Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Ulterior Motives” as Want to Read:
Ulterior Motives
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Ulterior Motives

4.08  ·  Rating Details ·  59 Ratings  ·  10 Reviews
A powerful suspense novel exploring themes of truth vs. deception and reconciliation in the tradition of Peretti and Dekker.
ebook, 0 pages
Published March 1st 2009 by Bethany House Publishers
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Ulterior Motives, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Ulterior Motives

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Loraine
If you want a timely, page-turning thriller involving the American government and Al Qaeda with a Christian theme of forgiveness running throughout, Mark Andrew Olsen, has indeed penned an intriguing novel. "When an al-Qaida email is intercepted, promising a New Year's Day attack on America, it leads to the capture of the group's leader. But even under fierce interrogation, the terrorist clings to his jihadist beliefs and resists divulging anything of the threat. Desperate, the Army resorts to a ...more
Michelle
Maybe I am a bit biased because I live in Sierra Vista and know people who work in psy-ops and intel on Ft. Huachuca. All of the details regarding the setting rang true for me. He had the facts down perfectly except for in one place. The one time it did snow here in the past six years it was more like one to two inches, tops. But that's forgiveable because my guess is he needed it for the plot. After all, it is fiction.

I love the psychology behind these types of stories, probably because that's
...more
Christy Lockstein
Ulterior Motives by Mark Andrew Olsen is an intriguing and timely look at how the US handles terrorists. Greg Cahill is trying to reclaim his life from the disaster it became after an accidental shooting brought his career with the FBI to an end. He's lost his son and his wife, but found Jesus and uses his faith to bring those in jail to salvation. Omar Nirubi is on America's Most Wanted list as the successor to Osama bin Laden. When the US captures Nirubi and finds information about an impendin ...more
Dineen Miller
Apr 18, 2012 Dineen Miller rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I've read most of Mark Andrew Olsen's books and consider myself a fan of his work. He's a great writer and storyteller. And the premise of this book is absolutely fascinating. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Olsen does a great job of making the unbelievable in this story. My only criticism would be that the ending felt rushed and didn't get the detail and fulfleshing that the rest of the story had. Wouldn't stop me from reading it through. This story will tug on your heart on some level and wil ...more
Lisa
This book had action and some good points. Forgiveness is available to everyone, but they still have to answer to the consequences of their actions. The only thing I didn't like was the clipped ending. I felt like it left me hanging somewhat. Maybe this means there will be more to come.
Diana Nagy
Don't miss this book! Its fantastic. If you are looking at it right now, it's meant for you to read. I promise you will absolutely love it! I couldn't put it down! I can't wait to read another book by this author. It was such a great mix of terrorism, police work, and religion!
Jason Duncan
The journey was good for 90% -
the story could have gone much longer drawing on a more detailed account of the ending ...
too short!, that being said - completly enjoyable.
Kathryn
Kathryn rated it really liked it
Jan 02, 2016
Karen Linton
Karen Linton rated it liked it
Nov 02, 2015
Marlene Rempel
Marlene Rempel rated it really liked it
Nov 17, 2016
Boomstick13s
Boomstick13s rated it liked it
Aug 06, 2015
Colton
Colton rated it really liked it
Jan 12, 2015
Prindi Flug
Prindi Flug rated it really liked it
Jul 18, 2014
Joshua Rutledge
Joshua Rutledge rated it really liked it
Jul 23, 2013
Maria Riley
Maria Riley rated it really liked it
Dec 31, 2013
Debbie
Debbie rated it it was amazing
Jan 25, 2017
Brenda Hamar
Brenda Hamar rated it really liked it
Aug 14, 2014
Michelle
Michelle rated it really liked it
May 27, 2013
Tajuana Brooks
Tajuana Brooks rated it really liked it
Sep 01, 2012
Angie Heinsman
Angie Heinsman rated it really liked it
Jul 13, 2013
Adina
Adina rated it really liked it
Dec 17, 2014
Will
Will rated it really liked it
Dec 10, 2010
Brandon
Brandon rated it really liked it
Jan 17, 2014
Al Gregorio
Al Gregorio rated it it was amazing
Sep 02, 2013
Bob
Bob rated it it was amazing
Sep 20, 2013
Nancy
Nancy rated it liked it
Oct 26, 2015
Royce Baker
Royce Baker rated it it was amazing
Sep 18, 2015
Olivia
Olivia rated it really liked it
Nov 29, 2015
Robbie
Robbie rated it liked it
Dec 21, 2014
Rachel
Rachel rated it it was amazing
May 27, 2013
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
236881
Mark Andrew Olsen is a full-time writer, novelist and screenwriter who recently collaborated with Tommy Tenney on the novel HADASSAH. He grew up in France the son of missionaries, and is a Professional Writing graduate of Baylor University. He and his wife, Connie, and their three children make their home in the mountains of Colorado.

Series:
* Abby Sherman
* Hadassah
More about Mark Andrew Olsen...

Share This Book