Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Fools Rule: Inside the Failed Politics of Climate Change” as Want to Read:
Fools Rule: Inside the Failed Politics of Climate Change
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Fools Rule: Inside the Failed Politics of Climate Change

3.64 of 5 stars 3.64  ·  rating details  ·  11 ratings  ·  6 reviews
This eloquent, rage-inciting polemic about the global failure to deal with climate change will appeal to readers of Tim Flannery, George Monbiot and Bill McKibben - and anyone concerned with the economic and environmental future of our planet.

Kyoto, 1997. Montreal, 2005. Copenhagen, 2009. Cancun, 2010. In Fools Rule, Marsden illustrates how inefficient and short-sighted po
...more
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published October 25th 2011 by Knopf Canada (first published January 1st 2011)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Fools Rule, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Fools Rule

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 38)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Corey
The bad part: unproductive international summits. Disappearing nation-states. Oil mongers continued natural resource exploitation in the name of greed. No pun intended, this is just the tip of the iceberg. The worst part: its not an Orwellian dystopia. It is real and for some, too late. William Marsden in Fools Rule: Inside the Failed Politics of Climate Change tells two stories. Backed by empirical evidence and glaciology, the first, (correctly) posits the changing environmental shape of the g ...more
Nancy
It is interesting to compare Marsden's account of what happened at Coppenhagen with Hilary Clinton's. We truly are ruled by fools as is evident by the lack of progress in Peru. I think his other book Stupid to the Last Drop: How Alberta Is Bringing Environmental Armageddon to Canada (and Doesn't Seem to Care) a better written book.
Gerard Fryer
Believe it or not, it is not the usual exposé of global warming deniers. It is far more sobering: a detailed account of the various UN Framework conventions and how each of them was doomed to failure. These gloomy chapters are interspersed with brighter forays out onto glaciers in Canada's high arctic (though with predictably gloomy conclusions). After reading the thing, I was left more than ever convinced that James Lovelock is right about global warming: we are just too stupid to do anything a ...more
Susan Paxton
Important reading if a tad uneven. The segments about the UN climate change meetings are a bit tedious, but when he gets out in the field, his reporting is sparkling. We, as a species, are literally committing suicide, and Canada is a prime contributer, as it has its own tick-like infestation of "conservatives."
Charlotte
Mar 20, 2012 Charlotte rated it 3 of 5 stars
Recommended to Charlotte by: freethinkers bookclub
A good, but rather depressing, read. Our future's looking pretty grim if we don't act fast. . .
Andrea McDowell
one of the many climate change books that has made me ashamed to be Canadian.
Richard Lowe
Richard Lowe marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2014
Sarezh Zyad
Sarezh Zyad marked it as to-read
Dec 10, 2014
Diana
Diana is currently reading it
Jan 31, 2014
Amanda
Amanda marked it as to-read
Jan 10, 2014
Rufus
Rufus is currently reading it
Dec 28, 2013
Alannah
Alannah marked it as to-read
Nov 04, 2013
Deshapriya Nanayakkara
Deshapriya Nanayakkara marked it as to-read
Feb 28, 2013
Tom Callaghan
Tom Callaghan marked it as to-read
Dec 09, 2012
Fiona
Fiona added it
Jan 09, 2013
Nataliya
Nataliya marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2012
Jerry
Jerry marked it as to-read
Aug 14, 2012
Brett
Brett marked it as to-read
Jul 26, 2012
Melissa
Melissa marked it as to-read
May 29, 2012
Tyler
Tyler marked it as to-read
Apr 19, 2012
Mina Hanna
Mina Hanna is currently reading it
Feb 28, 2012
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Stupid to the Last Drop: How Alberta Is Bringing Environmental Armageddon to Canada (And Doesn't Seem to Care) Angels of Death: Inside the Biker Gangs' Crime Empire Sejarah Sumatra The Travels Helse Engelen

Share This Book