what brilliant writing! But then, it is a book of essays written by the most well-known genius in history, so I feel like anything aside from "This book was written by Albert Einstein" is just being superfluous with phrases varying on the theme that "Hey, You Should Read This Book Because It Was Written by Dr Albert Einstein"
Emadeddin
description

طبعاً، يصعُبُ الحديث عِندما يكُونُ عن شخصيَّة عظيمة مِثل العالِم والفيلسوف الكبير ألبرت آينشتاين.
في هذا الكتاب تجَلَّى الجانِب الفلسفِي من آينشتاين، وهُوَ جانبٌ رائعٌ جداً وقد يخفى أيضاً على بعض المُعجّبين بآينشتاين العالِم صاحِب النسبيَّتَين.

description

الكتاب بشكل عامّ جميل جدا، ولا يُمَلّ.

وكي أكونَ صادِقاً، فقد ظللت مستمتعاً بالكتاب حتَّى آخر فصل. وعندما انتهيت من قراءة الفصل الأخير أصابتني صدمة عاطفية كبيرة! ونويت أن أعطي الكتاب نجمتين!! ولكن العقل المنطقي سيطر عليّ وأنا أكتب هذه المراجَعة وجَعَلني أغير
...more
Ron
Apr 19, 2015 Ron rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I started reading Out of My Later Years a little over a year ago. I’ve been reading it off and on ever since.

This collection is divided into six sections: Convictions and Beliefs, in which Einstein shares his thoughts on religion, ethics, education, and liberty; Science, in which he explains the state of physics in the mid-Twentieth Century, including a great layman’s explanation of his Theories of Relativity; Public Affairs, in which he explores issues as diverse as race, class inequity, the ro
...more
Mike
Aug 14, 2012 Mike rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I have read other books by Albert Einstein but in this particular book he reveals an intimate side of himself not found in other selections. He was aware of him impending death and wanted to share his thoughts and ideas on a multitude of subjects with anyone who cared to listen. This is an intimate look at a man through his work.

I was amazed at his viewpoints on the educational system and urge every parent and educator, that if you read nothing else in your life, READ THIS SECTION! It will chan
...more
Rosy
A little disappointing--although I'll admit that when I first picked this up I was expecting a memoir, so I had that wrong. And just as I turn the last page I find in the "acknowledgments" what was direly needed throughout the book--the date and purpose of each essay. That was my biggest criticism. Aside from that I have little to say. The science was beyond me but is a small portion of the book. Einstein's political, social and spiritual expressions seemed to me idealistic to the point of naive ...more
Robert Seaman
Feb 07, 2014 Robert Seaman rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What a thoughtful, most brilliant and gentle man. This work is not clear evidence of his grand mind,but also of his empathy for all men and his simply stated way of obtaining truly democratic goals. This is a treasure trove of Einstein's most important and intimate work. A renaissance man, if ever there was!
Xiaojuan Wang
Jul 15, 2015 Xiaojuan Wang rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Solute to the one of the greatest scientists in the world! I was overwhelmed by the strong logic underlying every essay. Not only the inspiring ideas on science, education religion,etc., but also the writing style are worth studying!!!
Dipesh
Sep 03, 2015 Dipesh rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Joy in looking and comprehending is nature's most beautiful gift, and one must take what nature gives as one finds it.
Danmcgohan
Oct 23, 2013 Danmcgohan rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Wow! Albert Einstein's essays on science, economics, society, people of great influence, and the Jewish people. Would have given the book five stars except for the essays on science, where my lack of knowledge caused by eyes to glaze over. The remaining essays are very enlightening, showing the great scope of Einstein's intellect. I found some of his social and economic essays utopian with his disregard to man's historical characteristics. Most of these essays were written from the late 30's to ...more
Mike
Jul 23, 2014 Mike rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: biography
Good series of essays that gave some insight into his thinking. I had to skip the ones that went into detail about physics as these were boring and heavy for a non-math person. His philosophical essays were of much greater interest to me. It would have been nice if the editors had dated the essays in addition to the bibliography in the back. Since he was discussing his ideas/beliefs in light of events going on at the time, having the date would have put his comments in context.
Hugo
Feb 17, 2016 Hugo rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Interressant de comprendre les étapes de sa vie qui l'ont menées a ses découvertes
Tom
Jan 28, 2014 Tom marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
library
Virgilio Pigliucci
I suggest this book for the super Einstein fans out there. The rest.... I am not sure this book is right for you.
I kept looking for something special that did not come.... I might have just had way too high expectations for this reading.

