Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Daughter of Providence” as Want to Read:
Daughter of Providence
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Daughter of Providence

by
3.58  ·  Rating Details ·  101 Ratings  ·  21 Reviews


Julie Drew's extraordinary novel is a breakthrough work in the tradition of Richard Russo and Annie Proulx. summer, 1934: Anne Dodge, raised by her old-money father in a small Rhode island coastal town, has always been told that her mother abandoned them. But then Anne learns that she has a half- sister, Maria Cristina --and when Maria Cristina comes to live with Anne and
...more
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published August 4th 2011 by The Overlook Press (first published July 7th 2011)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Daughter of Providence, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Daughter of Providence

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Amy
Jul 24, 2012 Amy rated it liked it
Shelves: 2012
Im torn on my star rating...

Let's start with what I didnt like. I did NOT like the geography of this story. (I live in RI) Rhode Island is the smallest state in the US, is it too hard to dig up a map and figure where your fictional town is situated relative to any actual places you want to include? There is absolutely no way fictional South County Town Milford could have been located *on* Narragansett Bay, *on* the "salt ponds", *very close to* Point Judith Light, *on* Misquamicut River (which d
...more
Anne McLaughlin
Jun 03, 2012 Anne McLaughlin rated it it was ok
Oh well. I really wanted to like this book because of the setting - RI where I live - the history, and the family situations. Even in spite of literary license in local interest, some things don't quite jive. I was a bit confused in the beginning of the book who the focus of the book would be - the Maria Christina or her older sister Anne. Anne Dodge, a young college educated woman in the 30's is portrayed as rather limply struggling to come to terms with many things in her life, her heritage of ...more
Patricia O'Sullivan
Jan 21, 2012 Patricia O'Sullivan rated it it was amazing
The Dodge family was among the first to settle in Rhode Island back when it was a colony and now, in 1934, they are among one of the most respected families in the seaside town of Milford. But there are secrets in the Dodge family that are too unseemly to discuss such as why Samuel Dodge’s Portuguese wife left him and her young daughter, Anne, fifteen years ago and why, after all this time, Anne’s half-sister, Maria Cristina, has come to live with the Dodges. But Anne, both discomfited and ...more
Kathy
I've labeled this "historical novel" because of the time period. I think the author did a good job of capturing the tensions of 1934. I've labeled it airplane reading because you don't have to think very hard to keep up with it, and it will keep you entertained. There are sections that are melodramatic, like a made for TV movie. As long as you are not expecting great depth, but just to be entertained, then this is a readable book. It's a first novel, with all the contrivances that many first ...more
Pauline
Nov 16, 2012 Pauline rated it it was amazing
Historical fiction based in RI - how could I resist. What I found was a compelling story set in the 30's when Ana and her father take up the care of Ana's sister by the mother who deserted them. Ana's father is a mill owner trying to revive his mill amidst early attempts to unionize. But this is basically a story about "others". Other nationalities, other religions, other classes of people and the bad decisions that the characters make based on their prejudices. Maria Christina, the lost sister ...more
Melanie
Jun 26, 2012 Melanie rated it really liked it
I really liked this book- it was a quick read that had many layers to it. Like many of the other reviews stated, it was hard to put down. It is a story that takes place in 1934 told in first person by the main character, Annie, and how her life, as well as many others, were affected by a series of lies she discovers when her half sister comes to live with her and her father. Another plus, Julie Drew teaches at The University of Akron!
Mary Lou
Jan 21, 2012 Mary Lou rated it really liked it
It is a slow start but is worth reading especially if you are from New England ~ more so if you are from RI as I am. Author went to great efforts to catch the sense of coastal Rhode Island living ~ how important the fishing and mill industries were in the 30s. I had a hard time believing that she wasn't a 'native' Rhode Islander!
Camandwmm
Mar 03, 2016 Camandwmm rated it liked it
A story that took place in 1934 of a failed mill with the hopes of reopening. Anne is a 24 year old girl that welcomes her half sister of 13 into their home with the father. The girls become very close but the father does not accept the younger daughter. It was a heart felt story, but not a light read.
Diane S ☔
Aug 26, 2011 Diane S ☔ rated it really liked it
3 1.2 Story set in Rhode Island in the 1930's. Her mother having left her when she was young, Annie finds out and takes in a younger sister who she believes is her half sister. Her father is not to thrilled, because the younger sister looks just like the wife who left him. Many secrets are revealed and everyone in the family is changed forever.
Rosanne
Aug 26, 2012 Rosanne rated it really liked it


Daughter of Providence is a great quick "summer read". The characters were well developed in the story line, nice twists & turns, keeps the reader

interested!! I could not put this one down!! Very enjoyable.
Margo Brooks
Interesting novel about family ties and secrets, prejudice and need. Set in 1930s Rhode Island this novel explores the plight of mill towns during the depression and the prejudice that keeps even the closest of people too far apart.
Ellen Mandly
Feb 02, 2013 Ellen Mandly rated it liked it
3 stars, however the read gets a giant thumbs down for the WORST Portuguese accent ever! It was a cross between Spanish and Italian with a feta topping! The story was just ok, only the RI location kept me from giving up.
Beth Johnston
Aug 07, 2014 Beth Johnston rated it really liked it
A well told story of post depression Rhode Island. The book includes many threads; Union vs. struggling company, Catholic vs. Protestant, Portuguese vs. English, and with a death or two thrown in.
Lisa
Apr 23, 2016 Lisa rated it really liked it
I think this book does a good job of making us realize there is no absolute good or bad and it is all wrapped up together. A small glimpse into labor unions in the 30's
Janey
Jun 23, 2012 Janey rated it liked it
I took a lot of breaks reading this book. I had a hard time getting in to it. It ended up being okay.
Terri Cook
Terri Cook rated it really liked it
Nov 02, 2011
Jennifer
Jennifer rated it liked it
Jun 25, 2016
Myrina
Myrina rated it really liked it
Oct 03, 2012
Leslie
Leslie rated it liked it
Aug 09, 2012
Marie Staubitz
Mar 10, 2016 Marie Staubitz rated it it was ok
The ending was depressing
Noelani
Noelani rated it liked it
Oct 03, 2012
Tracey Trabucco hennemann
Tracey Trabucco hennemann rated it really liked it
Jan 04, 2015
Nicole
Nicole rated it really liked it
Jul 11, 2016
Debbie
Debbie rated it liked it
Sep 09, 2011
Jennifer
Jennifer rated it liked it
Jan 30, 2015
Julie Dawson
Julie Dawson rated it it was amazing
Jul 15, 2016
Mylene Clark
Mylene Clark rated it liked it
Feb 06, 2015
Doug  St. Lawrence
Doug St. Lawrence rated it liked it
May 05, 2013
Tami
Tami rated it it was ok
Dec 19, 2011
Shirley Lally
Dec 20, 2013 Shirley Lally rated it really liked it
It managed to incorporate a lot of Rhode Island ambiance and history into a Family story.
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Share This Book