The book, which is mostly a collection of Einstein writings ( including a lot of english errors ) is a good insight on his genius mind, nothing more.
Marie Dafgard
I'm not a fan of reading philosophy books, of which this one is. However, it is because of Einstein that I purchased this book. His writings are up there and take an active mind to make sense, but they are worth reading. I feel as though it was easier reading just a chapter or two a day than barreling through, as it's easy to get overwhelmed by this book.
Kung
Jul 04, 2009 Kung rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I liked his personal pieces over his scientific chapters. His level of interpretations to grasp reality and other dimensions beyond us puny humans is interesting. Overall, a good read. I am not sure i would read it again but i could review his political perspective again. A 1950s book. The guy is a genius.
Steven Harbeck
Good book but a bit over my head on some things. He was brilliant and some of his thoughts and calculations without context and examples do not make sense to me. Very interesting ideas on almost every subject we face as a society.
Erin
Jun 19, 2012 Erin rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Fascinating collection of speeches and essays from Einstein on a wide variety of social and moral issues. Really enjoyed his essays on education, in particular.
Just Me
Jan 22, 2011 Just Me rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I really enjoyed this book. What an inspiring man! I did skip a few of the chapters on science because they were not of interest to me.
Sarah
Jan 04, 2012 Sarah rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
One of the few people I wish we're still alive, so I could meet them. Such a brilliant and interesting man.
Sandu
a truly amazing book! a true genius! a simple man! giant of thought!
Chris Woodson
Sep 01, 2014 Chris Woodson rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Quite the look into the mind of such a brilliant man.
Yvonne Lu
read between 2011-2012;中文書名:人類存在的目的。
Melissa Hunsberger
This guy's pretty smart.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 81 82 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Einstein for Beginners
  • Germs, Genes, & Civilization: How Epidemics Shaped Who We Are Today
  • Curious Folks Ask 2: 188 Real Answers on Our Fellow Creatures, Our Planet, and Beyond
  • Corrupted Science: Fraud, Ideology and Politics in Science
  • It Takes a Genome: How a Clash Between Our Genes and Modern Life Is Making Us Sick
  • Don't Know Much About Mythology: Everything You Need to Know About the Greatest Stories in Human History but Never Learned
  • Genes, Chromosomes, and Disease
  • The Joyful Guide To Lachrymology
  • Final Moments: Nurses' Stories about Death and Dying
  • A World Without Time: The Forgotten Legacy of Gödel And Einstein
  • Pets in a Pickle
  • The Walled Garden
  • The Biotech Century
  • The Sage of Monticello
  • Einstein's Universe
  • Let's Go Europe 2011: The Student Travel Guide
  • I Used to Know That: Stuff You Forgot from School
  • Einstein: The Life and Times
9810
In 1879, Albert Einstein was born in Ulm, Germany. He completed his Ph.D. at the University of Zurich by 1909. His 1905 paper explaining the photoelectric effect, the basis of electronics, earned him the Nobel Prize in 1921. His first paper on Special Relativity Theory, also published in 1905, changed the world. After the rise of the Nazi party, Einstein made Princeton his permanent home, becoming ...more
More about Albert Einstein...

Share This Book



“All religions, arts and sciences are branches of the same tree. All these aspirations are directed toward ennobling man's life, lifting it from the sphere of mere physical existence and leading the individual towards freedom."

[Moral Decay (first published 1937)]”
277 likes
“إن موسى - عليه السلام - كان قائداً أفضل للبشرية من ميكافيلي ذلك أنّ هذا الأخير، على حذاقته، لم يقدّم للبشرية إلا الارتياب في نوايا الآخر .” 6 likes
More quotes…